We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“next time longer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“next time longer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

beautiful hotel. we stayed 1 night, but everybody was very friendly the lady that take care of the gardens is greet. the lady at the hamam, at the reception and the belboy. nice swimmingpool. next time we will come for longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted to read that even though you stayed with us only one night, it was sufficient for you to want to visit us again for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    236
    91
    44
    28
See reviews for
215
190
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Loved the location and history of the hotel. Very charming with a lot of character. The view from my room overlooked a beautiful courtyard and the old city. Delicious and healthy breakfast and dinner buffets. The room was on the smaller side. Unfortunately the mustiness and smoke irritated my sensitive allergies.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We weredelighted that you appreciated the style and charm of the Mount Zion but sorry to read that your allergies were irritated by the room not having been thoroughly aired. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused and may we suggest that on a future hotel stay you ask the Front Desk for a different room. You can be sure that we would have done our utmost to oblige.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Let's start on the plus side: The location is great, an easy walk to the Old City. Views from the lobby (but not the rooms) are lovely. The breakfast is the typical Israeli buffet - which I love - generous and varied. There is a self-serve espresso machine (except on Shabbat) which I appreciated.

Now to the negative: The air conditioning in our room never functioned correctly, and although we alerted the desk staff immediately, it was not attended to during our three night stay in the heat of summer. Needless to say, we barely slept. The desk staff did not apologize or seem the least interested in this problem. The room itself was adequate although tired and the bathroom small with cheap products in tiny tubes. Although at $495 a night this was one of the most expensive hotels we stayed at in Israel, it was the only one that disappointed. Next time I'll stay at the Mamilla, King David or Citadel -- and I'd advise you do the same.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review although we were somewhat suprised by its content. We were sorry to read that the air conditioning was not functioning and that our staff did nothing to alleviate the situation. Please accept our sincere apologies for the service that was apparently lacking and for the lack of sensitivity shown. However, the room rate you quote is quite unrecognisable for any of our rooms occupied by two persons on a bed and brekfast basis and you are most welcome to contact us so that we may provide you with details of your booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was our third visit to the Mount Zion Hotel. This is a special hotel with character and charm.
It reflects the beauty of the city of Jerusalem with charm and hospitality. We enjoyed the warmth and kindness of the staff ! The breakfast is DELICIOUS with healthy choices served up in a lovely large historic looking room. We will return!!!
Linda Houston, Texas

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We were most appreciative of your review and delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay once more. Thank you for having taken the time to share on Trip Advisor and we hope you will indeed visit us many more times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell, Georgia
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Just returned from a two week trip. First five nights spent in Mount Zion. Rooms were well appointed... typical European/Middle East smaller hotel rooms, yet clean and useful. The breakfast buffet was spectacular, each and every morning. Location relative to the old city was also great. Once we realized how close the old city was, we walked each and every time. Pool time was great too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one.We were delighted to read the feedback of your recent stay and hope you will be able to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have just spent a few days at Mt Zion Hotel Jerusalem. We were a family group occuppying 12 rooms among us as we were in Israel for my daughters wedding. I had requested an upgrade from a double room, if possible, for my daughter and her husband- who's wedding we were in Israel for. My daughter was given an upgrade to a deluxe suite and my husband and I were upgraded to a regular suite, all for the original quoted price of a double room. We were not expecting such an upgrade especially at this very busy time for the hotel. The sales person we were in contact with went far and beyond to ensure our entire group were well looked after during this memorable time for us.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your review which of course we were delighted to read that all went well and that you were well taken care of. Mazal tov!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful hotel. Comfortable and clean. Fabulous breakfast. Sensational swimming pool and setting. Great location. Nicest hamman ever visited - and that includes Turkey. Stunning views. But the real highlight was the best massage I have ever had in my life from Avi. He alone is worth travelling to Jerusalem for.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and that it was at the Mount Zion that you had the "best massage ever".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.