We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Customer Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Superb Customer Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I'm not sure if the service at a hotel ever surpassed my expectations for my surroundings, until Mt. Zion. The room was adequate, since I'm really a snob about accommodations. It was clean and well cared for each of our 3 days. The service, however, was unbelievable. From the front desk personnel to the servers and bartenders, this was top-notch. These people redefine the words 'breakfast buffet'. I can only say that I wish I'd taken pictures because words can't really express what we woke to each morning. The views from this place are exceptional as well. Anything you need, the front desk is sure to get it for you. We will certainly return on our next visit to Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your warm and enthusiastic review and for having taken the time to write one.
We were delighted to read how satisfied you were with the service and of course that you will certainly return on your next visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    236
    91
    44
    28
See reviews for
215
190
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

Perfect place to stay close to the Old City. Great views from most rooms. Large poolRooms were adequate but bathrooms were very tired. Bar service was poor. Be aware of beggars at entrance to hotel as ought security staff busy chatting up,the front desk staff. Be prepared to tote your own bags to and from reception.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one. We were sorry that the service you experienced was not up to standard and apologize if you were offended or inconvenienced in any way. We hope, the incidents mentioned will not deter you from staying with us again when next visiting Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we stayed at the hotel two families for 3 nights.
We had a great vacation. The hotel is a perfect choice from all aspects.
The pool is great and the location is very convinient.
The service was good and the rooms are large and nurturing.
We will surely come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review in which we were delighted to read, amongst other warm comments, that you had a great vacation and that you "will surely return".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

The Mt. Zion hotel is ideally located. We walked to the Old City and to the shopping areas without difficulty. Also enjoyed the lively nearby train station area. All of the staff at Mt. Zion were courteous, professional and helpful. The buffet breakfasts were plentiful and delicious. We hope to return!

Room Tip: Top floor away from the main street is best. We had a suite and it was very comfortable for 2 adult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you hope to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York CIty
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful with bookings of cars and tours; some were brusque but all spoke perfect English and got the job done.
The location is excellent: walking distance from the old city and the restaurants and events at First Station. Great views from rooms and common areas.
Breakfast was good, with middle-eastern excess of fresh food and dipping sauces; plus they have a cappuccino/espresso machine.
The room was simple but ample enough. The cleaning service, however, was poor, especially in the bathroom area.
But, comparing with the rates of the other hotels I think it was a good deal.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to write one and were delighted to read that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This hotel was a lovely, wonderful surprise! The space is unique and super fun for children -- after staying in a modern hotel in Tel Aviv, the Mt. Zion had a completely different flavor. The gardens and grounds are lovely. The pool was great. The room was super spacious and they brought up two cots for the kids so we were very comfortable with four in the room. Loved the balcony, too.

The front desk gave us GREAT recommendations. We wanted to have a guide in the Old City, and they recommended the free two-hour tour which turned out to be exactly what we wanted. Restaurant recommendations were spot-on, too. Can't beat the location -- an easy walk to the Jaffa Gate, the renovated train station just around the block with restaurants and shops and FREE parking across the street from the hotel in a public lot! Loved it!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your warm and enthusiastic review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you "loved" the hotel and hope you will stay with us again when next visiting Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This was by far our favourite of the three hotels we stayed in in Jerusalem. It's the most gorgeous old building - honey-coloured stone, a very "Jerusalem" feel to the architecture - all high archways, light, space, muted glowing colours. The rooms are more functional and a bit unlovely, but clean and do the job - big towels and the beds were super-comfy! The pool, spa and garden are gorgeous, with that lovely view over the Church of the Dormition. Hanging out in the reception area in the evening watching the sky darken over the old city walls was just blissful.

Service was of a high standard but I felt a tiny bit grudging at times - I felt on a couple of occasions we had to be a bit pushy to get things that I think of as standard. For example, we booked a double but were initially put in a twin - getting this changed to a proper double was a bit of hassle. However everything went over in the end and the staff were generally very professional. Really enjoyed our stay here and hope to come back next time we're in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and for having taken the time to write one. We appreciated the feedback and were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.