We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most special Simcha EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The most special Simcha EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Mount Zion with our family and over 100 guests to celebrate our son's barmitzvah. The staff went beyond the call of duty to make it an amazing Shabbat. I can't recommend them enough. Even the manager of the spa came in after hours to accommodate! The food was delicious. Breakfast with fresh squeezed juice and a buffet of salads, omelet stand and warm foods. Our friends also loved the hotel. Rooms have been renovated and are very comfortable. I recommend booking the VILLA for the most special experience. It's expensive but worth every shekel. Lovely pool and the location is perfect for visiting the Old City. Ilana and Ofra the room and banqueting management duo are a pleasure to work with.
Thank you.

Room Tip: The suites and the Villa are stunning but all rooms are comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
We very much appreciate you having taken the time to write a review and thank you for the warm content. We were delighted to read that your Simcha was special, the service you received was attentive and that your friends loved the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    236
    91
    44
    28
See reviews for
215
190
17
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I've stayed at the Mount Zion three separate times now, as its not only beautiful and charming, but the management is also fantastic. We basically rented out the entire hotel for our 60+ guests that we brought along with us from the U.S. for a wedding and they were able to accomodate us (even with the Pope visiting just a few hundred feet away). The breakfast is excellent and their patience in putting up with us is definitely commendable. The suites are absolutely ridiculous and definitely worth it, if you feel like splurging. The only thing I hope they change is their pool hours which a few people have mentioned. It is such a beautiful setting on the hill, with a fantastic pool, they open it too late and close it too early. it may be a law to have a lifeguard on duty, but if its not I think they should have guests sign wavers and keep it open until night time. That being said, if you want to give yourself a 'honeymoon'-esque experience stay here.

Room Tip: Go for the suites if you are able
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank youf for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us many more times in the future.
Please be advised that, at present, with longer days and greater demand our Pool is open from 9:00 to 19:00 daily.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Stayed for three nights, for the price of nearly $300/night the rooms could have used a makeover. The hotel itself was originally a hospital, and made into a hotel many years ago. While the rooms were disappointing, the breakfast buffet was "super good", charming with outside seating (beware of birds pilfering your food!). The pool was excellent. And, the staff was always willing to help, no problems encountered at all. The location is about a 15 minute walk to the old city, not easy if the heat and sun are factors. Be sure to take along water, and to pace yourself with multiple stops along the way, up and down hills, if you aren't used to such heat. A tip- nearby, in the opposite direction to the old city, is a converted railroad station mall that has options for dining and music on certain nights. As a base for touring, there is a free parking lot across the street from the hotel. Rooms were clean, and the views are memorable. Being built on the side of a hill, the lobby is at the top, with rooms and the pool on lower floors. I would rate this as being $100/night too expensive for the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy general Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review. We recently completed refurbishing our guest rooms which included changing the carpet, the mattresses, bed linen, curtains and the lamps and, therefore, we were sorry to read that you felt the rooms were in need of refurbishment. However, factors such as seasonal demand, location and view affect the room rates of a hotel and we believe that during the month of June our rates are reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed for one night for my birthday.
It was a Friday and they agreed to let us check out the next day at 5 in the afternoon on Saturday which is exceptionally kind and made it a long holiday.
The view of the old city is beutiful but most rooms do not enjoy it. The swiming pool is very nice.
Although it is rather expensive, it was worth for a unique birthday celebration.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for writing a review and for having taken the time to write one. We were delighted to read that you chose to celebrate your birthday at the Mount Zion and that your stay, though short, was an enjoyable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

The hotel is in a most beautiful setting with wonderful views of the Old City. Our room was lovely.We chose the hotel because of the pool, as I am a swimmer. Before leaving the UK, a friend told me that I would be unable to swim before 9 am. I always swim before breakfast, so I e-mailed to ask if this would be possible. They said NO. I should have cancelled at that point, but thought they would make some special arrangement for a guest who had come there especially for that facility. All they would do was make an arrangement with a hotel more than 10 mins walk away, whose pool opened at 6.30 a.m( a normal time). Because I had appointments and had to leave before 9, I was hardly able to use the pool at all. I was so unhappy that it made me critical of other things: the breakfast was very ordinary and the bath products were nasty and made in China when they should have been showcasing Dead Sea products. I would never go there again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the Old City
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your review which although it clearly addressed your disappointment was quite unfair. You most wisely inquired prior to your arrival if the pool could be opened early each morning instead of 9:00am and received a negative reply. However,after your telephone call the hotel went out of its way to find an alternative arrangement. As you mention,you did not cancel your reservation but chose to stay with us and try on site to change the opening time to suit your personal needs.We maintained our position offering the alternative arrangement instead which we were sorry to read left you unhappy and critical of other things.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radlett
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

A really nice hotel on Mount Zion overlooking the Old City of Jerusalem, It has fabulous views . Situated near to the old railway station and a short walk from the Windmill. The service and food are excellent and the pool facilities and gardens are top rate.
Not cheap but well worth staying at.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a view of the old city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for your warm review and for having taken the time to write one. We very much appreciated the overall acknowledgement and hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

The Hotel is in a stunning location with a breath-taking view but what a shame about the place itself. it needs renovating from top to toe and even the renovated rooms need modernising.

The dining room was more like an improverished soup kitchen and the food - well where does one start? Cordon Bleu or nouvelle cuisine it was not. It looked unappetising and tasted the same. The staff were friendly but poorly trained and they look dirty. All in all a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations and that other than the location and view you were clearly disappointed with the hotel. Your comment regarding our dining room and the meals served seemed particularly harsh and although we regret the negative experience we found it to be unwarranted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#11 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.