We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Miami Beach, Fl
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
212 helpful votes 212 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

After 10 nights at the Mount Zion Hotel we came to have an appreciation for its positive qualities and an understanding of a few shortcomings. Here are our comments.

Positives of Mount Zion Hotel:
· Location, location, location. It is within easy walking distance to most of the places we wanted to go - first and foremost – to the Old City! Also: German Colony, King David Street and its restaurants, Yemin Moshe and Mishkenot Sha’ananim neighborhoods. It was a longer walk, but we did go on foot to the center of the city to Ben Yehuda Street and the produce market. We like this easy access.

There are also several good restaurants nearby. We ate at Lavan, under the Cinematique, a very short distance from the hotel, several times, just because we liked it and it was so convenient.

· It is unique architecturally, has character and a sense of place. The history of this location and its place in history contribute to this. We have not seen anything like it anywhere we have traveled. We prefer to stay in places that are of the place, rather than a more homogenized hotel that could be anywhere in the world.

· The views facing the Old City, Mount of Olives and the Hinnom Valley are truly special, particularly as the light changes throughout the day. These views can be seen from all the public areas.

· Our room was in the Citadel wing. We had requested a room with a terrace and thankfully, we landed one on the top floor with those glorious views that you see in the photos, with a terrace. Each morning, late afternoon and evening, we would sit on the terrace and drink in the views. Sure the exterior wall could have been painted so we didn’t see that paint peeling, but when faced with such views, we didn’t look there! Every time I was on the terrace, I looked at the Old City walls and then panned over to the dividing wall with the West Bank. It was always a reminder of the complexities facing Israel. We commented more than once to each other that 60 years ago, if one had stood on this terrace, you would have been shot at. Now there are tourists here.

· The mattress was comfortable and the room was quiet. We might go out on the terrace and hear some music coming from the Mount of Olives, but once we went inside the room and closed our door, there was silence. We had a small refrigerator that was convenient. The bathroom was spacious in comparison to others we have had in Israel and there was plenty of hot water, however, the water pressure in the shower is restricted significantly. This probably is due to water conservation efforts.

· Buffet breakfast – good variety of foods, nicely displayed and excellent service

· The front desk personnel can be very friendly and helpful. Just stay away from peak times when they are processing a tour group!

· There is a lovely swimming pool and hamman that you can enjoy.

· Reasonably priced for all that you get.

Negatives of Mount Zion Hotel.
·Some of the front desk personnel, even on off times, were more helpful than others. Don’t expect to get a warm greeting. Having access to assistance is important to us and a benefit over staying in an apartment on your first stay after 37 years. I would give them just an average to below average rating in this area, since there was such variability from person to person.

· In the hallway, next to our door, there was a pretty mosaic table. Unfortunately, this was used after room service and usually had dirty plates and glasses. We finally did speak to the restaurant manager and it was taken care of that day. But it is an operational issue that needs to be addressed. It’s not a pretty sight to see as you return from a day of touring. Keep in mind, however, that there was only one such table on our floor; it happened to be just at our door!

· Check the number of bath towels. On two days, we had to call housekeeping to get them. Better to do this in advance and not wait until you are dripping wet from a shower.

· Wireless internet. Our computer died, so it did not turn out to be an issue for us. However, we thought their access fees were pricey at $6 per hour, $15 up to 24 hours and $67 for up to 7 days. If you plan to stay here and want internet access, maybe a package price can be negotiated. It’s worth asking about.

Summary
All and all, not so many negatives and far more positives! Frommers lists the Mount Zion as a moderately priced hotel. From that perspective, it is a very good value.

If you would like to see some photos, check out this link:

http://www.margieswebgallery.com/galleries/Israel/MTZIONHOTEL/

  • Liked — Location and the view from the terrace of our Citadel room
  • Disliked — Front desk personnel could have been more consistently helpful and friendly
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    215
    85
    40
    27
See reviews for
193
173
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

We stayed here for 5 nights as part of a Bar Mitzvah tour. The building has a lot of character. You walk from the street right into the sixth floor, since the hotel is built into the side of a steep valley. The rooms all face this peaceful valley in the back. The pool is clean and big. The food was really, really good -- the breakfast buffet should please just about anyone. The rooms were good; some issues like noisy air conditioners. Ask for a room facing the back -- fantastic views. Staff was attentive and helpful.

The hotel is located within walking distance of the Old City, as well as the many restaurants along Emek Refa'im.

  • Liked — Location and character
  • Stayed June 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2008

The front of the hotel sits close to the main road to Bethlehem and so initial views may be off putting but once inside there are glorious views across to the Jaffa gate in the distance and east Jerusalem afar. There is a gentle feel about the place and there are many parts of this hotel eg the villa and the pool where after a long day in the Souk you might pass time relishing the setting sun and enjoying the warmth of an oriental city. The hotel is well set up and if you wish to live a work free life on the Sabbath the hotel is well set up for that. I would not recommend the Sabbath lift for quick travel, I stayed in a basic double which if I looked out of the window and angled my head to the right I was able to view Jerusalem in the distance. The room was pleasant enough and because of the 19th century design of the hotel was well adept at keeping heat out with out much use of air conditioning. The pool was great large and a real pleasure to use. The staff were very attentive and the breakfasts superb.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

What an amazing hotel. Seems to have had a transformation over the past few years. Service is attentive, food excellent, ambience is authentic and all at affordable prices.
Cant recommend it highly enough - we had seven wonderful days comng from rainy London and cant wait for the next time. Credit to all those who turned around a rather sleepy Jerusalem hotel into something very special.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

Having stayed at other other hotels in Jerusalem, we decided to try the Har Zion, on Hebron Road. Far enough from the bustle of the city centre but near enough to the Old City, about 20 minutes walk to the Jaffa Gate. All the staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. Comfortable clean room, with minimal noise. Food excellent and good price. When choosing a room, bear in mind that some basic rooms do not have a direct view across the valley to the Old City. If you want that view, you must specify in advance and pay a little more. Getting around is easy for those willing to walk. Wireless internet facility available but would not work with our laptop due to technical reasons. Reception offered ADSL modem as alternative.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

This hotel is directly opposite the St Andrew's Church and hotel, which has a Scottish flag flying from it - most appropriate for this visitor, who had a single room (which could easily take two) in the Citadel section of the hotel. The room had a view of Mount Zion, the Mount of Olives, and the Old City, and it was worth paying extra just for the view. The room itself was no more than adequate but you'll not be in there long enough to be concerned. It was cleaned every day. There was constant hot water and the shower pressure was very strong. Breakfast was excellent, and you can eat enough then to keep you going till dinner. The steam room, fitness centre and swimming pool are just fine, and you can have a massage if you feel like it. The hotel itself is worth an investigation, made up as it is of different architectures. The hotel's location made walking to the main sites of Jerusalem possible, but beware of the taxi drivers outside - make sure you agree a price before you get in the taxi! Hotel staff were very helpful, but you'll have to get used to the different culture(s) in the country, and different ways of behaving. All in all, a fine hotel, and not one of the chains where you could be anywhere in the world. With this hotel you know that you're in the Near East, and Jerusalem in particular.

  • Liked — The staff were very friendly and helpful.
  • Disliked — It's easy to get lost in the hotel - but that's not a problem.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2007

We stayed at Mount Zion for the Succot holidays it having been recommended by our travel agent. On previous visits to Jerusalem we have stayed at the Inbal or David Citadel and we were sceptical about the Mount Zion but we had left it rather late to book for Succot so we accepted our travel agent's assurance that we would love it. She was right. We had an executive suite which consists of a bedroom separate sitting room and two bathrooms. The style is middle eastern and charming - with modern flat screen tvs cable etc. There was a small fridge and tea and coffee making facilities too. Also we were plied with free water,wine, petits fours fruit and cake on the festival and Shabbat.

The place is full of charm- the lobby lounge is a peaceful and lovely place to sit.

The hotel has stunning views and beautiful grounds which makes sitting by the pool a pleasure. The succah was probably the nicest hotel succah we have ever used and a real effort was made by the hotel to make the holiday special- contrary to some previous reviews we thought that the waiting staff were among the best we have encountered in Israel- and that is saying something when you have a full hotel and everyone wanting their festival or Shabbat meals at the same time.

Breakfasts were particularly nice and there was never that desparate feeling that waiters are avoiding you when you want tea or coffee.

All in all our only minor complaint is that the bathrooms could do with renovating .

We will definitely return to the Mount Zion in future rather than one of the glitzy but characterless hotels which we were previously used to.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#19 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.