We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 93 Hotels in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel.nice gym although equipment old. Nice pool area. Excellent service. Rooms pleasant but didn't like the carpets in the rooms nice common area. Breakfast great . Nice building with a lovely ambience.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay, which we understand you enjoyed and which we hope will give you reason to return when next in Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    243
    94
    44
    29
See reviews for
219
200
17
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 3 nights and despite the sparsely furnished rooms with shoddy bathrooms we had a wonderfull stay and truly enjoyed this venue. The breakfast was amazing . The fitness cent is poorly equipped and the equipment was dirty when I used it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We appreciated the feedback and were delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay. The fault found in the fitness center has been taken care of, thank you for informing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Superior rooms are actually the basic ones, mine had a view of a wall.
expensive for what it is.
Service very poor, except the cafe.
Looks to be mainly a tour bus hotel more like a uk 2 star.
Breakfast usd26 extra.
Location ok, walkable to the old city if reasonably fit.
Comming srtaight from the Sheraton Tel Aviv to here there is a big difference, that was fantastic the room was cheaper in the Sheraton!

Room Tip: Don't go for the basic (superior) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, although we admit that from your description we had difficulty recognizing our hotel. We are very sorry that your experience at the Mount Zion Hotel was not a positive one but in order to understand where we went wrong we would require more details We do agree that there is a great difference between a Sheraton and the Mount Zion Hotel but you will no doubt accept, should you peruse the TripAdvisor reviews, that we generally not only meet guests' expectations but that they also very much enjoy their stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Mount Zion for two nights during Passover. A great experience. Fantastic service from start to finish with staff always willing to help. Great views, easy walk to the Old City, and a wonderful breakfast all part of a good experience. The rooms are a bit dated, but all the other pluses make up for it. Free parking across the street a bonus.

Note that Google Maps has some trouble with the hotel if you use Hebron Rd. Better to input Derech Hebron, which will lead you to the right place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
340 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel. Not super fancy, but nice. It is well located so you could walk to the Old City, to King David Street, etc., but because Jerusalem is so hilly it is generally better to take a short taxi ride. But taxis are easy to get.. The hotel has a sort of '50's feel to it (hollow doors to the rooms that let noise in, etc.), but it has great views, the staff is friendly, the rooms are comfortable, etc. What's not to like? There is a swimming pool, a spa, etc. There is free WiFi in the lobby (which we could get in our room, which was on the same floor as the lobby. They have a buffet dinner...I didn't try it, but it looked functional if all you wanted was something to eat (the front desk staff will recommend restaurants and make reservations for you). They also serve the room service menu in the lobby bar. The breakfast is hard to believe...all kinds of fruit, cereal, bread, juice, croissants and danish, eggs, omelets, salads, yogurt, cheese, etc.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We were pleased to read that, on the whole, you enjoyed your stay and hope that we shall see you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So I hear that this hotel has newer and updated rooms. I did not stay in one of those rooms. My room was rather tired looking and needed some cosmetic work or a face lift. Be sure to request for an updated room if possible. The hotel is located within walking distance to Old Town Jerusalem, the open mall and restaurants - making this the best feature of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay in TripAdvisor. We regret that you were given a room that was not yet refurbished but hope, nevertheless, that you enjoyed your stay. We are in the process of refurbishing those remaining rooms that were unable to be included amongst those that received their face lift earlier, during the quieter winter months, and expect to have completeted renovating them before the end of this month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the second half of Passover and had a wonderful time, as lovely as when we stayed for the first time in 2008. The staff are very helpful and friendly.
There is a lovely pool area and spa with a Hammam and I had a great massage too!
Our room was large and had an awesome view of the Old City, we had asked if an upgrade was possible and they kindly obliged! The room was overlooking the spa, so a little noisy in the afternoon when people sat out and chatted in the jacuzzi (in traditionally Middle Eastern loud voices!), but very comfortable, good beds, large bright bathroom too.
The food was outstanding, we had the buffet dinner on the festival evening and although it as pricey ($70 a head), the selection and amount of food made it well worth it (and my wife and I could not stand up after dinner!).
Location is walking distance to Old City and German Colony/trendy Emek Refaim area with loads of cafes and restaurants. Free parking for our hire car was also great.
Only negatives were room cleaning needing to be a bit more thorough during our stay.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We were delighted and very much appreciated the warm review of your recent visit and ofcourse thrilled that you so enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time and also for pointing out our weaknesses. We are sorry that our housekeeping staff did not provide the service required and hope you were not too incovenienced. For our part, we shall ensure that we do better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#14 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#17 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.