We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, unique hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, unique hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Spemt with the family part of Pessach holidays. Rooms are a bit small (with a third bed it was hard tomove around). Service was very attentive, breakfast was nice. The main attribute is location: close to everything and amazing view of the city.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are glad that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry, however, that you found your room to be too small for three persons and we can only assume that it was a standard room measuring 26 square meters. May we suggest that on a future visit you consider taking a more spacious room. We can recommend either a Citadel room that measures approximately 30 square meters or a Family Room that measures approximately 36 square meters, both categories face Mount Zion and the Hinnom Valley.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    216
    85
    40
    27
See reviews for
194
173
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

we spend the weekend in the hotel and we enjoyed very much. the hotel is design in very Unique way that combine othentic with modern design. the lobby is very plesant to seat and rest with free wifi (not free in the rooms - 10$ a day) and the rooms are big and pleasent.the breakfast was tasty and the dinning room was nice to. the hotel is locate in an excellent location near the old town and within walking distance to the holy sites. in sum, the hotel worth the money and we wil come backe Again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We appreciate it very much, are delighted you enjoyed you stay and hope that you will visit us again very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We went last month to the Mt Zion for 4 nights on a trip with Gate 1 Travel. Overall, It's very nice. If you happen upon them for a sat am breakfast, it's not so good, because of Shabbat. Everything is cooked on Fri before sun-down, so not so great. Otherwise, they have a very fulfilling breakfast. We enjoyed our room. It sufficed for what we needed it for - sleeping. It was clean and well made up. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the old city is wonderful! I am the charge nurse in an Eye Center in Charleston, SC- so the fact that it used to be an Eye Infirmary was fun! The front desk staff was very helpful. My only problem- which was not at this hotel only- is that in Israel, all Wi-Fi MUST be purchased! ( That was so weird for us- where at even cheap hotels in the US, it is included! )However, it was MUCH cheaper at this hotel, than the rest of our journey! I think they charged us 10/night, as opposed to 24/night for the remainder of our trip! The Kibbutz we stayed at was free-(Look up Gate 1 Classic Israel and Eilat tour.) That Kibbutz was great!
Anyway- it was a very convenient hotel, very close to all the "Must Sees" and a lovely atmosphere!

Room Tip: Do venture out on the patio in the am at breakfast- on a sat am,- please look away from the city to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in TripAdvisor. We were very glad to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay but wish to clarify that WIFI internet access is available in the lobby free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at Mt. Zion Hotel last weekend. It was a lovely hotel in a great location for walking to Old Jerusalem. My only complaint was the staff on Thursday evening and Friday. The young women working were unable to assist with questions regarding where to purchase sunglasses and where to get dinner. I was given very short answers and felt no desire to assist me. I was there only 2 days and could now answer those questions myself.

On the other hand, the young woman in the business center was very helpful and the young man at the front desk on Saturday was extremely kind and helpful. If all the staff had been like this I would have given the hotel a better rating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for giving the feedback of your recent stay at the Mount Zion in TripAdvisor. We very much regret the incident with the front desk employees and apologize for any aggravation and/or inconvenience you were caused. Although it does not, in any way, reduce the seriousness of their behavior, we are thankfull that you also came upon helpful and attentive staff during your stay, showing that we really can do better...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was a nice switch to some Israeli hotels. The location was perfect for various sites and waking up each morning to a view of the old city was special. The food was good and facilities acceptable. Internet service was poor and Spa hours unacceptable, but that seems to be standard throughout the country.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review in TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and much appreciate the warm comments you wrote.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

While this hotel might be a splurge for some travel budgets, I think it's well worth it. The decor is traditional - very warm and comfortable. Rooms are a good size and tastefully appointed. Entrance to the hammam and hot tub are included with the rate. Relaxing in the hot tub overlooking the Old City is memorable. The breakfast buffet is substantial and delicious. Don't try to rush it! The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. I would gladly return to this hotel any time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you once again on a possible future visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Not really centrally located but ... Most wonderful views !
Excellent service.
Large rooms and very comfy beds.
Bathrooms a bit "tired" - by which I mean they would do with a bit of refurbishment.
Excellent breakfast buffet - all you wish !
Good dinner - both buffet option or dinner at the bar option.
Free Wifi only in the lobby. In the room it's $10 per day.
Would I come back ?
Probably - although I would also like to see what else is out there ..

In all: a very safe bet - you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We were delighted that you appreciated the style, service and facilities of our hotel and that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps we can hope, therefore, that you will return to the Mount Zion when you next visit Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.