We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge numbers of tourist groups” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Huge numbers of tourist groups”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel rooms were nicely sized and appointed and quite clean. Breakfast was simply amazing. Service was not so great, and Internet was only had for a steep price. The fees were per device, and not per room, which is so stingy. Biggest complaint: this hotel draws large numbers of tourists from the US, Bar Mitzvah parties and Synagogue groups. Huge buses were always parked outside, which meant that in the lobby and in the restaurant, there were swarms of people and virtually packs of children without much supervision. It was like being in a very crowded airport.

Taxis were best to get anywhere. Steep Jerusalem streets make walking most places from the hotel somewhat difficult. A seven or ten dollar cab ride can get you many places.

Room Tip: Views of the valley are quite nice. Room choice is probably on the floors were their are not the la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor. We regret if you were unaware that WIFI is available, free of charge, both in the lobby and in the business center of the hotel and while we do charge for internet access in the rooms we feel that $10 per 24 hours is not excessive. We were also sorry to read that you were disturbed by the number and type of guests staying at the hotel during your visit in December, a period that is generally popular with families and pilgrims. Despite your experience, we hope that on a possible return visit to Jerusalem, you will nevertheless consider staying at the Mount Zion once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    216
    85
    40
    27
See reviews for
194
173
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Breathtaking view of Jerusalem and magnificent rooms. Service was inconsistent at times but the breakfast staff and display were incredible. Felt very intimate and cozy though the hotel is large. Would definitely recommend this hotel for travelers in Jerusalem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Trip Advisor. We appreciate your warm words and have also taken note of your comment regarding the inconsistant level of service. We hope that on a possible future visit you will see an improvement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel and great location. Price was reasonable, and we got upgraded to a bigger room. With that said, the room was very basic and the view was poor, as opposed to other rooms. Breakfast was not included and for the price paid I would have expected that as well

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for writing a review in Trip Advisor. We would, however, like to clarify that your reservation, via an online company, was for a standard room on a room only basis, which can also explain the reasonable rate. By chance your room was upgraded to an Executive suite, which consists of a bedroom and living room, and by all accounts has a view that a standard room does not. We very much regret that even dispite the upgrade your expectations were not met.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We recently hosted our son's bar mitzvah at this hotel, and it could not have gone any better. The facilities were perfect for us to coordinate the lodging of our guests, have Friday night and Shabbat morning services at the hotel in a quasi-synagogue hall (with Torah, Aron and Mechitzah provided), and host absolutely gourmet and beautiful meals in a large dining room area overlooking the Old City and Mount Zion. The staff could not have been any friendlier or more supportive, and the office staff were very professional about the arrangements for the bar mitzvah. Everything came together seemlessly. The prices were more reasonable than the other high-end hotels near the Old City (e.g., David Citadel or Mamilla), which were off the charts. Aesthetically, the hotel is a refurbished Turkish hospital, so the decor has a very "Old Jerusalem" feel in many parts, though functionally it is totally modernized. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone desiring to host a simcha or other event.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Old City and Mount Zion. It is totally worth any cost upgrade. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a warm review in Trip advisor. We were of course delighted that your event was a success and greatly appreciate the acknowledgement .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We returned to the Mount Zion Hotel two years after getting engaged there, and were just a little disappointed. Although Rachel at the front desk was very sweet, and helpful, our request to be accommodated in the same suite we had two years ago was met with a lot of resistance, despite booking a suite through an external site.
The breakfast was very good, and the lounge, (which I used much more than previously because it is the only place to get free wifi) comfortable, although they don't sell prosecco/cava/champagne by the glass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the Mount Zion. We quite understand and were sorry to be the cause of your disappointment at not being able to enjoy the warm memory of the particular suite you occupied on your previous visit, as it was already occupied. We trust you otherwise enjoyed your stay and do hope there will be a next time...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was the first hotel stop in the Gate 1 Classic Israel tour (four nights) and we found it to be quite nice. Location and views are great and it's within walking distance of the Old City, however, our tour kept us so busy that we never did try the walk. Out the front door, take a left, go past the first stop light a couple of blocks and you wil find two convenience stores for beer, wine, chips, etc. We even bought roman noodles one evening, used the hot pot in the room and had fine dining on the cheap. There is also a small fridge to keep the beverages cold. Out the front door, to the right and down the hill about 200 yards, you will find a cafe in the theater that has fairly reasonable prices.

The lobby bar has free internet that worked well and a bartender that didn't. Two out of the three nights he was more interested in his cell phone then his customers. On night number three he was better and that's the night he got a tip. The front desk was always pleasant and helpful.

We tried the hamen and it was--HOT. There is also a hot tub located outside, but it was small and crowded the night we were there. Robes are available at the front desk.

The room had two twin beds put together to make a king. Not exactly what we like, but they were clean and fresh--no bugs. A little disappointed in the breakfast. We only had an omlet station one morning and then it was set up late--after we had eaten and had to catch the bus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Mount Zion in Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments which we regard as constructive criticism and believe similar incidents will not reoccur.
We hope you enjoyed your trip and that you will consider returning to Jerusalem and the Mount Zion Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Our recent stay at the Mount Zion left us wondering how such a lovely property could get so run down, yet have so many guests. Our room keys never worked, and despite efforts to get things fixed, nothing happened. Service was slow, and requests often ignored. It may be a good value, but the property sorely needs an update.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are quieter. But views are better facing Mt.Zion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay in our hotel. Although we would have preferred a more positive review we appreciate the constructive criticism and your taking the time to write one.We are very sorry for any aggravation and disappointment you were caused and regret your stay was not a pleasant one. We really can do better. With regards the hotel requiring an update, please note that we are actually in the process of refurbishing guest rooms, including wardrobes, new bed linen and carpets and that WIFI is now free of charge in the lobby and Business Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.