We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value near Old City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Zion Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mount Zion Hotel to your Saves list
Mount Zion Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Jamaica, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value near Old City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Being within an easy walk of the Yaffe gate to the Old City meant we could park our car in the lot across the street and walk everywhere. Our room was spacious, and the bathroom was huge. Beware the tubs - ours had a rounded bottom which made it uncomfortable for showering and was very slippery. Our room also was on the 7th floor, one above the lobby floor, and had no elevator access. The outdoor hot tub was great at the end of a long day walking around, as was the steam room. Great buffet breakfast kept us going all day until dinner. Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for takiing the time to write a review in TripAdvisor; the warm comments were greatly appreciated. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and very much hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    216
    85
    40
    27
See reviews for
194
173
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

If using the phrase "boutique hotel" is synonymous with below par, yes - this hotel qualifies as boutique.
Once used as a hospital, this hotel has the most conductive walls you'll ever come across. You can hear everyone and everything.
I was given a room facing the road, which i had no problem with until the city started repaving it at 11 PM. the noise level was so bad that at midnight i asked to switch rooms. Although reception knew of the city's infrastructure plans, they did not offer a quiet room initially, though they had them. I know that because they were able to give me another room in no time - at least the staff was attentive. Although farther from the street, i nevertheless could still hear some of the noises, not to mention anybody taking a shower, using the toilet, talking in the other rooms or even switching off/on the lights - that's how conductive the walls are!. I ended up sleeping maybe an hour. There was a large group of American tourists who were - to put it mildly - very noisy. And so was the breakfast dining hall. The noise level was so high I could not stay in the dining room for more than five minutes. I grabbed a bagel and took off. So no review of the food.
The rooms have some oriental chic, although they're quite spartan. the high ceilings are nice.
It seems to have a nice pool. When i went to the sauna/spa, no keys were available for the lockers. I was given a stained white towel, which i requested be changed.
Beggars can't be choosers - i didn't pay for the room, it was paid for me. so i shouldn't complain. but if you're going to pay for it yourself, there might be nicer options in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review in Tripadvisor. We were sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay and that your overall impression was a poor one, primarily because of the noise you found was everywhere. The road repairs were unfortunate and we apologize for not having taken them into consideration when allocating your room. Even though we can assume that during your stay the hotel was quite full, your comments about the noise level and that you could hear a toilet flush, a shower running or lights being turned on or off were new to us. Regarding your breakfast experience, please be aware that we do offer the possibility of either using the smaller adjoining dining room, or the terrace, for those guests that wish to avoid a crowd. Otherwise, we believe the sounds you mention are generally accepted sounds that few people notice and apart from the fact that we have never had complaints of this nature before, there is very little we can do to avoid them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We spent three days there, that started with a pleasant surprise. We got an upgrade to a big suite in the old part of the hotel. A wonderful room, with its own terrace next door, just a minute walk to the spa and the pool. The personnel was highly friendly, gave us lots of tips and me a cognac to fight my cold. Breakfast was good too, we especially liked their waffles with whipped cream and the little patio where we ate with a beautiful view of Jaffa gate. It is about a 15min walk to get there and to other sightseeing spots. Drawbacks are small, but were there. The hotel is hosting two to three busses a day (mostly Americans), so breakfast can be crowded, same does the pool once the tours have their afternoon breaks. We also got some ants and a big cockroach in our room, but I guess that is a general problem of old buildings with big gardens.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay in Trip Advisor. We much appreciated the warm wording and were delighted to read that your experience at the Mount Zion was a positive one and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to jerusalem...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good view of the Old City from our room, and even better from the Lobby area and gardens. But staff was generally unhelpful. Laundry due back in the evening and not delivered until the following morning so we didn't have pyjamas etc that night - and then found that the laundy was actually at Reception all the time, and the night staff just couldn't be bothered to look for it. Requested shirts to be returned folded but were actually returned on hangars.

Then was told that the restaurant would be open for lunch and when our guests arrived we were told that we could only have a light dairy meal in the Lobby Bar area. No apology for the inconvenience - just was told that the Lobby was the only option.

Neither of those problems was a disaster, but not what one would expect from a 4* hotel. Staff attitude definitely needs to be improved. A friend of mine considering having his wedding there and asked my opinion, and I told him to look elsewhere unless the view was a big deal for them.

Room Tip: Facing Old City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the feedback of your recent stay which we found most informative and have taken very seriously. Please accept our apologies for the unhelpful behavior of our staff and that the service you received was by far not our usual standard.We regret that you had some aggravating moments but sincerely hope that there were some enjoyable ones too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If you like 4 star accommodation, but want to stay close to the Old City this is a great location. My room was on the third floor and I had a little terrace outside, which was nice. The hotel staff were very friendly. The hotel is 15-20 minutes from the Jaffa Gate. Don't have the buffet on Shabbat, it is seriously expensive (£50 per person) and not very good. For food go into the Old City where there are plenty of places to eat. The swimming pool was very nice and refreshing. The breakfast was excellent and obviated the need for lunch.

Room Tip: 305 was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for giving your feedback of your recent stay at the Mount Zion. We were pleased to read that you felt comfortable in our hotel and believe you enjoyed your stay, but we also noted your comment about the Shabbat (Saturday) buffet lunch and were sorry that it left a poor impression. We quite understand the attraction of the nearby Old City but apart from the buffet lunch we also offer the possibility of a light dairy meal in the Lobby, which boasts breathtaking views, for those of our guests that prefer to stay in air-conditioned surroundings at mid-day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

In the range of 4 stars hotels it is definitely one of the best.Facing the ancient wall that surraunds the old city of Jerusalem,located in an old building ,that looks like a citadell ,makes you fill ln a different world. The hotel is located near many tourist attractions.The rooms are big ,the service is excellent and the breakfast very generous.The hotel has also a small spa and Hammam-turkish steam room. A good spot to spend few days there.

Room Tip: rooms facing east are bigger wirh a nice view but more expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your warm review and for taking the time to write one. We were delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope you will visit us again very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Having read very mixed reviews on this hotel from the sublime to the ......, we were expecting to confront some road bumps along the way, but in all experienced a very relaxing and enjoyable few days over the Jewish holidays.

As has been expressed by previous reviewers, the strong selling point of this hotel is its view which looks out on to the old city and the valleys surrounding it, which is both awe inspiring during the day and at night. The communal areas are also tastefully furnished with period furniture which makes you feel like you are entering a bygone age.

However you can experience this without staying in the hotel itself. To develop a true rating for the establishment, one should primarily rate 3 factors - room, food and service.

Room
We were allocated a triple room on one of the lower floors which did not have a view but instead possessed a private courtyard, which was an added bonus. The room itself was of an adequate size, nicely furnished and clean. The mattresses were very comfortable and the lighting (unlike some hotels we have stayed in Israel) was good. The only matter that affected my rating here was size and quality of the bathroom. There is not much room to maneouvre when you get out of the bath tub and there did not seem to be any way to ventilate the steam from the shower. We also felt that the water pressure from the shower could have been turned up a notch.

Food
As we had elected to travel during the holiday season, dining options in Jerusalem were somewhat limited, so we elected to take our first evening meal in the hotel dining room. The food was adequate but nothing out of the ordinary and fairly expensive overall. However the breakfast experience was outstanding, with an impressive array of hot and cold dishes, including an omelette and salad bar. My son who is celiac said it was the best breakfast he'd ever had. An added bonus is that if the weather is pleasant you can eat your meal alfresco overlooking the walls of the old city.

Service
All the hotel staff we encountered during the course of our stay greeted us with professionalism and courtesy. Particular kudos goes to the dining room manager who ensured that we were able to secure a table for the evening meal. Occasionally items such as soaps for the room and towels were not replaced by the cleaning staff but once a call was made these items were replaced within half an hour.

In summary, this was money well spent and based on this experience we would be tempted to return, this time specifying a room with a view

Room Tip: Ideally go for a room with a view of the old city, as a second choice get one with a courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannan S, Deputy General Manager at Mount Zion Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your recent stay which we believe will be of great assistance to future travellers. The aspects you focused on have already enabled us to identify weaknesses and which we are now looking into how we can improve them. We were pleased that your experience at the Mount Zion was a positive one and delighted that you would consider returning on future visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mount Zion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Zion Hotel

Address: 17 Hebron Rd, Jerusalem 93546, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#13 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mount Zion Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mount Zion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Zion Jerusalem
Hotel Mount Zion
Mount Zion Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Zion Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.