We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front office thugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jerusalem Gate Hotel to your Saves list
Jerusalem Gate Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 Yirmuyahu St, Jerusalem 94467, Israel   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Front office thugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here during our Holyland tour, it shocked me on how the staffs treat us. It was like as if we are beggars who plead to stay at the hotel, the room was dirty and old. At this time of the world, when every hotels and cafes in Israel gave their customers a free wifi, this hotel choose to charge an expensive price for internet.

Breakfast was terrible, coffee and tea spills all over the place. The selections is close to none, and the elevators were very slow and making lines up until the front office.

I urge everyone not to go to this hotel, kindly do your research first since there a lot of other hotels that beats them in any categories.

Room Tip: No good rooms in here, its just that bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    76
    88
    49
    38
See reviews for
59
60
26
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in November/2013. Nice, clean and very good location. Walking distance to shopping center and restaurants. Breakfasts gets a little busy as every guest is trying to leave early. Food is good. We will recommend it.

Room Tip: excellent location to walk and explore a little of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel is big and impressive with a big lobby but there are problems with the attitude of the staff.
The porters were OK and check in was easy.
The rooms were big and clean. There was a TV but no safe.
The problems were generally with the restaurant staff who totally ignored the clients. At breakfast time the food was not replenished quickly enough and most of the time the coffee machines didn't work. Everything was laid haphazardly. At other meal times, attracting the attention of the rude waiters (to find a table) was difficult.
The reception was unhelpful and quite often unmanned.
However, the hotel is in a good location: There is a big shopping area and restaurants in the basement but not part of the hotel. There were also money changing facilities.
The hotel itself is located in a central place and very close to the Central Bus Station, the Jerusalem Light Railway and the Post Office.
There are a number of ATMs and fast food outlets on the nearby Jaffa Street.
All in all a convenient hotel but the staffing should be better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

If the condition of the lobby was the condition of the rest of the hotel, these guys would get phenominal reviews. But, of course - it wasn't. The shower leaked all over the floor every time you used it no matter what you did. Had maintenance have a look & repair a water leak in the ceiling. The bath tub does not have a lip on it, so anything that gets onto the edge, goes straight over the edge onto the floor. Pillows were even cheaper than cheap - felt like they were full of loose foam blocks! You needed to use 2 just to get a half decent night. For some reason, emergency vehicles seem to insist on sounding their sirens as they pass this hotel - one night it seemed as if it happened every hour, on the hour! Needless to say I didn't sleep a wink that night. Very poor sound deadening from outside. Our air conditioning was barely effective, and tripped out once (again, had to get maintenance).

At the base of the hotel - outside - there were areas that were not well kept, dirty & with rubbish around about. Obviously the service side of things, but considering it is not hidden from guests - really needs to be cleaned up or gated off.

Wifi here is very expensive - $10 USD for 24 hours. Damn. See if you can get them to build it into your tarrif for free before you come.

The food was good - as all Israeli food is. However, the quality and variety was not as good as other hotels I visited while I was in Israel in this price category. A couple of times, after a Shabbat, some of the salads tasted a little off too. Cold filtered water available in the foyer & dining room which was a real bonus - saved some money there by refilling for the day ahead. Juice (well, cordial) available for breakfasts but not dinner. Stayed 8 nights - were here during the Succot (Feast of Tabernacles) holidays so experienced 3 Shabbats during that time.

Very very slow elevators - only 3 to serve the entire hotel, which is a decent size. Couple of times ended up taking the stairs because I couldn't be bothered waiting.

Proximity to the Jerusalem Light Rail is a bonus for this hotel - close to the new harp-bridge too, although once you've seen it, you don't need to see it again. We walked into the Old City one night - didn't time it but it felt like about 40 minutes. Stayed here because a number of our group were going to a conference near-bye.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room on the opposite side to the main road out the front - they MAY be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was really disappointed to find no kettle in the room and learned that it is chargeable at 25 NIS per day (so you can guess: no free WiFi anywhere). And the shower hose holder was broken and couldn't stay on the rail at a proper angle. TV was sort of outdated and small in today's standard. Plus sides include: cheaper price (though I don't know exactly how much because it's included in tour package); conveniently located next to Light Train station and Central Bus Station; shopping mall in basement of hotel and many small eateries nearby; staff were friendly; bright and airy staircase to walk up and down for exercise or when the lifts are full, as most of the time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed here in 2010, so I cant speak much for its current state but when I was there I had a very pleasant stay. The hotel was nice(i.e. decor, staff, and accommodations). The beds were just ok, and there where no real "luxury" aspects to this hotel that i've experienced with higher ranked hotels. It was nice because it was a good area to walk around and overall I enjoyed my stay. If I needed to I would stay here again, but i would through caution to the wind and look for other places simply for the sake of variety. Very pleased with my experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patna, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

During my visit to Israel - this was my place for 5 days. The staff were very friendly and cordial. The rooms were clean and comfortable. All the facilities were provided. Breakfast was good. Infact during shabbath we were provided advance information on places to find etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerusalem Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Gate Hotel

Address: 43 Yirmuyahu St, Jerusalem 94467, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jerusalem Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem hotels: old tradition, special atmosphere, warm reception and great Jerusalem hospitality. The Jerusalem Gate Hotel conceptualizes everything that a Jerusalem hotel in the Holy City has. It embodies a spirit of health, happiness & high standards of service. Amongst all, the true Jewish ambiance of what is specific to a unique Hotel in Jerusalem. Its easily accessible to any part of the city. The Jerusalem Gate Hotel is one of the best Jerusalem hotels. It has 10 floors, 298 rooms, comfort rooms, to deluxe rooms, singles, doubles, twins and triples for the family. The rooms featuring air conditioning unit / heating, direct dial phone, cable TV, hair dryer and free Wi-Fi in the lobby and hotel's rooms. .A multilingual team is always available for you. Our Shopping Mall, attached to the Hotel is a shopper's paradise, with a varied choice of designer stores, pharmacy, hairdressing salon, jewelry stores, fitness center and eating places. Across the road there is an emergency facility, open 24 hours per day and around the corner is the new Main Bus Terminal which allows the guest to hop on a bus to any part of the city or even to another part of Israel and also with a short walking distance from the light city train station. What makes the Jerusalem Gate Hotel unique in its kind is that this is the only hotel in Jerusalem that offers "Le Mehadrin Glatt Kosher meals" and a Mikve for men on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Jerusalem Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Gate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.