We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel (Givat Ram)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 88 Hotels in Jerusalem
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I saw pictures of this hotel in a 1994 Israeli movie when it was the Jerusalem Hilton. Apart from new TVs, new beds and a new name, the owners of this hotel do not appear to have spent a cent on this hotel in the ensuing 20 years. This hotel is tired and drab and in desperate need of a refurbishment. The signs of 20 years of usage were to be found all over the room that I was in. The towels in the bathrooms were hideous. I have seen better in a youth hostel. As for the claims of some reviewers that there is something special about their breakfasts, I have been to a number of hotels in Israel, and I would rate the Jerusalem Crowne Plaza as being amongst the most mediocre. If you are attending a function at the nearby Convention Centre, its location is convenient. Otherwise there is little to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear AussieTrav47,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. In this regard we regret we did not live up to your expectations in some aspects of your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments and have shared these with our management team for review. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    151
    117
    87
    62
See reviews for
121
118
28
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the last weekend. Room was small and not very modern- far too expensive for what you get. No free parking. My 6 year old daughter burnt her hand when getting cereal for breakfast- the cereal buffet was placed on a hot plate!!! We complained to the head waiter who apologized and cordoned off the area immediately and complained again when checking out. We were offered no compensation. Who puts the cereal buffet on a hot plate!!!!! pure negligence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Nellos,

Thank you for taking the time to relay your comments regarding our property during your recent stay. Your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zacatecas, Mexico
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

They have this one big rectangular HOT food island, but the plates are cold. I remember twice getting these nice hot string beans, putting butter on them and then leaving them on my plate as the butter did not melt. If they would just convert ONE or TWO spots on their hot food island to serve HOT, WARM PLATES! This problem is so common. I can't imagine a place as nice as Crowne Plaza that they are not smarter!

Room Tip: If you like your food hot, go someplace else unless they fix this inconsiderate problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear JohnPendleton,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am truly sorry to hear that the food served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be. We appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howard Beach
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hotel is always very busy with most rooms sold out. Initially receive two double beds but was upgraded to a king. Room views were outstanding and very clean. Breakfast buffet was probably the best from all the hotels I stayed at in Israel. Staff was very accommodating and management very assisting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located nearby the international convention center, and that's the only advantage of it.
At arrival, about 3 am, there was a mistake in the booking, they misunderstood and apparently we had no room. It was actually sorted out, and I did get a room, though I would not expect such confusion in a crowne plaza.
Room was old, and had not been cleaned (there was a cup in the balcony from someone that smoked there). Control of the AC seemed erratic at best. Early morning construction works in front of the hotel were clearly audible. Breakfast was good, but different every day - one day very good, next day went down in quality, guests complaining, next day becomes very good again. I would expect more constant standards.
Taxi rides to the old city are fast and do not cost much (about 35-40 shekels). Always asked the taxi driver to use the meter, and worked fine.

Room Tip: Ask the side not facing active constructions works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear travelfromportugal,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note that you liked our location.

I am sorry to hear about the troubles that you have encountered with your reservation. Also, please accept our sincerest apologies for any shortcomings in your room and if our breakfast selection didn't meet your expectations.

We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. I do hope that you give us the chance of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This seems to be the model for the Crowne Plaza hotels: they find a very good location, and then do a pretty good but not excellent job of it. Nothing major to complain about, but nothing spectacular as well.

The room was nice, with two exceptions - first, no matter what setting the air conditioning was on, it was freezing if you were laying down in bed. And second, there was this weird gurgling noise coming from the drain in the shower/bathtub. And this noise was in multiple rooms as everyone was talking about it. Again, not a big deal, but just minor touches that keep this hotel from being really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel enjoys a captive clientele due to its close proximity to Israel's largest convention center. Otherwise, it is difficult to understand why it is so crowded in spite of its inconvenient location, smallish rooms, rather depressing decor and the constant feeling that the management simply does not give a damn… Here are just a few examples in support of this statement: TV has very few interesting channels (no CNN!) and most of them are out of focus. Not a single towel upon arrival. Telephone designated buttons not working and no reply from switchboard for 12 minutes. No antiskid pad in bathtub. Very difficult to regulate the temperature of the water in the handset. Misleading signs both in the hotel and parking lot. Minibar fridge noisy as an old tractor – had to disconnect the mains as housekeeping simply did not do a thing. Rude driver of the shuttle car. Missing pieces of cutlery every morning. Breakfast buffet is very rich but the quality of the food and its presentation have a lot to be desired. Coffee is awful etc…etc…
and mind you - I was staying in the "upgraded" executive floor.
Two commends – the free internet connection and the magnificent view of Jerusalem.

Room Tip: If possible look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Alex0001,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the room amenities and the bathroom conditions have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Givat Ram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.