We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel in jerusalem, ok but next time find a different one” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel (Givat Ram)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Lisbon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“hotel in jerusalem, ok but next time find a different one”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located nearby the international convention center, and that's the only advantage of it.
At arrival, about 3 am, there was a mistake in the booking, they misunderstood and apparently we had no room. It was actually sorted out, and I did get a room, though I would not expect such confusion in a crowne plaza.
Room was old, and had not been cleaned (there was a cup in the balcony from someone that smoked there). Control of the AC seemed erratic at best. Early morning construction works in front of the hotel were clearly audible. Breakfast was good, but different every day - one day very good, next day went down in quality, guests complaining, next day becomes very good again. I would expect more constant standards.
Taxi rides to the old city are fast and do not cost much (about 35-40 shekels). Always asked the taxi driver to use the meter, and worked fine.

Room Tip: Ask the side not facing active constructions works.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear travelfromportugal,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to note that you liked our location.

I am sorry to hear about the troubles that you have encountered with your reservation. Also, please accept our sincerest apologies for any shortcomings in your room and if our breakfast selection didn't meet your expectations.

We value your comments as they help us to improve our services and maintain the very high standards of service our guests expect. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. I do hope that you give us the chance of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    136
    114
    84
    56
See reviews for
114
108
27
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This seems to be the model for the Crowne Plaza hotels: they find a very good location, and then do a pretty good but not excellent job of it. Nothing major to complain about, but nothing spectacular as well.

The room was nice, with two exceptions - first, no matter what setting the air conditioning was on, it was freezing if you were laying down in bed. And second, there was this weird gurgling noise coming from the drain in the shower/bathtub. And this noise was in multiple rooms as everyone was talking about it. Again, not a big deal, but just minor touches that keep this hotel from being really good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel enjoys a captive clientele due to its close proximity to Israel's largest convention center. Otherwise, it is difficult to understand why it is so crowded in spite of its inconvenient location, smallish rooms, rather depressing decor and the constant feeling that the management simply does not give a damn… Here are just a few examples in support of this statement: TV has very few interesting channels (no CNN!) and most of them are out of focus. Not a single towel upon arrival. Telephone designated buttons not working and no reply from switchboard for 12 minutes. No antiskid pad in bathtub. Very difficult to regulate the temperature of the water in the handset. Misleading signs both in the hotel and parking lot. Minibar fridge noisy as an old tractor – had to disconnect the mains as housekeeping simply did not do a thing. Rude driver of the shuttle car. Missing pieces of cutlery every morning. Breakfast buffet is very rich but the quality of the food and its presentation have a lot to be desired. Coffee is awful etc…etc…
and mind you - I was staying in the "upgraded" executive floor.
Two commends – the free internet connection and the magnificent view of Jerusalem.

Room Tip: If possible look for another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Alex0001,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I apologize for the services that you have received which is not up to your par. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the room amenities and the bathroom conditions have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel at the outskirts of Jerusalem but was about 10 min walk from the transport hub of Central Bus Station and Jerusalem Light Rail. Room is spacious with adequate facilities. Bath room ok but a bit small. Sound proofing poor, we can hear when people next to our room raised their voice! Good view of Jerusalem as this is the tallest building in the area, and was built on a small hill. Free wifi in the room but signal may not be sufficiently string and on the slower side. Breakfast and dinner (if you are on half board) are above average but not fantastic. Reception etc generally helpful. There are a few well stock shops In hotel, cater for tourists who have no time to do the shopping, but the price is fair.
One thing terrible about the hotel...don't ever use the airport shuttle booked thru the concierge staff. We precooked the 75 NIS airport shuttle, it was actually an airport sherut.According to hotel concierge staff, we are the last stop, so expected to arrive airport in 45 min time max. But the sherut after picking us up went all over the neighborhoods of Jerusalem to pick up other passengers, and took one hr 40 min to reach airport. If you are in a rush to get to airport, never use this service. We felt that the hotel concierge staff should have told us the truth, it is a sherut, or shared taxi, and may take more than double the usual time to airport ! Because the booking of transfer was made thru hotel staff, it gave the impression that this service is sanctioned by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The rooms definitely need updating. The carpet is old and a little dirty. The walls need a new painting. The furniture could be renewed. The bed is good and the pillows are fine. The air-conditioning of the room is very cold and I have some difficulties to adjust a good temperature.
The bathroom needs also an update.
The breakfast is very good, with variety of products.
The water pool is very nice, large.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Luciano P,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased you found the breakfast and our swimming pool commendable. However, please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret the room you received did not live up top your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rooms definately need updating. Althouh we had a superior room, the bathroom was small; but the bed was enormous and comfortable. Food is very good, although I would expect a 4 star hotel in Israel to serve "real" orange juice at breakfast. The pool is very nice, staff very friendly and the conference rooms adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. We stayed in May last year and again this year for five nights. The hotel is situated in the government quarter, within an easy walk of the Knesset, Supreme Court building and the Israel Museum. While it would otherwise be considered to be out of the way it is now an easy walk to the new (2 years old) light rail transit which is very easy to use and allows easy access to the city centre including the Mahane Yehudah market, the Ben Yehudah Street shopping area and the Damascus Gate entrance to the Old City and, at the end of the line, Mount Herzl and Yad Vashem.

Check in was efficient although not an overly warm welcome. No offer of an explanation of facilities available or hours open. What was supposed to be an upgraded room was very small and not well laid out. A big chair and table in the middle of the room made it difficult for two people to move around. No chairs on the balcony. Bathroom was likewise small and dated. Shower curtains need to be replaced with glass panelling. Sink needs to be installed to drain better rather than have water pool away from the drain. Very small closet and no drawers whatsoever. We had to take the ironing board and iron out of the closet in order to gain some much needed room.

My wife likes extra face cloths and one would think that after the first day or two they would just bring them when making up the room rather than having us call every day to ask. They made us wait to be seated at breakfast rather than allowing us to choose a table. They could take some lessons from their Tel Aviv affilate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Bob L,

Thank you for completing a review on your stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Givat Ram
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#15 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.