We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but don't ever take the airport shuttle service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #25 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but don't ever take the airport shuttle service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Hotel at the outskirts of Jerusalem but was about 10 min walk from the transport hub of Central Bus Station and Jerusalem Light Rail. Room is spacious with adequate facilities. Bath room ok but a bit small. Sound proofing poor, we can hear when people next to our room raised their voice! Good view of Jerusalem as this is the tallest building in the area, and was built on a small hill. Free wifi in the room but signal may not be sufficiently string and on the slower side. Breakfast and dinner (if you are on half board) are above average but not fantastic. Reception etc generally helpful. There are a few well stock shops In hotel, cater for tourists who have no time to do the shopping, but the price is fair.
One thing terrible about the hotel...don't ever use the airport shuttle booked thru the concierge staff. We precooked the 75 NIS airport shuttle, it was actually an airport sherut.According to hotel concierge staff, we are the last stop, so expected to arrive airport in 45 min time max. But the sherut after picking us up went all over the neighborhoods of Jerusalem to pick up other passengers, and took one hr 40 min to reach airport. If you are in a rush to get to airport, never use this service. We felt that the hotel concierge staff should have told us the truth, it is a sherut, or shared taxi, and may take more than double the usual time to airport ! Because the booking of transfer was made thru hotel staff, it gave the impression that this service is sanctioned by the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    160
    122
    89
    68
See reviews for
130
126
30
133
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The rooms definitely need updating. The carpet is old and a little dirty. The walls need a new painting. The furniture could be renewed. The bed is good and the pillows are fine. The air-conditioning of the room is very cold and I have some difficulties to adjust a good temperature.
The bathroom needs also an update.
The breakfast is very good, with variety of products.
The water pool is very nice, large.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Dear Luciano P,

Thank you for taking the time out our your busy day to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. I am pleased you found the breakfast and our swimming pool commendable. However, please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret the room you received did not live up top your expectations. I have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve. If there is anything you need next time you stay with us, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The rooms definately need updating. Althouh we had a superior room, the bathroom was small; but the bed was enormous and comfortable. Food is very good, although I would expect a 4 star hotel in Israel to serve "real" orange juice at breakfast. The pool is very nice, staff very friendly and the conference rooms adequate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is our second stay at this hotel. We stayed in May last year and again this year for five nights. The hotel is situated in the government quarter, within an easy walk of the Knesset, Supreme Court building and the Israel Museum. While it would otherwise be considered to be out of the way it is now an easy walk to the new (2 years old) light rail transit which is very easy to use and allows easy access to the city centre including the Mahane Yehudah market, the Ben Yehudah Street shopping area and the Damascus Gate entrance to the Old City and, at the end of the line, Mount Herzl and Yad Vashem.

Check in was efficient although not an overly warm welcome. No offer of an explanation of facilities available or hours open. What was supposed to be an upgraded room was very small and not well laid out. A big chair and table in the middle of the room made it difficult for two people to move around. No chairs on the balcony. Bathroom was likewise small and dated. Shower curtains need to be replaced with glass panelling. Sink needs to be installed to drain better rather than have water pool away from the drain. Very small closet and no drawers whatsoever. We had to take the ironing board and iron out of the closet in order to gain some much needed room.

My wife likes extra face cloths and one would think that after the first day or two they would just bring them when making up the room rather than having us call every day to ask. They made us wait to be seated at breakfast rather than allowing us to choose a table. They could take some lessons from their Tel Aviv affilate hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Bob L,

Thank you for completing a review on your stay. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We just stayed at this hotel for one night. We had a great room that was very spacious and clean with a nice view. The breakfast was delicious with many food options. The kids enjoyed the pool very much and we liked the comfortable poolside lounge chairs.

We had a lovely stay and would come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I had high hope for our last visit to this hotel.The purpose of the trip was combining liesure with business and to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday .We arrived on 9/5/2013 and left on 12/5/2013. 3 nights. All our hopes for a good stay were dashed right from the start. The room was not upgraded as promised - we are priority club member. we got a liittle room - no 1811 - not seems the delux we paid for. We spoke with the hotel manager - who seems to try to help - and offered another room bigger in size but 2 beds and dirty. we came back to him and he said that he can do nothing. We returned to the 1811. the floor was almost empty. we look on the other empty rooms which were bigger. but the hotel manager did not want to upgrade . All other staff behave same. From restaurant staff aggressively wanted to know which tour group we were part of, and were almost taken aback when told that we were independent travellers, and the resturant was full and very noisy.The promised Shuttle to the city center was only once a day - and not on the promised time. The people who clean the room knocked loudly and shouted and waked us up even we put a message outside not to interupp.Only the lobby resturant was good with good service.
Restaurant was overpriced for the buffet evening meal which was adequate but nothing fancy.
.
This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at when I arrived at the swimming pool at 5 pm and asked for towels for my wife and I to be told that they had none and we should come back later when they might have some. I was not recognised as a Priority Club member .
Would not stay here again and will recommend to others that they don't either. Very poor indeed.

Room Tip: rooms on north have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear isacharweinberg,

Thank you for being an IHG Rewards Club member and for leaving us feedback. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The first impression entering the "deluxe" room was bad: the bedroom seemed tiny. The supr-wide king size bed had about four feet of room around it into which we needed to put two suitcases. The closet configuration was not amenable to off-loading suitcase contents.
Knowing that international hotels tend to have slippery bathtub floors, we carry a non-slip mat. In this hotel, the tub was so slippery that the the mat had almost no grip. Therefore, showering and getting out of the tub required great care. Hazardous is the word that comes to mind.
The rooms amenities were good although the refrigerator/mini bar carried the following warning:"Storage for personal items will be charged 20 NIS [about $6 US]."
The included breakfast bar was was excellent, similar to most hotels in Israel.
Arriving on a holiday, the hotel was full. Elevator service was chaotic but not the hotel's fault.

Room Tip: Maybe you can find a better buy elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear wolfg981,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room accommodation prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem

Address: Givat Ram, Jerusalem 91130, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#18 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is ideally located at the entrance to the capital, half an hour drive from Israel's international airport and within walking distance from the Knesset - the Israeli parliament and Supreme Court with their unique architecture, also in the vicinity the museums district. the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem hotel is the tallest building in the city and an impressive land mark. All rooms have balconies and are over looking the panoramic views of the old city and new quarters with breathtaking scenery of Judea hills in their backgrounds. The hotel offers a variety of banqueting solutions from 30 to 900 participants in a theater style seminar at our modern and audio-video equipped conference hall or at a sit down gourmet function as per your request. Within a few seconds walk the biggest indoor convention complex in Israel The ICC. At the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem You'll find the most updated executive services, Club lounge on the top 21st floor, Wireless high speed Internet connection in all rooms & public areas. Covered heated swimming pool and SPA including 2 tennis courts, gym, wet and dry sauna and workout studio classes. From It's great location you are invited to walk or a drive to each of this holy city's specially characterized historic areas and get back to your home away from home at the Crowne Plaza Jerusalem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jerusalem
Jerusalem Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.