We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic little place in the market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azura

Azura
4 Ha'eshkol Street, The Iraqui Market | Machane Yehuda, Jerusalem, Israel
02-623-5204
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 466 restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Authentic little place in the market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

If you wanna get fresh (i think iraqi) food in the market for fair (low for israel) prices, this is the place to be.
Nice local dishes, market atmosphere, and service accordingly!
I'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    69
    39
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in The Shuk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I was assured by my friends that this was a must-try place for lunch in the Shuk Mahane Yehuda. We asked several people how to get there, and after wrong-turns and some problems with our Hebrew, we finally turned into an alley and ascended a flight of stairs to reach a courtyard where Azura is located. There is outdoor seating at plain tables with red-checked table clothes, or indoors which is lively and cramped. We opted for outside. The atmosphere is classic Jerusalem. Families eating together, old men having lively discussions, dogs and cats wandering around- and you wouldn't want it any other way. We ordered a number of dishes including the meatballs, the hummus and the kubbeh soup. The kubbeh was definitely the highlight. Delicious meat dumplings in a thick vegetable broth. Delicious! Everything else was great as well, and very inexpensive. The service is attentive, and though you may have to wait, it's well worth it. This has all the trappings of a local spot. Though it's hard to find, it's certainly worth it for authentic Israeli food. Certainly one of the unforgettable meals of my trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Food was good, service great although a little hard to find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited following a recommendation from a friend and trip advisor too. Had an early lunch and ordered too much with trying the hummus with falafel and accompaniments would have been enough but waitress recommended the Beef Sofra...hummus was great and so were the falafel but was not impressed with the Sofra which was beef and potatoes, beef was good but potatoes not so much.

Some of the other dishes others were having looked great and overall would go back but not for the Sofra!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great Lunch place in the main market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

This restaurant is small and not that easy to find but the Hummus is great and so are the other dishes. Soup was good but would have preferred it to be thicker. Service is quick. Overall a good and hearty place for lunch that is not expensive

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant was so good we went back twice in three days! It is tucked away in a corner—watch the old men playing sheshbesh while you wait for a table. The kubbe was excellent!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azura also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Azura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.