We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic little place in the market” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azura

Azura
4 Ha'eshkol Street, The Iraqui Market | Machane Yehuda, Jerusalem, Israel
02-623-5204
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 590 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Israeli, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Authentic little place in the market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

If you wanna get fresh (i think iraqi) food in the market for fair (low for israel) prices, this is the place to be.
Nice local dishes, market atmosphere, and service accordingly!
I'll be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ontheedge2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in The Shuk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was assured by my friends that this was a must-try place for lunch in the Shuk Mahane Yehuda. We asked several people how to get there, and after wrong-turns and some problems with our Hebrew, we finally turned into an alley and ascended a flight of stairs to reach a courtyard where Azura is located. There is outdoor seating at plain tables with red-checked table clothes, or indoors which is lively and cramped. We opted for outside. The atmosphere is classic Jerusalem. Families eating together, old men having lively discussions, dogs and cats wandering around- and you wouldn't want it any other way. We ordered a number of dishes including the meatballs, the hummus and the kubbeh soup. The kubbeh was definitely the highlight. Delicious meat dumplings in a thick vegetable broth. Delicious! Everything else was great as well, and very inexpensive. The service is attentive, and though you may have to wait, it's well worth it. This has all the trappings of a local spot. Though it's hard to find, it's certainly worth it for authentic Israeli food. Certainly one of the unforgettable meals of my trip.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cbryant6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Food was good, service great although a little hard to find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited following a recommendation from a friend and trip advisor too. Had an early lunch and ordered too much with trying the hummus with falafel and accompaniments would have been enough but waitress recommended the Beef Sofra...hummus was great and so were the falafel but was not impressed with the Sofra which was beef and potatoes, beef was good but potatoes not so much.

Some of the other dishes others were having looked great and overall would go back but not for the Sofra!

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Lunch place in the main market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This restaurant is small and not that easy to find but the Hummus is great and so are the other dishes. Soup was good but would have preferred it to be thicker. Service is quick. Overall a good and hearty place for lunch that is not expensive

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judithh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant was so good we went back twice in three days! It is tucked away in a corner—watch the old men playing sheshbesh while you wait for a table. The kubbe was excellent!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank ElleF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azura also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Azura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing