We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Local Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of pinati

pinati
13 King George, Jerusalem, Israel
26254540
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 468 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Israeli
Restaurant details
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Local Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Pinati is the regular place I go to eat. The place is NOT fancy - people share table with other diners on simple wood chairs. You won't find wine and the menu is limited but the food is EXCELLENT! . Many of the diners are people working nearby (like me) but tourists also come here. The place is very small and can serve around 20 people in the inside of the restuarant and around 10 more in the outside area. Therefore, around noon the place is crowded and people often wait outside the door for their turn to get in.
Pinati is famous for its Hummus - and rightfully so. You can get the Hummus with Tehina, hummus grains, "ful" (broad grains), boiled egg and meat - or any combination of these. In addition, the Mussaka (eggplant with meat) is excellent. In winter time, there is also excellent "Kubbe" soup. The other dishes are also good.
Prices are relatively low so it's not only excellent food but also a good value for money. I think that tourists also enjoy the atmosphere of a real local restaurant. Service is very fast, because it's a pre-cooked food. visitors are asked to order almost immediately and get served withing a minute or two, at the most.
A couple of years ago they opend many new branches all around Israel. I don't know of he other branches are in the same quality because I come to the original place on King George Street.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
METAR
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“grate little place, basic tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

wery basic food (humus, soup...) very tasty. craouded place most of the time, they sit you at table with stangers, which is actualy fun - you get to meet interesting peaple for a glimps. not a place to stay for long.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, Incredibly Efficient Little Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed across street from Penati. I viewed it with suspicion. Never heard of it. But the place was packed from morning til close (early evening).

We gave it a try and were so happy we did. My wife had the schnitzel and fries and I ordered shakshouka. Both plates were excellent.

I thought of ordering an additional hummus platter. The owner cut me off and said not to worry, he'd just bring me a small plate on the house. Wow. The pita and pickles were a great addition as well.

The service was the fastest I have EVER seen in a restaurant. We literally had our food in a minute. The place is harried but well-run.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Cheap and yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This is a chain around Israel. Yum variety of mostly meat dishes with sides. Kid friendly options. Fast friendly service

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“THE LITTLE RESTAURANT THAT COULD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Amazing restaurant, always crowded from breakfast to early evening. The absolute best hummus and chicken schnitzel in Israel. A tiny corner restaurant at the top of the Ben Yehuda pedestrian mall in Jerusalem, do not expect a private table. You will be seated where ever there is an open seat. Service is so quick, you will be amazed. Order schnitzel with french fries and salad and it appears before you even had a chance to sample the pickled veggies on the table.

There is no atmosphere unless you sit outside. The place is jammed and a heck of a lot of fun. The food is fresh, prices very reasonable, and the menu is fairly large.

The place is tiny, but no one minds. Go for breakfast or go for lunch or even for a very early! dinner. You will love it

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed pinati also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to pinati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage pinati, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.