We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abraham Tours - Day Tours

Abraham Tours - Day Tours
67 Hanevi'im Street | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 94702, Israel
972-2-5660045
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$80*
and up
Ranked #40 of 127 Activities in Jerusalem
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Abraham Tours provides the best travel information and highest quality tours for independent travelers! We have great tours all around Israel and the West Bank leaving each day from the Abraham Hostel, and provide tours to Jordan and Egypt as well. We can also arrange private tours and transportation on request.
Curitiba, PR
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've done the tour to Massada at sunrise, Ein Gedi and Dead Sea and have one of the most amazing experiences of my life! the guide was great, good remarks and great sense of humour.
Massada at sunrise is astonishing!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    91
    18
    15
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent dual perspective tour of Hebron”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We’ve been living in Israel for 6 months and haven’t had a chance to stay at Abraham Hostel (because we’re staying in more long-term housing), but the hostel has come highly recommended to us by many people we’ve met during our travels throughout Israel. Their tour to Hebron was also highly recommended, which gives the Israeli and Palestinian perspective of one of the tensest cities in the West Bank. I will also add that Abraham’s Shabbat dinner was also recommended, where you chip in something like 35 shekels per person and have a great meal which you communally prepare, which we did and really enjoyed.

We decided to do the Hebron tour through Abraham Hostel. Our Jewish guide, Eliyahu was excellent. He was very knowledgeable, fair to both perspectives, and obviously his goal is for peace with the Palestinian people. He used facts and statistics to tell the Israeli side of the story. He took us around the areas that are inhabited by the Jewish Israelis in Hebron and showed us around the Jewish side of the Tomb of the Patriarchs, the synagogue. He was very open to all kinds of questions. Then he handed us over to our Palestinian guide, Adeeb, who took us through the military checkpoints to the other half of the Tomb of the Patriarchs, the part that’s a mosque, and then he took us to the areas that are inhabited by the Palestinians.

Our guide Adeeb was also excellent. He was very knowledgeable about historical facts, which affect the Israeli/Palestinian conflict, though his perspective seemed more biased. He was respectful of the Jewish perspective and the Israeli perspective. He was also completely willing to discuss any and all kinds of questions. He was very patient with his group of tourists, who came from all different kinds of backgrounds. The tour is excellent and I would recommend it to anyone who is open-minded and who wants peace and a resolution to the Israeli/Palestinian conflict (or for people who just want to learn more about the conflict).

My only gripe is that this tour is expensive. We’re volunteers travelling on a minimal budget and this was a splurge, but it was worth it. Unfortunately, that left us no ability to tip the guides. We had to pay $70 per person for the tour, plus we had to pay for our own public transportation to and from Hebron, and we paid for lunch with a Palestinian Women’s group (which was an excellent lunch and totally worth the minimal $8 per person it cost). Also, it seemed like the Palestinian side of the tour had a little bit less time and was more rushed. There was less of an opportunity for us to tip the Palestinian guide since he basically handed us back off to the Israeli guide and there was more of an opportunity for us to tip the Israeli guide, especially since he accompanied us from and back to Abraham Hostel in Jerusalem. So, I would just recommend making a point to tip both guides if you think they both deserve it and you can afford it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“I want to stand with you on a mountain!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Highlight of a two week trip round Israel, friendly people, great guide and just enough time at each place. Worth making sure you have the correct start time for the trip - we arrived what we thought was early and we were 15mins late, luckily the nice receptionist at the hostel managed to get our driver to come back to get us. We made Masada summit for sunrise and it was epic!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

A brilliant trip. Climbing Masada was great fun and very memorable. En Gedi was enjoyable and cooled us off. The Dead Sea was a great way to finish off. An incredible experience. The bus driver/tour guide was a very nice guy who made the trip interesting and enjoyable. Thank you very much.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
“Incredible and Inspiring Masada at Sunrise tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Abrahams hostel Masada at Sunrise tour is something very very special. A must-do when visiting Israel.
The very kind and friendly guide picked us up at 4 in the morning from the Abraham hostel and drove us in the early hours of the morning to Masada, where we then ascended the ancient fortress, and with each step of the way, the darkness turned to light. And having reached the top of the mountain, to then see the sun rise, perch on top of a neighbouring peak and light up the valley beneath is quite an experience! It was then a pleasure to walk around the Archaeological itself, and to learn more about the heroic last stand of the Jews against the Romans. The tour then continued, with our knowlegable and experienced guide answering questions and explaining both the history and geography of the region, as well as the challenges that this area faces today.

The second part of the trip was to Ein Gedi, an extraordinary oasis with magnificant plants, wildlife and waterfalls perched in the middle of a barren and empty desert. It was very enjoyable to walk, to cool off and bathe in the fresh cool waters, and to see the native wildlife.

The guide then took us to a very quiet beach, where we were able to float in the Dead Sea, and to enjoy the natural healing qualities of the famous and renowned Dead Sea mud.

I can't recommend this tour highly enough. It really was quite exceptional.
The best way to see Masada!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abraham Tours - Day Tours also viewed

 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Abraham Tours - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abraham Tours - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.