We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diferent feeling in Jerusalem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mahane Yehuda Market

Mahane Yehuda Market
Mahane Yehuda Street, Jaffe Road and Kiach Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 shopping in Jerusalem
Type: Flea/ Street Markets
Attraction Details
Shoresh
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A diferent feeling in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is the place to feel Jerusalem and share a special moment with its inhabitants. It was only the market square has been enriched with boutiques and restaurants, meals from all over the world, cheese and wines, smells and people...sometimes is very busy, this is part of the experience. I recomend to come on Friday a moment before Shabbat or at noon for lunch or when you want to... always has its charm

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    34
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marcy-sous-Marle, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Too crowded on friday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Helo. many people told us about the market but from my experience- too crowded on friday morning. we were group of 22 people and it wasn't that successful. thank you.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

I go once a week to Machane Yehuda. Apart from it being a great place to shop it is a special experiene to go there for the experience.
The merchants are pleasant and friendly. There are many good retaurants including a fish and chip restaurant---the owner went to the U.K. to learn how it's done--he learnt well! Near the fish and chip a delightful ceramic store--beautiful items--
There is a great cafe with a fantastic variety of coffees and pastries--alwats busy--called Mizrachi.
Wonderful spice shops----a grand experience not to be forgotton--take a camera to photograph beautiful displays of fruit and vegetables--many photo opportunities in Machane Yehuda

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
“Excellent food market”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

An excellent food market off the Jaffa Road. One of the highlights of the market, in our opinion, is the Azura restaurant, where you can experience Kosher Turkish / Iraqi / Syrian food. This home food restaurant is always busy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Colorful and busy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you like markets, you have to visit this one. This is mostly a food market, with traditional stalls selling fruits, nuts, herbs or fish. In the past few years new trendy shops have opened where you can find things like homemade pasta or chocolates.
My favorite is Halva Kingdom where you can find not only different flavors of amazing Halva but also the best Tehina I ever tasted.
We visited on Frinday, which is the busiest day, and we could hardly make our way through the crouds. Better visit other weekday. But it is always busy.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mahane Yehuda Market also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mahane Yehuda Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mahane Yehuda Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mahane Yehuda Market to your Saves list