We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asher Dank Tour Guide” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exploring Israel

Exploring Israel
#260 | Moshav Beit Zayit, Jerusalem 93106, Israel
0544422155
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Israel with licensed tour guide Jonathan Cutler for the experience of a life time. Jonathan will build a custom tailored itinerary for you, your family or group for your tour in Israel.
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
1 review
“Asher Dank Tour Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

My husband and I just got back from touring northern Israel with Asher Dank. Asher was fabulous in every way: knowledgeable, reliable, fun to be with, experienced and just an all around mensch of a man! He is full of energy, enthusiasm and so excited to share his wealth of knowledge and vast personal experiences with us. We saw so much and did so much with Asher. Our experience was greatly enhanced by having Asher as our guide! Rena and Steven K

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Jerusalem Walking Tours was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Zeev Jonas, Jerusalem Walking Tours, gave a great tour for my adult daughter and I during our 2 days of private tours walking Jerusalem. She was extremely knowledgeable about history, archeology, and religions, and adapted easily to our interests. We saw Temple Mount, Mount Moriah, City of David, the Western Wall, Davidson Archeological Center and the Southern Wall Excavations, Jewish Quarter, Herodian Quarter, and walked underground as well as on top of the walls. And her prices for a private tour are only a little more than what it would cost 2 people for a group tour--very reasonable--and my daughter was extremely impressed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A second visit to the wonderful country of Israel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

My sister and I visited Jerusalem for the second time in May/June of this year.On our first visit to Israel we did a tour which took us from Tel Aviv to Tiberias and then on to Jerusalem, visiting many religious and historical sites around these cities every day. This time we wanted to spend more time in Jerusalem, to be able to wander round the Old City and souk at leisure, sit in Cafés and feel involved in the daily llife around us.
On arriving at Ben Gurion Airport we passed quickly through the Passport hall and collected our luggage without delay. On going through the gate we immediately found a "nesher" (shared táxi) and got the last 2 seats, which was a bit of a tight squeeze on the back seat. About 40 minutes later we were deposited outise our hotel.The cost was around 65 shekels each.
We stayed at the Jerusalem Gold Hotel again, which was like coming home and found it to be a very good location for our daily visits. The light rail is just outside the hotel and we soon got used to it - the ticket machine has instructions in English so it was easy to follow. The Mahane Yehuda market was two stops along, then the Ben Yehuda Pedestrian Shopping streets and after 5 stops the City Hall, which is just outside the Old City.
On our first day we took the Open Top tour bus for a two hour trip round Jerusalem.This was excelent as we soon got our bearings again and it gave us a good idea of where places were in relation to each other. We passed through interesting residential áreas with different styles of houses and architecture and local shops.We were also able to locate several hotels, places of interest and modern shopping malls.We caught the bus near the Light Rail and just outside the Bus Station Shopping Mall.There are lots of local buses too but I think we would only use them if we were staying longer in Jerusalem as they seem more complicated.
On our second day we took a trip to Bethlehem,which had not been included in our first tour.I pre-booked it online as we were determind not to miss it this time, but we could have booked it easily through the hotel.We were picked up at the hotel by táxi and taken to a meeting point where there were minibuses.We then drove to a checkpoint and crossed into Palestine where more minibuses took us to Bethlehem.
Our Guide took us to the Milk Chapel, dedicated to the Virgin Mary, to Manger Square and the Church of the Nativity and the Greek Orthodox Church.There was na Armenian Priest leading a group here and we sat and listened to their service.We had been warned that these significant sites are in the middle of the town but once inside they purveyed a holy atmosphere.We entered the Chapel where the birth of Jesus is commemorated with a gold star set in the floor by a side door, instead of having to queue in the main church. We then went to Shepherd's fields - now an Arab village and urban área but the Church of St. Mary is there with nativity scenes and the Fontain depicting Elijah and the Shepherds. We then drove into the town again and visited a Gift Shop before returning to Jerusalem. We would be happy to visit Bethlehem again.
During the rest of the week we went out each mornig - often to the Old City through one of the Gates, our first stop a Café near the Lion Gate where they served iced coffee and lovely fruit juices, also pizzas and falafel, etc. Then we would wind our way round the tunnels of the souk - stopping now and again to buy gilded camels, olive wood camels on keyrings, a menorah, beautiful scarves for ourselves, family and friends.We got lost many times as we tried to find our way to the Temple Mount, only to be told it was only open to us between 11.30 and 13.30 and then that it was closed on Fridays for Moslem prayer and on Saturdays for Jewish prayers.We finally managed to revisit the Church of the Holy Sepulchre, the Western Wall - where we put our little papers with prayers into the walls again and finally after being told again that it was closed managed to visit Temple Mount, entering through the tunnel from the Western Wall and we found it to be truly beautiful - the contrast of the blue tiles and the gold dome being spectacular. As we could not enter the Dome on the Rock and the Mosque we wandered around the grounds admiring the buildings from many different angles and taking photos and of course soaking up the very special atmosphere.
On Saturday (Shabbat) we made our way to the Mount of Olives by táxi. Up there we enjoyed the view and were pleased to see the man dressed in robes and his donkey from 2 years before whom we had seen on the Palm Sunday Route. I'd taken apples for the donkey which it crunched eagerly.I hope other tourists do the same. There was also a very finely attired camel. Donkeys and camels look so appropriate in these biblical surroundings.We walked down to the Dominus Revit Church where a Japanese group were singing and we had wonderful
views of Temple Mount. Then on down to the Garden of Gethsemane and the Church of All Nations where an Italian group were having a service and we sat and listened to the singing.It was lovely to revisit these places - the Garden of Gethsemane with its ancient olive trees is so peaceful, despite the visitors and there is always an elderly monk walking in the garden.
Another day we visited the City of David Excavations and made our way down to Hezekiah's tunnels.They have done some amazing excavations in this area and it was fascinating going deeper into the rock with the city up above us.We went right down to the tunnels but decided against going into the wet one - the water level was up qutie high, it is only one way and we were preceded and followed by enthusiastic groups of schoolchildren - whom the teachers organized very well I must add. We had to leave by the dry tunnel - which is also narrow and winding. We then walked back up to the excelent information centre - which had a well equipped gift and book shop and a shop selling cold drinks, a 3D film, etc. Also a friendly resident fluffy cat, to which I gave some cheese.
More than once in the late afternoon we made our way to the Ben Yehuda Shopping streets.This is a large area of pedestrian streets with a wide range of shops and everyone relaxes in the numerous pavement cafés and ice cream parlours - many of whcih are in the central area of the wide avenues.
Another day we visited the Mamila área - stopping first at the old cemetery which is a point of contention at the moment and looks abandoned.Then on to the Mamila shopping Centre - a very classy area in beautiful, traditional stone with modern statues all along the ground floor walkway and a huge variety of shops - some designer - and spacious cafés with views of the Old City.
We also visited the Notre Dame Hotel, on the recommendation of the owner of the Jerusalem Gold Hotel - this has a terrace on top which is a Restaurant and Bar and has the most spectacular views over Jerusalem.Apparently sunset is the best time to be there.
Shabbat was an interesting time - we caught the last light rail before 6 and then the city became traffic free for 24 hours. We had dinner in the hotel as usual and the food was just as good - with the added bonus of the cholent bread.On Saturday during the day we travelled by táxi and it was fascinating late at night to see the city come alive again, as the transport suddenly started up again and people in the streets were hurrying home carrying their weekend bags.Taxis by the way are quite reasonable but you must ask them to switch the meter on.Otherwise they often give you a quote - particularly at Rush hour.
We managed a quick visit to Jericho, where it was over 40 degrees but a fascinating archaeological site.On the way we stopped by the famous sycamore trees where Zacchaeus, the tqx collector is said to have hidden so he could see Jesus.As we travelled through the desert we could see the Dead Sea in the distance.
On our first visit we visted several museums in Jerusalem and they are all wonderful and we will probably visit them again one day.Amongst these were the Israeli Museum and the Yad Vashem Holocaust Museum where the Children's Section is brilliantly conceived.In both museums you could spend hours and everything is beautifully preserved. They also have excelent eating places.
We would like to return to Jerusalem - there is still so much to see and we would like to revisit the Garden Tomb, the house of the last Supper and to attend a Church Service.We had coffee at the English Christ Church in the souk and noted that they had services on Sundays and some during the week.
It would be ideal to spend more than a week in Israel and to be able to visit Galilee which we loved last time and maybe Acre.There are trips from Jerusalem and they are usually 2 day excursions.Otherwise we could spend a couple of days in Tel Aviv and Tiberias and visit Galilee from there.Then we would carry on to our beloved Jerusalem.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This being my fourth trip to Israel, I expected a good tour. Was I shocked! This was the most well organized and enjoyable trip two week I have been on and I am a very experienced traveler. It seems that each facet was well thought out and planned ahead of time making everything go so smoothly. Perhaps it was even better because of the presence of Wendy Morse who was on top of everything. When we go back, it will be with Margaret Morse Tours.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
narragansett
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“margaret morse tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Having just returned from a 16 day tour with Margaret Morse Tours we have to say that it even exceeded our expectations. We had Bruce as a guide and have never had a better guide in all of our travels. He was not only knowledgeable but passionate and warm. We felt so fortunate to have him guide us through Israel and share all that he knew. Wendy ( an owner) was also along on the tour and made sure that everything ran smoothly and solved any little problems that arose such as making sure a person got back their jacket that they left at a previous hotel. We received little gifts along the way and unlike another tour we have taken, it was more like being with family then just a tour guide. Just the fact that Wendy made sure we could get our laundry done halfway through the trip at a reasonable price was a big plus!! While giving praise to the way the tour was run, we also need to say how terrific our bus driver, Akiva, was. He maneuvered the bus through tight spots and incredible curves and we always felt safe with him. A fabulous trip that we would recommend to anyone.
We have so many wonderful memories from a first rate tour!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Exploring Israel also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Exploring Israel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exploring Israel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.