We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Exceptional Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Mizrakhi

Cafe Mizrakhi
12 Hashezif st. | Makhane Yehuda marketplace, Jerusalem, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 461 restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Israeli
Description: (see review in the attached URL. A wonderfull coffee/restaurant place. Great food that changes everyday. good/authentic atmosphere. In the heart of the famous Makhane Yehuda marketplace (the best in Israel). Highly recommended - for locals and tourists.
Restaurant details
Description: (see review in the attached URL. A wonderfull coffee/restaurant place. Great food that changes everyday. good/authentic atmosphere. In the heart of the famous Makhane Yehuda marketplace (the best in Israel). Highly recommended - for locals and tourists.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Exceptional Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

It is a tiny place that serve kosher food in the busy Machne Yehuda market. Delightful food, every dish is tasty and good and some are exceptional good. The kitchen is not a standard one - each dish has a special twist. It is a real Israeli kitchen as it uses local ingredients. We love it . If you are looking for standard and cheap food - this is not the place for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    13
    1
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Its Good, authentic atmosphere, too expensive.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Most of the food is very good made from good ingredients.

It is nice to sit in the middle of the market if you like the atmo and the surroundings marker feel.

Not a good value for money though, for example a breakfast would cost 44 NIS and drinks are not included ! quite pricy for israel.

I live in Jerusalem there are better places in terms of value for money.

Still it is one of the better ones in terms of food quality.

if you are it is worth a visit, but not a must.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caesarea, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“It is really NOT a must - don't bother to queue”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I asked someone at Makhne Yehuda where I could find a coffee shop in the market, and was sent to Cafe Mizrakhi.
Luckily (or so I thought) I found a table to sit outside, only to find when I sat down, a butcher shop across the alley - exactly 3 meters away - with huge chunks or raw meat in a glass display.
Very authentic, but hardly an attractive sight...
I asked the friendly waitress if they have "coffee and pastry" - which is offered at a special price in most Israeli cafes, and the answer was no - apparently they have enough clientele without offering anything special.
So I ordered a "shakshuka" - eggs cooked in tomato sauce and an orange juice.
To my surprise the orange juice was NOT freshly squeezed, but came from a bottle - and we were in the middle of a fresh food market for god's sake!
The shakshuka was a great disappointment - the vegetables hardly cooked and the eggs were too runny. When the friendly waitress came to ask if all was fine, I replied that I was willing to go into the kitchen and teach the chef how to cook a proper shakshuka.
Pros:
Authentic "shuk" experience, with some locals who stop by to drink coffee.
Friendly service
Quiet location
Cons:
All the rest...

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Consistently high quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I am in Jerusalem twice a year for business and want to try out new places. But I keep on coming back again and again to this place. First, everything is home cooked and tastes like it. Second, the breads! Always hearty and fresh. True creativity with soup, even adventurousness. I've eaten here maybe five times. It doesn't disappoint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious and creative in Machne Yehuda”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a regular stop for us in Machne Tehuda market. We usually stop for breakfast, where they have a great variety of quality dishes like omelettes, gravlax salmon and more, all with a creative touch and the freshest ingredients. Great salads as well, wonderful bakes and also delicious pastas and entrees, all in the same creative and fresh line. Only good words on this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Mizrakhi also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Cafe Mizrakhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Mizrakhi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.