We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful (Kosher) seafood along side typical Jerusalem/Israeli cousine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gabriela

Gabriela
5 Shimon Ben Shatah Street, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town West Jerusalem)
02-6246261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 474 Restaurants in Jerusalem
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delightful (Kosher) seafood along side typical Jerusalem/Israeli cousine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Gabriela is located in the heart of the old Nachlat-Shiva district - all full with restaurants, caffe's and beautiful art galleries. The restaurant itself provides comfortable seating with old-type decor. We had tried several of the fish dishes - and they were all excellent and original - combining basic good cooking of fish, with Israeli/Jerusalem style inspired dressings and tops. Wine selection was somewhat limited but still a good match to selection of dishes. Main courses were large and rich.
Overall - a very good experience

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    12
    6
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beit Shemesh, Israel
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, lousy attitude”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

I made a reservation for a small group at Gabriela with a fixed price dinner. At the last minute, two members of our party cancelled and I explained this to our waitress as soon as we arrived. We had our meal, which consisted of a selection of first courses shared by everyone, and then individual main courses. The food was tasty and the setting pleasant. However, I was shocked when the bill arrived to discover that I had been charged for two meals that were never served. When I complained, the manger argued with me, stating that I had made reservations for more people. After a great deal of unpleasantness, he removed the extra main courses from the bill, but insisted that we had been served first courses for a larger party, and needed to pay for them. He then added that the tip which we had left was insufficient!
This was one of the most unpleasant experiences I have ever had in a restaurant. I should add that I have had the experience of members of a group not showing up at the last minute in the past, and the restaurant has always responded by simply removing the extra place settings.
The manger might have made an extra 300 shekels, but he lost a lot of future business with his unpleasant attitude.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Clean restaurant, efficient service, was there several times for breakfast, nothing special, however.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“an exceptional dairy retauranin Jerusalem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

This is an exceptional restaurant. It has some unusual items on the menu, such as
Spinach pancakes, figs stuffed with goat's cheese in red wine sauce.
There is an interesting fish menu including Buri and trout--prepared beautifully
Additionally--pizza,pastas and good sandwiches..
Wonderful home-baked pitta bread.
This restaurant is located a short distance away from the light rail{city hall station)
This restaurant is open from 8.00 A.M. until 1.00 A.M.
The service is exceptional.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not Pleasant or Enjoyable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My family and I had a late night light dinner at Gabriella. The food wasn't bad but the server was overly aggressive and kept pushing more expensive options. We ordered a bottle of medium priced Israely wine and she tried to push us toward a wine nearly twice the price. My son ordered a dish and she told him that it was not enough foodd and he should order something else. To be fair, the food was fine and the atmosphere decent. We ate outside and it should have been a pleasant meal. It is not fun being harassed by the wait staff.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabriela also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Gabriela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabriela, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.