We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier

Cavalier
1 Ben-Sira St. | Center of Jerusalem, Mamilla, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town West Jerusalem)
02-6242945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 474 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Paris
1 review
“A great place !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I am used to go to gastronomic restaurants in Paris, my city and I have to say Cavalier in Jerusalem is a place I have to go when I go to Israel. It is one of my favorite restaurants not only in Israel, but in the world !
A gastronomic cuisine, with really good products, always perfectly cooked, with a great service. The waitresses are good looking and very professional. The decoration is a mixture between French and Israelian touch.
A really cosy and charming atmosphere. Good music, good wines, good food, don't look for another place, just book a table !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Delicious food reasonable to expensive prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very good food, nice wine list.
Highly recommended for any occasion.
Service a bit formal but very friendly, enjoyable interior.
Menus on different languages, including French, English and Hebrew.
Excellent choice for dinner or lunch.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of Jerusalem's best restaurant, if not the best.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Cavalier has a varied and sophisticated menu. Everything we ordered was great. Service is professional but casual. The restaurant is on a quiet side street but in the center of the city, near the major hotels.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloret de Mar, Spain
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Do not match the pretensions.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

center located confortable restaurant,the service two young ladies(maybe students?),a very pleasant dinning room,nice and romantic atmosphere,this is an expensive restaurant and i expected a little bit more,paper tissue(impossible at those prices),the glass of ordered wine was bought to the table already in the glass!!!!!!,i ordered from the very short menu the shrimps(after ten minutes the waitress came to tell me that this plate was sold-out,after dinner i ordered coffee and a frozen jagermiester,i had to tell her twice,they came too tell me that it was not cold so i ordered on the rocks,but then she come to tell me it was sold-out.I had a nice dinner but this place well run could be much better......or bring down the prices.greetings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Far above your routine food in Jerusalem, Cavalier combines great food with excellent service. The wine list is very good and the waiters are knowledgeable. The atmosphere is comfortable; casual clothes are acceptable and adds to the relaxed setting for fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalier also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.