We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier

Cavalier
1 Ben-Sira St. | Center of Jerusalem, Mamilla, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town West Jerusalem)
02-6242945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 480 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Far above your routine food in Jerusalem, Cavalier combines great food with excellent service. The wine list is very good and the waiters are knowledgeable. The atmosphere is comfortable; casual clothes are acceptable and adds to the relaxed setting for fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    27
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great atmosphere, wonderful food and the service was very good. There really wasn't anything we didn't like.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of the best in Israel and for sure the best in Jerusalem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was born and raised in Jerusalem and just to be clear, I don't any kind of connection what so ever to the Restaurant or the owner of it.

This peace of heaven was established almost 20 years ago and survived all the hard years the we had in Jerusalem in the past two decades. In those 20 years the restaurant kept a very high standart of classic french cuisine, from the kind that you just can't find in our area.

The service is the best you can find and the atmosphere is also fantastic - very romantic.

I ate in probably 80% of the elite restaurants in Israel and the dishes in Cavalier is the best I had.

You should know and prepare to preety high prices - for a full menu, including wine and tip, you will pay something like 300 nis per person (80$), but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High class and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We picked CAVALIER for a family celebration, and enjoyed an excellent dinner. The atmosphere and setting was very pleasant, good professional service and flawless layout - and the food delicous! Could have been even better if the servings were larger...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Exclusive cuisine, very good athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very tasty food. Sea food, fish and meat menu. Comprehensive wine list. Very good service. We enjoyed every bit of our visit there. The prices are a bit higher than similar places in Israel, but worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalier also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavalier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.