We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cavalier

Cavalier
1 Ben-Sira St. | Center of Jerusalem, Mamilla, Jerusalem, Israel (Down Town West Jerusalem)
02-6242945
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 590 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Down Town West Jerusalem
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fine Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Far above your routine food in Jerusalem, Cavalier combines great food with excellent service. The wine list is very good and the waiters are knowledgeable. The atmosphere is comfortable; casual clothes are acceptable and adds to the relaxed setting for fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Great atmosphere, wonderful food and the service was very good. There really wasn't anything we didn't like.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best in Israel and for sure the best in Jerusalem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I was born and raised in Jerusalem and just to be clear, I don't any kind of connection what so ever to the Restaurant or the owner of it.

This peace of heaven was established almost 20 years ago and survived all the hard years the we had in Jerusalem in the past two decades. In those 20 years the restaurant kept a very high standart of classic french cuisine, from the kind that you just can't find in our area.

The service is the best you can find and the atmosphere is also fantastic - very romantic.

I ate in probably 80% of the elite restaurants in Israel and the dishes in Cavalier is the best I had.

You should know and prepare to preety high prices - for a full menu, including wine and tip, you will pay something like 300 nis per person (80$), but it's worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alon_Shvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“High class and enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We picked CAVALIER for a family celebration, and enjoyed an excellent dinner. The atmosphere and setting was very pleasant, good professional service and flawless layout - and the food delicous! Could have been even better if the servings were larger...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YE-ISR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exclusive cuisine, very good athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Very tasty food. Sea food, fish and meat menu. Comprehensive wine list. Very good service. We enjoyed every bit of our visit there. The prices are a bit higher than similar places in Israel, but worth every penny.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vejavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cavalier also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Cavalier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing