We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jerusalem at Your Feet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Gate Hostel Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Gate Hostel Inn
Save
You added Golden Gate Hostel Inn to your Saves list
10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel (Christian Quarter)   |  
Hotel amenities
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Jerusalem at Your Feet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hostel is strategically located inside the old city walls, not far from the Damascus Gate. From here it is possible to visit anywhere within walking distance. The staff is very friendly and welcoming, if needed they let you drop your things if it is too early to check in and you like to have an early start excursion in the city. Free wireless, free caffe and tee in the lobby lounge anytime, TV and AC in all rooms. Nice budget accommodation, if you are not looking for extravagances and are looking for a place where to crash after browsing around Jerusalem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    15
    7
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
10
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
durban,za
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

our stay in golden gate was very comfortable. the location was ideal for us as we visited aqsa mosque 5 times a day to pray. shops were at the door step (clothes, fresh meats, sweetmeats,supermarkets,fresh fruit and veg etc).
the manager abu abdullah is a great person. he allowed us full use of the kitchen and accomponied me to do a few purchases.
the rooms are basic and the breakfast as well.
value for money for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, uk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed in dorm room for 4 nights & loved it. Firstly location is fantastic. Right in middle of all the hustle bustle of old city. Max 10 min walk to the Aqsa Mosque. The staff were extremely welcoming & helped me a lot during my stay. Breakfast was plentiful. Free wifi in reception area where there's comfortable seating. It was nice to relax there in the evenings & make some new friends. Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ACT-Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

we stayed in a private room. The room was good & clean. Staff were very helpful. WiFi was also.available for free and had a good connection. Location is absolutely great here! I've never stayed in a backpacker or hostel before but I wasn't so.bad afterall.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We booked the Golden Gate Hostel through booking.com and had the confirmation. However when we arrived on Nov. 9 the clerk told us there was no reservation in their record. The funny part was in our confirmation sheet it showed the Golden Gate Hostel Inn however the phone was Petra Hostel's. Before we reached the Golden Gate the cab driver called the number to find direction. The other side answered Petra Hostel. The driver was puzzled and gave me the phone. The man in the phone told me Golden Gate and Petra are same. I thought it was one hotel with two names. While in Golden Gate the clerk also pointed out the phone # was Petra so our reservation was at Petra which was another sever or eight hundred yards away. It ended up we stayed at the Petra assuming it was our booking. But after settling down we started putting puzzle together and thought it was not right to have Golden Gate's reservation and ended up at Petra. So I emailed to booking.com and got no answer. The following day I called booking.com from Israel. A lady named Ashley answered the phone. She listened to our report then called the Golden Gate. She told us the Golden Gate said we were offered to check the room, didn't like the room and cancelled the reservation. It was a shock to us. Could we get off the hook so easily without paying cancellation penalty? Ashley simply took Golden Gate's words and told us nothing she could do. My hunch was Golden Gate and Pentra ganged up to suck booking.com. Clearly, booking.com didn't get the commission from this booking from either one. Just be aware if you book a reservation to Golden Gate you might end up at the Petra or vice versa. And don't expect booking.com to back you up.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferrara, Italy
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed for one week in a room for 8 people and we found it very confortable and notably clean. There is a water boiler near the reception that you can use anytime you want to prepare tea or coffee. Kitchen available. The better thing is the location, deep inside the Old City (arab quartier) and very close to the Damascus Gate. Good breakfast with bread, hummus, vegetbles, yogurt, jam, fruits and other stuff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stay 5 nights. Good location in old city, budget stay with whatever you need. you could find resturants nearby easy. The triple room is good, great hot water shower and aircondition. but facilities in my friend's double room is poor. Aircondition not work.owner finally change an other room for them

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Gate Hostel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Gate Hostel Inn

Address: 10 Soug Khan al-Zeit | 52 Beit HaBad street, Jerusalem, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Christian Quarter
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Number of rooms: 13

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Gate Hostel Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.