We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very simple, but very good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baba Israeli Kitchen - CLOSED

Baba Israeli Kitchen
31 Emek-Refaim Street, Jerusalem, Israel
9443079-057
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Israeli
Restaurant details
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“very simple, but very good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Hummus, and mor hummus...
Every time we want to eat, simple and tasteful we go to Baba. Fresh and soft made on place hummus with meat makes it very simple to choose again and again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    7
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa Bay
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch in German Colony/Emek Refaim”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I were wandering behind the King David, saw Herods tomb, the "new" windmill and decided to wander onto Emek to see what looked good. We kind of stumbled upon Baba. It's really more of a Hummus restaurant for lunch anyways; casual, equal in ambiance to a local pizza joint in the USA. I ordered the Hummus with Lamb, my wife was dying for a felafel so she got hummus with felafel on the side; not quite enough to satisfy her craving to get a pita full, with "salatim" but delicious nonetheless. Israeli lunches can be quite filling as many places still close midday and re-open at 4 or so....just right not too much and sure way more than not enough!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Far below average, lacks taste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

I had heard about this restaurant so tried it...In Jerusalem, where there is so much quality hummus, it is a tough task to match the best. Here at Baba, it was the only course that was "ok". In contrast the falafel was tasteless and totally unacceptable; it had an odd odor (cooking oil is not something one takes a chance with). The sliced entricote was bland and lifeless, without pizazz, and the presentation less than appetizing (large grilled onion on a huge plate of fucacia). Worse of all, was the heavy feeling after the meal, something which generally is rare amongst the best Middle Eastern eateries. The blaring rock music didn't help my digestion either..... For the seasoned Israeli, I would say--try the hummus if you are hungry. For the tourist, I would avoid this establishment, and search for others....Better to find one of the many family style establishments in the Talpiot Industrial Zone (nearby).

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best hummus and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

Loved the veggie foccacia with tahini and grilled eggplant. My carnivore husband digged into the hummus with grilled pargiot(chicken). Reasonable prices and friendly staff. Book or chance an hour wait.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal, close to Old Jerusalem, nice casual outside or inside dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was recommended by our hotel - we wanted authentic Israeli - and it was so wonderful. We sat outside and enjoyed watching couples and families walk by as we ate. Will go again if we can.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba Israeli Kitchen also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baba Israeli Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.