We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vibrant atmosphere,great hospitality plus innovative food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Machneyuda

Machneyuda
10 Beit Ya'akov St., Jerusalem 94323, Israel
+972(0)25333442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 468 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Vibrant atmosphere,great hospitality plus innovative food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Machneyuda is situated at a side road next to the Mahane-Yehudah market. Innovative cuisine and obviously fresh from the nearby market. Complimentary flavorful mushroom ragout polenta dip that came in a jar, stewed beef with rice (called Perisian style stew with lots of tasty stuff) and black ink linguine with spinach and seafood like mussels and salmon which hit all the right notes. Split level sitting with open kitchen. Even the check came in a golden handbag ~ cute. You won't believe it but we saw a bottle of Chinese potent liquor at the bar counter... Very bohemian style. Our service bar staff was fantastic and kept checking in on us without being intruding. Pretty crowded and need to make a reservation for dinner. They are open until 5pm for lunch and will close until 630pm when it will open again for dinner service. Would have love to have better quality bread like warm toasty bread slices compared to what we received in a brown paper bag.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    100
    45
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“On the way of becoming a tourist trap?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This is a place I often take my guests to. Food is good, and it is located in the middle of Machne Yehuda market, which gives the place an authentic charm. It is aplace most people admire on their first visit. However, when you go there more than once the experience can be tedious.

The claim to fame of the place is the friendly service, the waiters dring with the customers, sit at their tables and try to make it ab oriental "Hafla". It is nice, but when you see it done over and over again, you see the the authentic busts of singing and dancing are not that authentic after all.
As a result, the place does not many regular customers, but it is rather based on first-time visitors. Mainly tourists from Israel and abroad.

To summarize - definetely go there once, but do not insist on repeat visits...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“mixed results but fun place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My wife and I ate at this restaurant a few days ago. It was great fun and we were up at the balcony overlooking the restaurant and teh kitchen area. Even though the music was a bit loud for us, it did grow on us and really seemed to be enjoyed by most of the people in the restaurant and the staff who were dancing and sining as they waited on customers. The only reason that I gave the restaurant an average was because of a couple of things. 1. I had to send my chicken back twice because it was not cooked. I will say that the staff really tried hard to make up the difference my offering us a dessert, which we really couldn't eat, but they brought it anyway. And it was good. 2. My wife's concern was that the risotto that she had was too salty and a little too watery. I thight it was ok. I would go back to this restaurant and give them another try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We had to try this place after seeing it recommended in two different magazines and the New York Times. For starters we ordered polenta with asparagus and the tahini with ground meat and yoghurt. Before our order came, the server came with a "gift" from the chef - a plate of carpaccio. All three dishes were delicious. Next we shared the endive salad and the Turkish stew. These dishes were also wonderful. The portions were quite generous, so we were sorry to be too full for dessert. They also treated us to a shot of one of their special drinks of grapefruit juice and arak.
We found the staff to be very attentive. We got very good advice on wine, and were asked several times if we liked everything or needed anything.
We spent about $100 US. I don't believe we could get a meal of similar quality for that much in the states.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“quite an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

a very colorful market. Don't miss Azoura restaurant and the Chalva stand. Very amusing, retaurants, coffee houses, all kinds of goods. Use the metro to get there.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machneyuda also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Machneyuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Machneyuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.