We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Imagine. Indulge. Inspire.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Machneyuda

Machneyuda
10 Beit Ya'akov St., Jerusalem 94323, Israel
+972(0)25333442
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 514 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Fusion, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Imagine. Indulge. Inspire.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First Impressions: Who requires a restaurant reservation weeks ahead in Jerusalem? This does. Our tour guide had made a reservation to this trendy restaurant a week before and still we nearly lost our spot. Located a couple of blocks behind its namesake market, the small "hole in the wall" place is nothing but. Everything is cranked up a dizzying, off-the-chart scale: the food, service, price, even the music.

PROS: Helmed by three pedigreed chefs, the restaurant's food is reportedly its forte'. I loved the creamy, truffle-infused polenta with crab, crunchy mushrooms and shredded Parmesan cheese. This was followed by the equally delectable Pile of Seafood, all deliciously tender and not a bit overcooked. (Overcooked squid becomes chewy, but not here.) The sensory experience was climaxed by the rich Chocolate Poison -- chocolate brownies, chocolate mousse, chocolate ice cream and topped with chocolate fudge -- a chocoholic's drug fix. Ahhh... The food presentation is both creative and showy, like the ones we normally associate with gourmet dining. Each dish is an excellent fusion of colours, aromas, textures and flavours.

CONS: Not exactly for the budget-conscious diner. Ranging from £16 for the roasted chicken to £30 for the filet mignon steak, the gourmet dining experience is thus reflected in the Hollywood celebrity-level pricing (read: very expensive). Moreover, do not expect a quiet, laid-back, low-key meal. The ear-splitting, 120-decibel house music, operatic waiters and pot-drumming chefs all contribute to a deafening good vibe and exuberant dining atmosphere. Our group could barely hear each other. (Here, the management is unapologetic. This take-it-or-leave-it attitude may be misconstrued as being pretentious, as in trying to be like a Tel Aviv hotspot, but I don't think so.) Lastly, the restaurant is closed on Shabbat.

Verdict: If you could get past all this noisy din and stratospheric prices, it's actually a nice place to try. Reserve at least two weeks in advance, maybe asking for the Chef's Tasting Table. May not be the best in Jerusalem, but no doubt in the top three. Recommended. Grade A-minus.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    465
    119
    57
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Noisy vibe, great food with price to match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our tour guide had made a reservation to this trendy restaurant a week before and still we nearly lost our spot. Located a couple of blocks behind its namesake market, the small "hole in the wall" place is nothing but. Everything is cranked up a dizzying, off-the-chart scale: the food, service, price, even the music. I loved the creamy, truffle-infused polenta with crab, crunchy mushrooms and shredded Parmesan cheese. This was followed by the equally delectable Pile of Seafood, all deliciously tender and not overcooked. The food experience was climaxed by the rich Chocolate Poison -- chocolate brownies, chocolate mousse, chocolate ice cream and topped with chocolate fudge -- a chocoholic's drug fix. Ahhh... The food presentation is creative and showy. Ranging from £16 for the roasted chicken to £30 for the filet mignon steak, the gourmet dining experience is thus reflected in the Hollywood celebrity-level pricing (read: very expensive). Lastly, do not expect a quiet, laid-back, low-key meal. The ear-splitting, 120-decibel house music, operatic waiters and pot-drumming chefs all contribute to a deafening good vibe and exuberant dining atmosphere. Our group could barely hear each other. If you could get past all this noisy din and the stratospheric prices, it's actually a nice place to try. May not be the best in Jerusalem, but no doubt in the top three. (Still, negatives aside, this place is better than one particularly-exclusive, reservations-only, private restaurant in the Jerusalem district.)

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

I am a self-confessed food snob. The food was creative and well-presented. The service was solicitious and engaged. It's trendy and it's loud, but it was a great way to end our 2 week trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Very cool menu and decor, highly trendy restaurant with a creative menu and great service, but not for traditional types. Slightly disappointed that, although I specifically asked for a table when booking, I was seated at the bar.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful eating experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We were lucky enough to sit at the counter were we could watch the chief chef and the other chefs cook. The food was fabulous, fresh, seasoned perfectly and interesting. It was fascinating to watch how the main chef did a great deal of the preparation of dishes and watched out over all the other dishes that went out. The wait staff was terrific and very attentive. There was a very festive atmosphere in the whole place. Music was also great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Machneyuda also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Machneyuda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Machneyuda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.