We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Abraham Hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abraham Hostel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   67 Hanevi'im Street | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
pasadena ca
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Abraham Hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 5 nights as we were taking tours
throughout Israel. The hostel was very clean and friendly, and
we enjoyed meeting different people as we were cooking our
food in the communal kitchen.
Some rooms facing the street where you enter can be noisy, but
tolerable if you ran the heater. There is a store downstairs that is
open 24 hours, and a delicious bakery around the corner, that had
great chocolate croissants.
We tried the pizza offered by the bar in the hostel and it was very good,
and all the pictures we saw online were accurate and true, as to how the
hostel looked.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the entrance to the hostel are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    348
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
133
217
403
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I stayed in two rooms during my visit to this hotel. I felt the first room was a little bit scruffy but the second was better.

PROS:
Pretty nice staff and the tours were interesting, informative, and fun. I did the West Bank tour with them and it was a lot of fun and very informative about life on the West Bank.
Great common area and bar to meet fellow travellers in.
Hot showers and clean WC's.
Right in front of a light rail station/line which goes to old city and to central bus station.
Accepts AMEX.
Free luggage storage.
Smoke free.

CONS:
I stayed in two rooms. The first was a little run down IMHO but the second was better.
The laundry made my clothes smell funny, not sure if it was the machine or the detergent.
Don't have high expectations of the breakfast...very basic.

Overall, a great place to stay in Jerusalem. I would stay there again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Great place. Clean, comfortable beds. Helpful staff that can book trips around the area. Good mix of travelers. Fun bar to hang out. Laundry facilities. It's not the cheapest option, but it's worth it.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Fantastic hostel, the owners have taken everything that a hostel should be a built what has to be the best hostel in the middle east, and up there for the rest of the world. Clean, spacious dorms, lockers, comfy beds and super clean bathrooms, with other overflow bathrooms outside. The common room is the biggest and best I've ever seen, plenty of tables, chairs, sofas, those swingy chair/hammock things, pool table and usually some sort of entertainment each night. Laundry is good value, as is the plentiful breakfast and the fast, uninterrupted wifi everywhere. A well stocked kitchen and happening bar seal the deal. All staff are friendly and helpful, and there's a tour desk too. The location is good, easy to get the old city by tram/bus, and within a happening area close to the market with plenty of shops around.

Only minor gripes is a fair bit of street noise coming in from the bus stop right outside, and those timers for the hot water need some time to vamp up. Otherwise, all thumbs up!

Room Tip: Maybe on the other side of the hostel from the street, although these are mostly private rooms. 8-be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I am a university student from Los Angeles, am in my mid-20's, and was visiting Jerusalem for the weekend (not my first time). I am a city girl who enjoys comfort and convenience, this was the perfect place for me! The hostel is very easy to access! Jerusalem central bus station is a 10 min. walk away (just straight up Jaffa Street, very safe and well-lit street). I was coming from Tel Aviv (480 bus) and the trip was easy and fast! The hostel has a very friendly vibe, bright coloured walls, friendly, helpful and knowledgeable staff who volunteer and live there (I have a couple friends who volunteer there too). I was in a private room ("Private C"), room 226. It was super clean, quiet, SPACIOUS (compared to many hotels in Jerusalem), had heating that warmed the room very quickly, there was hot water in the shower after you put the timer to 20 mins, clean and comfortable bedding, high speed wireless internet, a mini fridge with freezer, a nice sunny window with a view of the square... basically it could not have been more perfect and comfortable, especially for the price. Breakfast is included and is simple, yet tasty. There are many activities going on through the hostel, take advantage! They cook shabbat dinner together every Friday night (35 ILS per person), there are also free walking tours of Jerusalem, which I did not have time for, but I am coming back next weekend so I'm gonna do it! :) I will always stay here when I visit Jerusalem, even when my husband and I travel together.

Room Tip: Room 226 is great! Corner room with only one shared wall, also faces the quiet side of the street. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had heard a lot about this place. But i guess this is just another new-age hipster-ish hostel. Considering the good location in Jerusalem, it makes for good value for money. But i would anyday recommend staying near the old city, probably towards the damascus gate side. everything is half price on the palestinian side.

The new wing we were put in was recently operational and quite shoddy. No lockers and the bathrooms on our floor went leaking on one day.

Overall- decent stuff, but you can find some amazing stuff if u look closer in city.

Room Tip: stick to the older wing. the newer wing were rly not fully up and running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron33, Manager at Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear friend. I am glad you've enjoyed from our location and think we provide good value for money.
In the first few days of operation there were some technical problems but they were solved long ago. I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you. The new room area is ready by now including personal new lockers in all rooms (under the bed) and bright view to the square from your dorm bed.

We believe that the service, facilities and location of Abraham Hostel is the best in the city, and I invite you to compare it to other hostels near the old city as mentioned. We might be a bit more expensive (depending on the room type) but most travelers believe they get much more for it.
All the best from Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in this hostel with friends for 3 nights in the middle of the snowstorm in Jeru.
As i read the reviews before i knew that this is going to be a great place to stay and i did not disappoint.
The rooms and common areas are clean, the breakfast was more than enough. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The tours - however we could participate only on 1 tour - are well-organized and interesing.
Location of the hostel is very good, close to the Manahe Yehuda market, walking distance to the Old City and to the Central Bus Station too, but the light train has a stop in front of the building.
I would recommend this hostel to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Hanevi'im Street | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East walking from Iraq, to Syria, Jordan and Israel. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Bible hospitality to our time. The staff & owners of Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, created our dream hostel to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahne Yehuda Market. There is plenty of public transportation options right outside taking to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offer daily activities and tours in the ongoing effort of travelers making new friends and new experiences. Weather it's our hostel bar, Traveler's information center or chillout rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.