We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hipster stuff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Abraham Hostel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   67 Hanevi'im Street | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“average hipster stuff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Had heard a lot about this place. But i guess this is just another new-age hipster-ish hostel. Considering the good location in Jerusalem, it makes for good value for money. But i would anyday recommend staying near the old city, probably towards the damascus gate side. everything is half price on the palestinian side.

The new wing we were put in was recently operational and quite shoddy. No lockers and the bathrooms on our floor went leaking on one day.

Overall- decent stuff, but you can find some amazing stuff if u look closer in city.

Room Tip: stick to the older wing. the newer wing were rly not fully up and running.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron33, Manager at Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear friend. I am glad you've enjoyed from our location and think we provide good value for money.
In the first few days of operation there were some technical problems but they were solved long ago. I apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you. The new room area is ready by now including personal new lockers in all rooms (under the bed) and bright view to the square from your dorm bed.

We believe that the service, facilities and location of Abraham Hostel is the best in the city, and I invite you to compare it to other hostels near the old city as mentioned. We might be a bit more expensive (depending on the room type) but most travelers believe they get much more for it.
All the best from Jerusalem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    707
    348
    86
    22
    12
See reviews for
133
217
403
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed in this hostel with friends for 3 nights in the middle of the snowstorm in Jeru.
As i read the reviews before i knew that this is going to be a great place to stay and i did not disappoint.
The rooms and common areas are clean, the breakfast was more than enough. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The tours - however we could participate only on 1 tour - are well-organized and interesing.
Location of the hostel is very good, close to the Manahe Yehuda market, walking distance to the Old City and to the Central Bus Station too, but the light train has a stop in front of the building.
I would recommend this hostel to everybody.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here for several days in January, and had a great time. The best things about the hostel is that there is someone there every day organizing reasonably priced day trips /tours. A lot of the guests went on the tours, and were happy to tell you about their experiences as well, so you could get a good idea as to whether you would like it before you signed up. The common area is huge and comfortable, with a full bar, space for reading and places to cook and eat. Since this is a large hostel, there was a diverse mix of people. The staff was helpful, and my room was basic but clean. Would definately recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was my second stay at the Abraham Hostel, so I knew full well that I would be getting great service. Never had a problem with any of the staff or volunteers, and in fact made many friends there. As I told management when I was there...I can't think of anything to complain about. There's a reason I don't mind being a return customer, and plan on staying there for any further trips to Israel. The only thing to be warned about (and this is not the hostel's fault) is that when it rains, the exterior ramp and steps get very slippery, very fast but this is a problem all over Jerusalem. So if you're like me and have some medical issues, just take it slow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for 10 days and loved it. Great in house events like community dinners, open mic nights and a reasonably priced bar. We loved it.

The staff are friendly, efficient and know their stuff. I had to change our booking 4 times and they were always courteous and made the changes without fuss.

Breakfast is consists of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, toast and salad. Fresh, plentiful and reliable.

The price is very reasonable - we had a private room - and the heating was good and beds of a good standard for a hostel.

An excellent location - only 10 minutes walk from the Jaffa gate.

Great place to stay. Best hostel we have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niawier, Friesland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Very relaxed atmosphere, very friendly staff, helpful with everything. Rooms are ok, especially if you just want to sleep. Location is very good, near Mechane Yehude market. Breakfast is fine.
Abraham is recommendable!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Probably the best hostel in Israel! Excellent atmosphere, clean rooms with heaters, good showers, many tours, events, opportunity to meet many people. That is all I have to say. I was surprised about the quality of the hostel, considering the average quality of the hostels in Israel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abraham Hostel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abraham Hostel Jerusalem

Address: 67 Hanevi'im Street | Davidka Square, Jerusalem 9470211, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abraham Hostel Jerusalem 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abraham is known as the father of monotheism and was the first backpacker in the Middle East walking from Iraq, to Syria, Jordan and Israel. He journeyed throughout the lands accepting hospitality from those whose homes he came to, and extending hospitality to anyone who passed near his tent. We wish to extend Abraham's Bible hospitality to our time. The staff & owners of Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, created our dream hostel to support travelers in the Middle East. The Abraham Hostel is located in Jerusalem's city center catering for independent travelers and small groups. Our location allows easy walking access to all major sites such as the Old City or Mahne Yehuda Market. There is plenty of public transportation options right outside taking to various Jerusalem sites, as well as to the international airport and other cities in Israel and the West Bank. The hostel offer daily activities and tours in the ongoing effort of travelers making new friends and new experiences. Weather it's our hostel bar, Traveler's information center or chillout rooftop, we try to provide everything an independent traveler needs when travelling in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Abraham Hostel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abraham Hostel Jerusalem Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abraham Hostel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.