We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony

The Colony
7th beit lehem road, Jerusalem (0)26729955, Israel
026729955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 461 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: attention - this is not the american colony hotel restaurant! a different place.
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Nice dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've been here a few times and are always happy with the place. Carpaccio is lovely and then there's ample choice and also catch of the day is always good. We always have the wonderful tahini ice cream for pudding. Nice atmosphere and good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    73
    44
    19
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great restaurant during Sabbath”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed at Tamar Residences and the resturante recomended to us by the front desk. It was Sabbath evening (almost no restaurants open in Jerusalem) but we got 2 seat on the bar.We had a great meal and great service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Impressive local wines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Colony is a modern, easy living and relaxed restaurant with great food and an impressive wine list.

It's non-kosher (you CAN get cheese in your burger) and open on friday and saturday nights as well.

My wife had "the best steak I've had for a long time" of their entrecôte and an above average burger (was there twice)

I had a magnificent beef stew (and plenty of it) and lamb kebabs which were well seasoned and very juicy.

Their selection of Israeli "boutique" wines is very good (I'll recommend the Pelter Trio as a bargain to anyone).
The waitors were polite and answered the questions we had without pressing anything.

I love this restaurant and would recommend it to anyone!
It's a bit difficult to find - but it's well worth it!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointement”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The service was sluggish, we had to remind the waiter three times about our request.
The food was less than average and served cold, the fish of the day was not even from yesterday.
The toilette was dirty, the place was noisy and unpleasent.
We had to apologies before our guest that came from abroad.
We will not go there again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
“very nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

very good dish of fish and chips, routs vegetables salad not bad also
took some beer with dishes but impresed alot from the waiter knowledge about wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colony also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.