We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food, pity about the bathrooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony

The Colony
7th beit lehem road, Jerusalem (0)26729955, Israel
026729955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 481 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: attention - this is not the american colony hotel restaurant! a different place.
Tel Aiv, Israel
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice food, pity about the bathrooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Visiting Jerusalem from Tel Aviv during the Passover holidays we booked for lunch at The Colony. Access and parking were surprisingly easy and the restaurant far from full. The staff were attentive but not pushy and our meal very good. By Israeli standards (it's expensive to eat out here) it was good value: we started with a shared carpaccio and followed with a very tasty lamb kebab and a lamb dish with root vegetables.

What really lets the place down are the bathroom facilities. I can't even say that they're not clean because the decor there makes it hard to tell. Maybe that's the rationale - gleaming white surfaces show the dirt, so let's go for dark grey and black, with grungy black lines on the floor and then noone will ever know! Actually, yes, they were a bit grubby. And the icing on the cake was the reaction of the staff when I commented on this, the sort of comment that I thought we were getting away from with the growing recognition in Israel of what makes for good customer relations: "Well, noone's ever complained before." Of course, no need to keep the place clean as long as noone complains. Could be that like me they notice and just don't come back again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    50
    23
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“They have improved - must be a new chef”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

A little overpriced. After a long break we decided to try again - marked improvement in the service and food

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertzelia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Professional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

had a great time at the middle of the day. professional service very recommended.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Shabbat and you don't want to cook? Colony is your answer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Our family of five enjoyed an early dinner here last shabbat (Saturday afternoon). Here in Jerusalem nearly all dining establishments are closed on Shabbat (Friday eve to Sat night) so finding a place to eat out can be a real adventure. Add to the challenge finding a place that caters to (picky eater) kids and you might find yourself never dining out on Saturday in Jerusalem. Colony comes to the rescue! Fantastic food, very generous portions, great options for young kids as well. Wonderful atmosphere, courteous & responsive servers, reasonable value all made for a really pleasurable dinner. One additional remark, do try the berry Mojito. I have beeb sampling mixed drinks throughout the world on our travels this year and have been resoundingly disappointed by Mojitos in many countries. While I can't speak for all of Israel yet, I can say the berry Mojito at Colony was downright delicious and deserving of high ranks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
“If Bono chose the place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked a place after recommendations of the guy from the hotel (david citadel)
and were surprise to see Bono from "u2" there (cool!)
However, lunch was great , the place was full and felt a little while crowded
but service was still good. we took the liver dish and the Salmon fish and schnitzel + french fries for the kids. the dish I like the most- chocolate and coffee mousse!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colony also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.