We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Bono chose the place...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony

The Colony
7th beit lehem road, Jerusalem (0)26729955, Israel
026729955
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 474 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Israeli, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: attention - this is not the american colony hotel restaurant! a different place.
paris
1 review
“If Bono chose the place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked a place after recommendations of the guy from the hotel (david citadel)
and were surprise to see Bono from "u2" there (cool!)
However, lunch was great , the place was full and felt a little while crowded
but service was still good. we took the liver dish and the Salmon fish and schnitzel + french fries for the kids. the dish I like the most- chocolate and coffee mousse!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    50
    22
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The Colony has a warm, inviting atmosphere. We celebrated a special occasion with friends, and found that the restaurant suited the special nature of our meal. The fish was excellent and the service was attentive. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
“beautiful restaurant very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

There is no doubt that restaurant expirence is mostly about the food
the Colony restaurany gives us more then that they supply us fashion music and
respected costumers and even some famouses people
I personly like their beef carpaccio and entricote

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The jury's still out...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

We visited as a part of a 20-strong group with a pre-ordered menu and the service was emmm...inconsistent. The starters were supposed to be flowing with no restrictions to the table, but in reality there were large intervals and people spent quite a lot of time staring at empty plates.... It took the staff quite a while to get everybody's drinks in order. The main courses came out all right, if with a bit of a delay. Maybe they are not adequate to deal with groups?

Overall the food was not bad, the design funky and cool, the athmosphere ok...

Gave it 4 points just because I hope to return as a couple to give them a second chance:)

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not nearly as good as Adom”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Great atmosphere at Colony, but menu is lacking compared to sister restaurant Adom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Colony also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Colony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.