We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, not Kosher, restaurant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavan bacinematek

Lavan bacinematek
11th Hebron Road, Jerusalem, Israel
02-6737393
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 474 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Italian, Café
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, not Kosher, restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

yam soup was great, and so was the schnitezel and the salmon steak.
Nice surroundings. Service was very good. A bit pricy, but worth it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Scenic panprama and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The lavan restaurant is at the Cinematek's building, facing Jerusalem's walls. The scene is breathtaking and the food is very tasty and affordable.
For a start we ordered Ceasar salad with chicken breast and got some tasty bread and garlicked-butter (dieting people beware). Then we ordered the Veal fillet and Wild mushroom risotto. They were very good. This restaurant is owned by the sane people as the Adom restaurant so if you are in the city you might go there. Enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful Saturday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If I had to recommend one restaurant in Jerusalem to tourists, this would be it, based mainly on the location and comfort factor. There seems to be something on the menu to please everyone- plenty of meat dishes, sandwiches, salads and pizza. Quality was above average. This isn’t somewhere that only serves meat or only serves dairy, so the choice is better than most Jerusalem restaurants. Also open on Saturday afternoons.There are lovely views, though how much you can actually see of the old City is very exaggerated as you are at a much lower elevation than I was expecting from other reviews.

Within the cinema building, it’s quite an artsy place. There’s a cosy main area inside (which, for UK visitors, reminded me of Carluccios), then a conservatory area with the popular views (you’d need to book ahead), and a small outside area with a couple of tables and a long bench, which we thought was the best place to sit for a relaxed summer lunch. Lavan is actually quite easy to find- 10 minutes’ walk from the Jaffa Gate. Recommended for ambiance.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food, crowded.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Went twice recently. One time they made us move from our table with a great view to the inside because of a 'private party' that never materialized. Not acceptable. Second time we reserved a table and they gave us a crap table next to the front. Not sure why we bothered to reserve.

Food is good, wines and beer fine. Convenient location for where we like to stay.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, but hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Food was very good, especially the goose drumstick with polenta...mmmmm. Dont go for the kebabs though. Difficult to find, down some stairs and in the theatre basement.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lavan bacinematek also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Lavan bacinematek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavan bacinematek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.