We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful views, good location, very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Colony Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jerusalem
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Colony Suites
Save
You added The Colony Suites to your Saves list
Emek Refaim | German Colony, Jerusalem, Israel   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful views, good location, very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Wonderful penthouse apartment. Good location--walking distance from Emek Refaim, shops, restaurants, close grocery store. Beautiful views of Jerusalem. Parking available, free, in back. Lots of space. Nicely appointed. Plenty of hot water and heat. Our stay was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    9
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, NJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Colony Suited Penthouse unit for eight days in the late November of 2013. To avoid confusion, please note that “Colony Suites” is not a particular single property, but rather a set of different and independently owned apartments, located close to each other in the ‘Ha Moshava Ha Germanit’ (German Colony, Jerusalem.) All of them are located in the vicinity of Emek Refaim Street; the vacation rental properties are operated by the same property manager – Linda. Both, property location and property management are exquisite. The Emek Refaim is perhaps the trendiest street and the most romantic place in the whole of Jerusalem, harmonically combining the conservative Jerusalem atmosphere with the loving Paris-like culture. The street is lined with boutiques and supermarkets; numerous restaurants, cafes and bars, which offer outside sitting. Everything is reachable within 5-10 minute walk; public transportation is also easily accessible and convenient. When dealing with Linda, you’ll get a special attention to your specific needs, which is hard to find in the official hotel atmosphere, combined with a high level of competence of a professional property manager.
The rest of the review is related to the Penthouse apartment we stayed (see attached photo) and maybe not applicable to other Colony Suites units. We traveled within the off-season dates, so the rent was properly adjusted. You can find a hotel suite in Jerusalem, which is comparable by location and comfort to our temporary dwelling; however the price tag would be increased at least 5-fold. The 3-bedroom apartment was recently renovated and equipped with the cutting edge gadgets, equally in upscale electrical and plumbing fixtures, appliances and furniture: everything was clean and well maintained. There is a spectacular bird view from the huge living room window toward Bethlehem. You wouldn’t see the iconic landmarks of the Old City; still, the view is fascinating, offering impressive sunsets over the ancient hills, and plenty of air and the deep blue Jerusalem sky. In addition, there is a free parking in the building’s back yard, which is not common in the city center. The room is not guaranteed, however, the parking for our car was always available. The immediate neighborhood is safe, friendly and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sechelt
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Kerry and Dave below have said it all. Location, convenience, outstanding experience. Linda is amazing and she was there when we arrived so we had no confusion over the address - see wombatdavid below. Do call just before you arrive - it really helps.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We booked 5 lovely apartments with the Colony Suites for extended family visiting Israel for our daughter's wedding. Linda and the owners, David and Leeora were so helpful with all planning, negotiations and the bookings and they gave us a great deal too! They are well organised and very professional. It was a pleasure to deal with them online and in person. The apartments are clean, well appointed and very convenient to all the German Colony has to offer. It was great to have washing machines and kitchens! We were all very happy with our apartments which were very close together. My 85 year old mother loved staying in the Maple. We also enjoyed the Studio, the Segol and the Levant and a family of five were very happy in the Colony. Nothing was too much trouble and I had good communication with Linda throughout our stay. We visited the delightful, local, alfresco cafes, swam in the wonderful olympic sized pool just down the road and made use of the parks and walking/running track nearby. There is a bank across the road and a pharmacy, supermarket, fruit shop, bakery, health food store, hairdresser and specialty shops just around the corner. The German Colony is one of Jerusalem's loveliest neighbourhoods and the Colony Suites just made our stay so special. Thank you for looking after our family. We will definitely be back to stay with you again!

Room Tip: Book well ahead of time to avoid disappointment as these apartments are very popular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonySuites, Owner at The Colony Suites, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
It was a pleasure to host you and your family. We hope you visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed for 12 days in the "Blue" apartment. It was clean, comfortable but lacked a few things. Nice to have laundry and a mini kitchen but the 'stove/burner elements' didn't work and our attempt to make scrambled eggs for dinner was hopeless. So other than breakfast, we found making any meal there difficult.

We found the apartment noisy when the windows were open, but we wanted air and didn't really need the air conditioner. The noise was from the street and a close by restaurant. So if you plan to stay there, check out what the windows open on to. As long as you don't face the main street, you might be Ok. If you are willing to sleep with the AC on, and the windows closed it would be Ok.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonySuites, Owner at The Colony Suites, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for your review, after almost 10 years in the business we know that customer’s feedback is the best way to improve our services.
In order to save space we have a stove combined with an oven which some people find hard to operate.
Colony Suites are serviced apartments which distinguish them from most apartments, if we knew about the problem on time we could easily have solved it. We have a spare stove and oven in our store room.
The Blue apartment is centrally located, within easy walking distance of public transport, restaurants, coffee shops and supermarket, the most in-demand area in Jerusalem - that is the reason we put double glass in our windows to prevent noise. We also have fans available as many people do not like A/C. We are on call 24 hours and are ready to solve any problem as it arises. Upon check in, guests are told to call with any problem or requests, however trivial they may seem. We just need to be informed.
We have other apartments in side streets in the area which are quieter but further away.
We are happy you enjoyed your visit and will be glad to accommodate you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a week stay in the "Blue" apartment which is unit #6. Note that the address is 3/6 Hananya St which means unit 6 at street number 3 (the opposite of Australian addresses!) which caused a little confusion as we arrived.

Positives
- very clean
- great location near restaurants and supermarket
- large and airy
- well equipped kitchen plus washing machine

Negatives
- Kosher kitchen; we naively thought this just meant no pork and different utensils for meat and dairy. It actually means no meat at all... We did fine with eggs and fish, but if you want to self-cater meat then this won't work for you
- Broken blind and phone line didn't work
- Small TV (but many channels)

Overall, we would give 4.5 stars and would definitely stay again.

One funny thing was electricity - you pay separately; we were worried about this, but in the end the bill was NIS22; we used the washer twice and cooked many times. Perhaps the owners could just add a couple of dollars to the room rate rather than charging a separate cost?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonySuites, Owner at The Colony Suites, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our apartment. I am glad you liked the location and found your stay pleasant. We checked the phone line and the cord was loose. New guests will now enjoy the channels on the larger screen that we installed and the missing piece for the blind has finally arrived! We charge electricity as an extra to bring our guests' awareness to their consumption, in the past we had people stay with us for a month, and leave the Air Con on for an entire week while they left to another city. The bill was astronomical for us.
You were very considerate guests and we would be happy to host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We had a 2-bedroom apartment in the German Colony. It was in a great location, just a few blocks off the main street, so lots of shops and restaurants in easy walking distance. We had rented a car and it was easy to find free parking close by. The apartment rooms were clean and of good size and we took advantage of the kitchen and washing machine. The site manager, Linda, was very helpful. She came over to help us when we had a problem figuring out the safe and made calls on our behalf to secure us a taxi at a reasonable price to take us to Tel Aviv at the end of our stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Colony Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Suites

Address: Emek Refaim | German Colony, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 54 Specialty Lodging in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Suites are stylish, self-contained holiday apartments for short term accommodation in the heart of the German colony Jerusalem. Suitable for singles and families ranging from a brief visit to a longer stay. Comfortable and elegant, the apartments are designed for maximum comfort. Included in the rent is the weekly cleaning service and the changing of linen and towels. Nestled between the old and new parts of the capital, the German Colony is the most charming area in Jerusalem. Built by the German Templars in the 1870's, the area is known for its unique architecture and cafe culture. The colony is close to the major tourist sites (walking distance to the old city) and the host of several local attractions. There is no better location than Colony Suites, around the corner from the post-office, bank, supermarket, chemist, cafes and public pool and gym. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Colony Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.