We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would never darken the door of this place again” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Katy's

Katy's
2 Hasoreg St/1 Ben-shetach st, Jerusalem, Israel
02-623-1793
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 469 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I would never darken the door of this place again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

My wife and I had dinner there this week. It is a nice restuarant, if pricey, and the food was nice and the service was good.

However, I always give a tip in cash when I pay by credit card. I did so on this ocassion as thw waiter was particularly good, However, the manager/proprietor/Katy(?) took the signed cc chitty along with the tip meant for the waiter. My wife noticed her as she walked away taking the cash out and stuffing it in her blouse. I went up and asked the waiter if he would getthe tip and he smiled at me - not the sort of smile to suggest that he would. I then asked her if he would get it and I was very brusquely brushed aside.

A very nasty taste at the end of a nice meal from on of the most unpleasant women I have met ina long time.

Go somewhere else where you can be sure the waiter will get the tip. There are plenty nice restuarants in the area, and elsewhere the waiters do get their tips.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    15
    5
    4
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Parkland, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Was given this name by our hotel and it was terrific. The owner sat down with us and helped us choose our meal. Everything was delicious and she did not steer us wrong! Everyone was tasting each others food and we had such a variety of dishes from soup to fish, steak, duck and veal. Unfortunately had no room for dessert!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I've been eating in some of the finer restaurants in Jerusalem and Katy's definitely stands out in the crowd. The food is exceptionally delicious and the atmosphere is very comfortable.
It is definitely not a cheap restaurant but worth the price.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Do what she says! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My friend and I have traveled together to Jerusalem twice; both times we have eaten at Katy's: the first time because of the reputation; the second time because of the wonderful meal we had the first time! (It's also open on Friday evenings.) Both times we have been on a budget. Both times we have been treated nonetheless with open-hearted generosity and little extras. This last trip (13 July 2012), I ordered the filet without sauce and Katy said "No. Get the sauce." I didn't argue. It was delicious. We felt we didn't have enough money to order a starter, and so we didn't. Katy said "you need a salad" and sent one to our table (we were not charged). I'm sure we needed the vegetables! So when the waiter asked us about wine, we just said "Oh, better ask Katy." The wine she picked went perfectly with our meal. WE LOVE THIS PLACE and plan always to dine at Katy's when we are in Jerusalem; Katy and her staff treat strangers like family. But remember: do what Katy says. She knows best!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you want a break from middle eastern cuisine, this is the place. a true gem. Pricey, but worth it. you will feel like a guest in katy's home as she brings dish after dish of delectable food. if nothing else, have the crepes -- to die for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katy's also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Katy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katy's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.