We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Saint George Street | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 97200, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“very good suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

we stayed on this hotel one night 27.6.13-28.6.13 . the only reasone i'we booked this hotel was beacuse leonardo plaza was'nt available.

but it was a great suprise .

we got a room in 8th floor with a small balcony and it was clean and nice.

the breakfat was really great ....we was more then satisfied.

the location was very convenient with a light train stop near by

i definitely will consider this hotel for the next time i'll be in jerusalem

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    205
    117
    53
    28
See reviews for
115
134
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I was at leonardo jerusalem before 3monath and it was very nice vacation the warm employee . good service at the racaption and in the lobby. Tasty food. i like the view from balcony to the old city. in august i wont to come again cos at resarvation departmant told me that leonardo have a new spa. i hope to enjoy again. shabat shalom

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sde Boker, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a very practical hotel for exploring the Old city of Jerusalem - 5-10 min walk and you enter the Damascus Gate - 10- 15 min more and you are at the western wall. Alternatively you can take a taxi for a short ride. The hotel is clean and pleasant and quiet. Food is good. Only remark is about elevators - seams that only 2 out of 4 elevators are operating- and some how you cannot get a notification which floor they are.. Any way you can use the stairs... much healthier if you can..

Room Tip: Ask with view to the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raanana
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Spent a weekend with my wife at this Jerusalem Hotel. Room was adequate and clean, Comfortable bed and pillow, good shower and bath. Nice TV channel selection. Our specific room on the 3rd floor had no view.
We were on full board and food was plentiful, varied but simplistic. Good service.
Walking distance to the old city (Damascus Gate) and around the corner from the fantastic new and convenient light railway.
Underground parking (at 20 NIS a night). Right next to other hotels sharing same driving lot area so it could get very busy and crowded at times.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The room - spacious with separate bathroom and toilet, which was a big plus. Although basically clean, the counter tops in room had not been wiped with glass stains and sticky residue remaining. Although the hotel looks really flashy from the outside, the rooms have been renovated with a lack of attention to details, eg the floor boards had gaps.

The breakfasts were amazing - a huge buffet of hot and cold that would satisfy anyone (except carnivores). Fish, dairy, vegetable, fruit, cereals, bread, pastries and many delicacies in shot style glasses prepared daily. You could get through the day on breakfast at this hotel.

Great location, walking distance to the old walled city, Damascus and Jaffa Gates. Also short walk to the light rail which is reasonably priced and frequent.

However good the hotel sounds, there were some drawbacks worth mentioning. Firstly, guests receive only 30 minutes of free wireless. Every other hotel we stayed in four countries, provided unlimited free wireless. You need to purchase half hour blocks after utilising your free half hour - and there is no carry over - use it or lose it.

The reception staff were not at all customer-focussed and made you feel they were doing you a favour. And no point standing in a queue, people just barge in and the staff serve them before others that have been waiting patiently for some time.

The bar staff were friendly enough, however it at times took longer than acceptable to receive your orders.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to give us some valuable feedback.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Leonardo Jerusalem we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel.
We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.
Thank you
Lior gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed there , first of all , in the check-in nobody pay atention to you , also on the site i made my reservation they said one price, and when i got there , the price was diferent and nobody care about that. After they treated me so bad on the loby , i went up to my roon ( i asked them one double bed and they called me to confirm that was OK ) my roon had 2 singles bed ... but i didnt wanted to fight again so i didnt said anything.
There was no towels on the room !!! so i called and they told me they will send , but after 30 minutes nothing.. i called again and she told me in a very bad tone , that i have to wait.. may be for one more hour to get a towel !!! i wanted to take shower and go down to have dinner,, instead i waited..after one hour they gave me one towel... i dont think this is a service for a 4 star hotel ,. im never coming back to Leonardo Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed for one night at this hotel and we recommend you not to go here. the service was horrible and insulting. the counter man at the reception was very rude and not willing to help. two and a half hours (!!) after check in time, the room wasn't ready and we had to wait for some time before getting our room (without any compensation of course).
even after getting the room, it was not ready - no towels, no soap, not clean (the review paper of the guests before us was still there...). the food and coffee at the lobby was not fresh. the shower head was broken.
the elevators worked very slow and the doors often closed on people.

Room Tip: just choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FattalM, General Manager at Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear guest,
As all other Leonardo Hotels we are obligated to provide a high level of service and standards as we do now.
With regard to issues you mention on your review, we apologize again and we are sure that it was a singular mistake as you can see from other guest’s reviews.
I would like to reassure you that we always strive to deliver a first class product and an extraordinary service and a feedback as yours allows us to improve on that.

Yours sincerely
Lior Gabay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 9 Saint George Street | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 97200, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. Free International Phone Calls -Exclusively ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.