We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic rooms, nice breakfast and friendly staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Save Saved
You added Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Saint George Street | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 97200, Israel (American Colony)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Pretty basic rooms, nice breakfast and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I was put here for one night on a business trip and so the few hours sleeping in the room were bearable. I would have been pretty disappointed otherwise with the basic and drab furniture. From my window the pool area was small and the pool dirty, but it was off season, so maybe they clean it up.

There are better located hotels, but more expensive. From this one you can walk maybe 20 minutes to Ben Yahuda and 10 minutes to the Damascus Gate and then another 10 to the Western Wall.

The Israeli breakfast was fresh and varied and the staff pleasant enough.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    201
    114
    51
    28
See reviews for
110
130
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sandton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

I just want to thank the Hotel Leonardo Jerusalem and its staff for its fantastic service and friendliness. Myself and my colleagues had the best treatment we could ever have asked for in a foreign country especially in a country where we thought the language was going to be a huge problem as none of us could speak or understand Hebrew. One exceptional staff member who was very well spoken in English whom I hope I remember correctly as Debbie Raviv, was the best we have ever come across. She was the most bubbly, friendly and helpful hotel staff member I personally have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. Nothing we asked her was ever to big or to small, she was brilliant in her communication skills and if it was not for her telling us where to go and who to see, we would have had the most boring business trip ever. We just want to thank her from the bottom of our hearts and can promise you that if anyone ever asked us for a recommendation of where to stay in Israel, it is definitely going to be at "Leonardo Israel. Thank you again and we hope that you appreciate your staff the way we did. Thank you so much. One very happy business party. Well done

Room Tip: Ask for Debbie Raviv
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pernis, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

beautiful hotel. very nice staff. good food. very good rooms (I stay on the 7th floor).

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My cousin and I stayed for ten days at this hotel in February. I was a bit nervous to book it at first because I had read negative reviews. We stayed on the eighth floor which is the executive floor and the only floor with balconies. The first room they showed us was very basic and small. We asked for a nicer room and as soon as one became available, we upgraded. There are several types and sizes of rooms, so if the hotel is not crowded, ask to see before moving in. We ended up with a corner room and it was like a suite with lots of closet space, the bed in a little alcove that made it seem cozy. There were two chairs and a small coffee table in front of the flat screen tv. In addition to the balcony, there were two other windows with black out curtains, but during the day, you could open up lots of windows and bring in a beautiful view. The bathrooms are all small, but have hairdryers, plenty of hot water and lots of water pressure. The WC is in a separate little room. There was only one bed and we ask for another bed for my cousin. They brought in a twin bed and there was ample space for it. We found the staff to be very helpful, booking trips for us and attending quickly to our every request. We sometimes ate a bowl of soup in the bar area in the evening and the soup was excellent, served with whole grain bread. We had breakfast buffet every morning included in the price of the room. There was a lot of variety and it was a full Israeli breakfast with hot and cold dishes. The location just at the edge of East Jerusalem and across the highway from Mea Shearim is excellent. We could walk to the Damascus Gate in about ten minutes or less and to go to the Ben Yahuda area is about 15 minutes. I would stay here again. This was my third trip to Jerusalem in about 20 months. Before we stayed at Crown Plaza and we found the Leonardo Jerusalem to be a much more convenient location.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houten, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

A very nice, modern large hotel in the centre of Jerusalem. Great variety in dinner en breakfastmeals. It looked en tasted excellent! The rooms were nice and clean.

Room Tip: Best room is at the 8th floor on the frontside
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed 14 days and we liked it very much and enjoyed it every day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time. Your food was superb and the hotel has a great location. But when my dad got ill on the day we were scheduled to leave, your staff showed its true strength -- helping my family at this critical time. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem

Address: 9 Saint George Street | Jerusalem, Jerusalem 97200, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the city in which it is situated, Leonardo Classic Jerusalem is a unique meeting point of old and new, history and modern life. Leonardo Classic Jerusalem offers a special holiday in a unique environment, the one that combines the treasures of the ancient city with the luxury, progress and quality of modern life. In Leonardo Classic Jerusalem you can put your worries aside and enjoy a classic holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leonardo Hotel Jerusalem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.