We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dig for a day at Beit Guvrin was an amazing experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bet Guvrin-Maresha National Park

Bet Guvrin-Maresha National Park
Bet Shemesh-Kiryat Gat road (no. 35) opposite Kibbutz Bet Guvrin, Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
08-681-2957
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 174 Attractions in Jerusalem
Type: Ancient Ruins, National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 1,250 acre national park is filled with 2,000 year old archaeological sites that visitors can explore.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Dig for a day at Beit Guvrin was an amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Me and my kids had a great time diging for archeological findings at Beit Guvrin, the briefing at start was entertaining enough and sufficient explanation for the kids to understand and enjoy being Indiana Jones for a day, we found pottery and bones and sombody even found ancient coins, the feeling of being the first to hold something in the last 2000 years was interesting , i recommend it to anyone coming to Israel.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    26
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dig, Dig, Dig”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

What a fabulous archeological site. It is for the family (kids) who will have a blast. You will first tour the site. Afterward, you are taken into a cave/archeological dig, given tools and have fun. You will invariably find pottery shards and remnants of ancient civilizations. It is a fabulous family activity. (You will need a shower after this dig).

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
71 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“LOVED THIS!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Wow! We have dug twice at Bet Guvrin and how found wonderful 2,000 year old artifacts. My kids asked to do this "dig for a day" (actually 2 -3 hours again! WE LOVE THIS!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodge Co., Wisconsin
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
50 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our family of four enjoyed being amateur archaeologists for the day. We dug through the soft dirt in our cave (Lucy) and unearthed pottery shards, animal bones left-over from meals, charcoal and bits of shell. There were some awesome finds in our group with a man digging up a nearly-intact oil lamp. The cave crawl after the dig was a lot of fun, too. I am also confused as to why this is listed near Jericho. It is not.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“WE DUG IT!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our entire family (3 generations) loved the archealogical dig! Sifting through history with the volunteers was a blast and the cool underground sites were a nice place to spend some time learning about the areas history.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bet Guvrin-Maresha National Park also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Bet Guvrin-Maresha National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bet Guvrin-Maresha National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.