We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Eucalyptus

The Eucalyptus
14 Hativat Yerushalayim, Jerusalem, Israel
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 464 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Kosher, Middle Eastern, Israeli, Eclectic
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Authentic Biblical cuisine using wild herbs that celebrate innovation and ancient recipes. Located at the beginning of the New Artist Colony not far from the Old City, 5 minute walk from the Mamilla shopping corridor.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Happened to be going by towards Yemin Moshe and popped in with my wife for a couple of beers.
We sat outside.
Beer offerings were pretty good.
The server was very friendly, helpful, and attentive. He also gave us some delicious vegetarian appetizers on the house, which was a delightful surprise.
A number of vegetarian options available on the menu, and a willingness to adjust other non-veg items so they are suitable for vegetarians.
Would go highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    88
    31
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington,England
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Nice restaurant with friendly staff. The food is honest without being extraordinary. There was a good atmosphere the night we visited. The location is a bit out on it's own, in an up and coming area, you wont stumble upon it on your travels around the sites. Whilst it was probably our best meal in Jerusalem it was by far our most expensive.
I will probably get criticised for saying that I don't think that you visit Jerusalem for it's dining out experiences.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food at Eucalyptus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The food was amazing! Great wait staff. Recommend getting a reservation even at 9:30 on a Saturday night. We loved the date appetizer!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flavorless food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The atmosphere was pleasant, the staff was very nice, and the food looked good- but nothing had any flavor whatsoever. A big disappointment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food, fantastic staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a great evening her. The food was just awesome! My absolute favourite was the blackened eggplant with tahini and pomegranate, a simple yet divine dish. All dishes are a great balance of fantastic flavours and look fabulous on top of this. The staff was great. We we doubting about our starters so they gave us our "2nd choice" on the house. Absolutely the best place to eat in the vicinity of the Old City!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eucalyptus also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to The Eucalyptus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Eucalyptus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.