We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mona

Mona
12 Shmuel Hanagid, Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
972(0)2.6222283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 465 restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Mona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a family meal; the food was very good and the prices are fair; the service was very good: Dont go with kids; the kids menu actually does not exist; overall it was joyful brassery diner

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    109
    67
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Mona is arguably one of the best restaurants in Israel and most certainly in Jerusalem. We were hesitant at first, because it is now owned by the people who run Jerusalem's Mahneyuda restaurant, one of our least favored places. Our fear was baseless. Mona and Mahneyuda exist in two very separate and different planetary systems. Mona is what you expect of a top class chef's restaurant - great food, beautiful location, excellent service, value for money and leaving a strong desire to go back again.
Mona offers a tantalizing bistro menu with a range of offers that should satisfy almost every taste from meat lovers to fans of the sea as well as vegetarians. Not easy to choose. The menu avoids the trendy but obnoxious and indecipherable descriptions so loved by Mahneyehuda. It tells you clearly and unambiguously what the offerings are, In the end we went for a creative and mouthwatering starter of seared calamari and the best polenta with mushrooms and parmesan that I have eaten in a long time. A nice surprise was the caesar salad offered on the house. Based on other reviews this gesture is prevalent at Mona, but no less appreciated. That was followed by a truly classic and perfectly executed boeuf bourgignon and a delectable burger. By the looks of the other available dishes and reactions of neighboring diners, they were all top notch. The pear tart for dessert was very enjoyable, but perhaps a bit below the standard of the previous courses. The repast was well accompanied by the Israeli Trio winery's Secret, a fruity, medium bodied combination of cabernet, merlot and sirah grapes.
Service was as good as it gets and our server Yoav was friendly, very knowledgeable, helpful and there when we needed him. We called the chef out to receive our personal thanks and compliments.
Mona is located in a wonderful old Jerusalem stone building that houses the city's Artists House. The decor is cozy, comfortable and inviting but in no way distracts you from what you came for - a delicious meal. The restaurant also has a nice bar that looks inviting for an evening of imbibing.
Mona is not cheap, but certainly not more expensive than other restaurants of similar standard and quality in Israel and abroad.
We will definitely go back and warmly recommend Mona to anyone looking for a very satisfying culinary experience in Jerusalem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Creative Tasty Food, Lively Atmospehere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A really wonderful night out. Great service. Wonderful creative food, of which we enjoyed every bite ! Friendly barman and great service. Perfect !

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent modern not kosher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

interior : classy but not swanky, comfortable and snappy
great service: knowledgeble but not pretentious
great food: refined, modern... not kosher
excellent desserts : cheese mousse out of this world

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vibrant atmosphere, friendly staff good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A Jem of a restaurant in Jerusalem. Had a lovely evening there. Vibrant atmosphere. Friendly helpful staff . We had the tasting menu. It was really delicious . Not cheap but worth spending that extra .



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.