We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mona” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mona

Mona
12 Shmuel Hanagid, Jerusalem, Israel (Nachla'ot)
972(0)2.6222283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 590 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Nachla'ot
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Mona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a family meal; the food was very good and the prices are fair; the service was very good: Dont go with kids; the kids menu actually does not exist; overall it was joyful brassery diner

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ariel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Israel
Level Contributor
131 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Mona is arguably one of the best restaurants in Israel and most certainly in Jerusalem. We were hesitant at first, because it is now owned by the people who run Jerusalem's Mahneyuda restaurant, one of our least favored places. Our fear was baseless. Mona and Mahneyuda exist in two very separate and different planetary systems. Mona is what you expect of a top class chef's restaurant - great food, beautiful location, excellent service, value for money and leaving a strong desire to go back again.
Mona offers a tantalizing bistro menu with a range of offers that should satisfy almost every taste from meat lovers to fans of the sea as well as vegetarians. Not easy to choose. The menu avoids the trendy but obnoxious and indecipherable descriptions so loved by Mahneyehuda. It tells you clearly and unambiguously what the offerings are, In the end we went for a creative and mouthwatering starter of seared calamari and the best polenta with mushrooms and parmesan that I have eaten in a long time. A nice surprise was the caesar salad offered on the house. Based on other reviews this gesture is prevalent at Mona, but no less appreciated. That was followed by a truly classic and perfectly executed boeuf bourgignon and a delectable burger. By the looks of the other available dishes and reactions of neighboring diners, they were all top notch. The pear tart for dessert was very enjoyable, but perhaps a bit below the standard of the previous courses. The repast was well accompanied by the Israeli Trio winery's Secret, a fruity, medium bodied combination of cabernet, merlot and sirah grapes.
Service was as good as it gets and our server Yoav was friendly, very knowledgeable, helpful and there when we needed him. We called the chef out to receive our personal thanks and compliments.
Mona is located in a wonderful old Jerusalem stone building that houses the city's Artists House. The decor is cozy, comfortable and inviting but in no way distracts you from what you came for - a delicious meal. The restaurant also has a nice bar that looks inviting for an evening of imbibing.
Mona is not cheap, but certainly not more expensive than other restaurants of similar standard and quality in Israel and abroad.
We will definitely go back and warmly recommend Mona to anyone looking for a very satisfying culinary experience in Jerusalem.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wolfman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Creative Tasty Food, Lively Atmospehere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A really wonderful night out. Great service. Wonderful creative food, of which we enjoyed every bite ! Friendly barman and great service. Perfect !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank IMichal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“excellent modern not kosher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

interior : classy but not swanky, comfortable and snappy
great service: knowledgeble but not pretentious
great food: refined, modern... not kosher
excellent desserts : cheese mousse out of this world

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank petitnez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vibrant atmosphere, friendly staff good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

A Jem of a restaurant in Jerusalem. Had a lovely evening there. Vibrant atmosphere. Friendly helpful staff . We had the tasting menu. It was really delicious . Not cheap but worth spending that extra .



Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing