We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mona

Mona
12 Shmuel Hanagid, Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
972(0)2.6222283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 461 restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Montville, New Jersey
1 review
“the perfect dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We made a reservation for Shabbat dinner on the advice of our "hip" Israeli friends and we were not disappointed. From the start of our host's friendly greeting to the great bottle of wine for which we were not charged! ( the cork accidently fell into the bottle) we had a great meal.
The menu is varied enough to suit most taste buds and the waiter very helpful in explaining each dish. if you go, and I hope you do,ask to sit by the tree. The restaurant is small so reserve early and Enjoy!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    108
    66
    20
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Atmospheric, and one of the best restaurants in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

Mona's setting is atmospheric, being located inside an artist's house and having a lovely decoration which makes you feel at home. Staff are lovely, the house wine is out of this world, and so is the food. Meals do not come cheap but are worth every shekel. It's a favorite with internationals posted in Jerusalem.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

We didn't get to experience the Art or the shop but were looking for a place open to have our Anniversary dinner. We found this on line and called and they were so accommodating. When we got there, the girl immediately recognized our name and sat us. Our waiter was helpful and friendly and the food was fantastic. We had the 500g steak with chiles and zaatar (I think). It was one of the best steaks we've had. And the Creme Brule (served in a large, shallow dish) was perfect! The atmosphere was quaint and warm and just really enjoyable. The waiter even called our cab for us when we were ready to go. The building in the Artist House was really nice and inviting as well!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Inspiring Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

This restaurant has a special location: The Artist's House, an old villa with an exposition floor and a faboulus art shop with real trouvailles of modern isralic paintings - and a lot of experts opinions in additionfor free. So gor first for the exposition, whatever it might be, then for the shop, no matter if you are looking for something or not, and then to Mona.

Nice contemporarary israelic food of the mediterrenean style. We had a mixed antipasti-plate and calamares in yogurth-sauce, some fish and meat and an outstanding saffron-ice, worth to come back.

Friendly and helpful staff, not professionell but comitted.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Went for my wife's birthday and had a wonderful evening. I think that the food was amazing.. Treat yourself!

  • Visited December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mona also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Mona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.