We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch hummus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lina Restaurant

Lina Restaurant
Al Khanka Street | Old City, Jerusalem, Israel (Givat Ram)
02-6277230
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 464 Restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
322 reviews 322 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
354 helpful votes 354 helpful votes
“Top-notch hummus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First Impressions: Upon recommendation from our local tour guide, I sought out this place. From the Damascus Gate, take a soft 45-degree right onto Beit Hibad Street, then turn right onto Via Dolorosa, it will be on your left side, near the Church of the Holy Sepulcher. (Alternatively, take Jaffa Gate, follow David Street, turn left into Christian Quarter Road, then turn right onto St. Francis Street.) It has a glass entryway, bordered by blue doors. A humble red sign hangs overhead. It's a modest "hole in the wall" restaurant -- five tables, more on the second floor.

PROS: It only makes one thing: hummus. Fresh, authentic and unpretentious. The limited menu features different iterations on the hummus theme: Hummus with pine nuts, hummus with ful, etc. Of these choices, I particularly love the hummus with freshly-roasted pine nuts. Although I'm a dedicated carnivore, I enjoyed this dish so much that I could turn vegan! Costing about £3, it is of excellent value. I could eat this every day. Service is friendly and brisk.

CONS: Hard pressed to find anything negative, except for its small space, which can quickly get crowded during lunch.

Verdict: Remember the saying "Whatever is worth doing is worth doing... well?" In this case Lina does not disappoint. It has elevated the lowly chickpea and created a top-notch dish, IMO, better than Abu Shukri's and perhaps best in Jerusalem, worth taking a special trip into the Old City. Recommended. Grade A+.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    16
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top notch Hummesaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

In the heart of the old city but not hard to find.
Top quality hummesaria.
Seating upstairs or down.
Spotlessly clean.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“The best Hummus (IMHO)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I tried the Hummus all over Jerusalem - but this was the best. The hummus with pine nuts was just incredible, as was the salad. It can get very crowded at lunch-time - get there early or late (by 1:30pm, it was easy to get in).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The best Humus in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Simple authentic restaurant serving only Humus within the Old-City. Excellent fresh Humus of unsurpassed quality. There is a lot of competition but they probably have the best Humus. Don't expect comfortable seating or space. Eat enjoy and go!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Lina is Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Located in the Christian Quarter just west of station 8 on Via Dolorosa or if you're coming from the Jaffa Gate head north on Christian Quarter street and then turn right on El-Khanqa. It is a very small restaurant with 5 tables but extra seating upstairs. We just asked the server to bring us what he thought was best. Within minutes He brought our party of 7 an arabic salad, 4 different bowls if humus and 2 plates of onions with pickles. You can watch the hummus being made fresh right in the dining area. My favorite was the one with roasted pine nuts and the fresh warm pita kept coming until we were done eating. Our total bill with tea and sodas came to 135 shekels. A wonderful experience at an incredible value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lina Restaurant also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Lina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lina Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.