We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite place to take guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hachatzer

Hachatzer
7 Derech Beit Lehem, Jerusalem 93553, Israel (Givat Ram)
02-6719922
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 461 restaurants in Jerusalem
Cuisines: Kosher
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Jerusalem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“favorite place to take guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

this is where we take our out-of-town guests -- just amazing food, esp the meats. if you get the tasters' menu, they bring out a gazillion salads too. just know you're going to stuff yourself here. One mistake in the listing: It's not in the Givat Ram neighborhood at all -- it's in Baka or German Colony.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    34
    10
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Meal in Jerusalem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We came here our last night. I love that it is a bit out of the way which also means plenty of parking. We started out with the chorizo appetizer and the chopped liver which were both fabulous. For the main course I had the gnocchi, my husband had the duck. Everything was really delicious.For dessert we had the halva again, just amazing. Service is awesome. Just a great restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We had a fantastic meal here. We did the tasting menu, the food kept coming and it was delicious and different. We will definitely return on our next trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This restaurant has had more names than I've had hot dinners (well almost). It was first known as 'Etzel Pini Bachatzer' (literally 'Pini's place in the yard). Then it shortened it to 'Pini Bachatzer'. Then I reckon Pini must have parted company, because they again shortened it to 'Hachatzer'.

In any event, while the name might have morphed a bit, the food has remained consistently good. For Jerusalem, I'd say it's my favourite gourmet restaurant. The menu always has some very interesting dishes you'd not find anywhere else. The service was pretty good too. The price is quite expensive, but in my opinion worth it.

Do book in advance, as the place gets pretty full. It's also in a nice location, close to where the old train station was located.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“very special”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

we went on passover---food was delicious.i had meat with pistachios and vanilla "ice cream" with a cherry tomato chutney topping that was fabulous

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hachatzer also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Hachatzer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hachatzer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.