We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best kosher food i ate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scala - Chef kitchen & bar

Scala - Chef kitchen & bar
7 King David Street | Inside the David Citadel Hotel, Jerusalem 94101, Israel (Givat Ram)
972 2 6212030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 461 restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $11 - $48
Cuisines: Kosher, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Description: An exclusive restaurant in the heart of Jerusalem, combines complete elegance, and urban lifestyle with contemporary taste. A collaboration of the best local ingredients and international cooking techniques creates an original Mediterranean kitchen that will please every culinary lover. The menu consists of medium-sized dishes, perfect for sharing. The SCALA experience is completed by professional and friendly service. SCALA, is a kosher restaurant targeting a diverse clientele: tourists, diplomats, businessman and local food lovers.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
1 review
“Best kosher food i ate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Excellent food. Very nice staff and chef. I'm not a fan of a kosher dinning, but i had a best pareve potato puree, that i ate in my entire life.
Also i'm not a fan of fish and the fish was very delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    56
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food - overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The food was excellent, although the chef does not like vegetables. Starters and main dishes were beautifully cooked, and delicious - but meat entrees completely lacked vegetables. The dessert menu is short and not too exciting. We appeared to be the only diners that evening. Verdict -- excellent, tasty food -- but the price was really exorbitant. Not sure I would go there again, for that reason. The ambience is pleasant, but nothing memorable -- international hotel-ish.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
“Don't Miss It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Scala is a "must eat" stop in Jerusalem. The atmosphere of the dining room is well done, and the staff is attentive to your needs. The food is among the best you would experience at the best restaurants in the world! I will always remember the lamb pita starter. If you would like a world class dining experience while in Jerusalem, don't miss it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

In a word: Delicious. I don't think there's a single bad dish on the menu. My steak was tougher than I would have liked, but the taste was good.
I'm not sure that it's worth the cost though, which is substantial.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Interesting, super-tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I wish I had written this review sooner, because I can't remember all the details. But this was one of the two best meals I had in Jerusalem. I remember not having one bad dish that meal. In fact, they all tasted amazing. Many dishes were (pleasantly) surprising (to me) in their use of ingredients. The service was also great.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala - Chef kitchen & bar also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Scala - Chef kitchen & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scala - Chef kitchen & bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.