We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect evening” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scala - Chef kitchen & bar

Scala - Chef kitchen & bar
7 King David Street | Inside the David Citadel Hotel, Jerusalem 94101, Israel (Givat Ram)
972 2 6212030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 461 restaurants in Jerusalem
Price range: $11 - $48
Cuisines: Kosher, Mediterranean, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Givat Ram
Description: An exclusive restaurant in the heart of Jerusalem, combines complete elegance, and urban lifestyle with contemporary taste. A collaboration of the best local ingredients and international cooking techniques creates an original Mediterranean kitchen that will please every culinary lover. The menu consists of medium-sized dishes, perfect for sharing. The SCALA experience is completed by professional and friendly service. SCALA, is a kosher restaurant targeting a diverse clientele: tourists, diplomats, businessman and local food lovers.
Modi'in, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A perfect evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to Scala for our anniversary, and everything was perfect; The atmosphere, the service and most of all the food!

We had asked for the tasting menu and strongly recommend this option. You have to ask for it in advance, and it is not an option listed, but it was well worth it. The dishes were creative, well balanced and delicious. The amount was also perfect - we felt very spoiled but not uncomfortable. The chef will take into account your preferences if you state them in advance - more or less meat/fish, for example, or any allergies - but we asked him just to do whatever he wanted, and the results more than justified this approach. A really special night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    56
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very expensive restaurant, but if you can afford it, it is worth the price.
The best Kosher restaurant i have been to.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and classy service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We came in very late (after 11pm) and were clearly the last ones. There was one group which left after 5 min so we were by ourselves. No one gave us the feeling they wanted to go home.

Now to the food: i started with the fish in Spanish Harissa which i'd recommend, very tasty and special. My wife had some bruschetta with fois gras which was also very nice (more classic however). The main courses are generous and tasty.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very Good Gourmet Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Scala was an overall good experience. The service was typical of Israel: not attentive enough as we are accustomed to in the states, and slow. The menu is limited, one page of gourmet food (5 Appetizers and 5 Main courses) and a less impressive bar menu. The wine list is decent and they have a fully stocked bar. Dinner was delicious, but more of a culinary experience of the chef's creative combination of tastes than a traditional meal that you're used to. Dessert was also an unorthodox innovation of traditional desserts (like Creme Brule and Sponge Cake). Overall a fine dining experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best meal i have ever eaten in israel !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

It has been many years since i have enjoyed a meal to this extent. Just perfect. Compliments to the brilliant and sensitive chef.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scala - Chef kitchen & bar also viewed

Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
Jerusalem, Jerusalem District
 

Been to Scala - Chef kitchen & bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scala - Chef kitchen & bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.