We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

German Colony Cottage -A Trip Adviser Award Winner

Living room + full Kitchen
Living room + full Kitchen
Living room + full Kitchen
Bedroom
Full Kitchen + Dining
living room + view to bathroom + bedroom
Private back garden
Jerusalem
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alison18l...
los angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great rental for couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011 for a stay in July 2011

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at German Colony Cottage and echo all the great reviews others have given. Judy is a gracious, but unobtrusive, host. The cottage is pretty close to perfect. If you want to stay in the German Colony, this couldn’t be a better location.
I thought I would add some tips to help future visitors.
--There is a land line phone that can be used for calls within Israel. This is a great amenity. If I had known about this I would have purchased fewer minutes on my Israeli cell phone.
--The kitchen is, indeed, extremely well furnished. If you are planning to be there for Shabbat and want to eat chicken or meat, I do suggest packing some paper plates and plastic utensils since it's a vegetarian kitchen (expensive to purchase in Israel and don’t take much room in your luggage!) La Guta (a short walk towards Baka) has a great selection of take away items Friday mornings. The “supermarket” on Emek Refaim is quite expensive, but you would have to buy a lot to make it worthwhile to spend the bus fare to getto the Supersol that is a couple of bus stops away in Talpiot.
-- Friday morning farmers market held at the community center on Emek Refaim has fruit and vegetables, baked goods and other items.
--Don't bother with bottled water. The tap water tastes great.
--We tried every possible walking route to both downtown and the Old City. I suggest varying your routes to see more neighborhoods. Following a map, you can cut through Rehavia to get downtown. You can meander through Yemin Moshe to get to Mamilla and the Old City.
--We were there in the height of summer and were at first scared off by the black flies in the courtyard. Turns out, when I sat down….they left me to enjoy this lovely patio.
--If it's not the height of summer you can sleep with the windows open and a lovely breeze. When it's hot the A/C works great.
--Be sure to take a walk along the newly-created and beautifully landscaped pedestrian walkway on what used to be the train tracks -- just a couple of blocks from the cottage.
--There is a clothes rack for drying clothes. We also left a load of about a week’s worth of laundry at the laundromat a couple of blocks away that we expected to be more than the $15 they charged to wash, dry and fold. (They charge by weight, so it could easily cost more.)
Enjoy the charm, beauty and peacefulness of this lovely place.

4 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Older travelers
Families with young children Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Madrona
Washington
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jean F.
Maryland
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010 for a stay in October 2010
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Riri
GA, USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cherna
QC
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010 for a stay in May 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The patio
Liked least: The shower - it takes 2 minutes to heat.
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Los Angeles
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The charm, quiet and nature
Traveling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Los Angeles
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009 for a stay in October 2009
1
person found this review helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$150
/
Night
Week
Month
Make Inquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an inquiry to the owner using the above make inquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Peace of Mind Protection
this property has payment protection
Owner
Aaron W
97225610721
Speaks English
Listed since : Aug 2009
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing