We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOTEL” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ritz Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ritz Hotel to your Saves list
Ritz Hotel
8 Ibn Khaldoun Street, Jerusalem, Israel (American Colony)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
50% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

like all other reviews i could not say 1 bad word about this hotel yes its in the arab area but is very safe and like others have said the staff is a credit alexander the young man on the front desk was very helpful in helping us get from jerusalem to tel aviv by taxi when our phone would not work and for the staff at breakfast staff and the head waiter every one went over and above to help us enjoy our time in jerusalem and if i ever go back to jerusalem i would stay in the ritz again

Room Tip: to me all the rooms are the same the room we had was a1
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    26
    2
    2
See reviews for
20
36
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

We picked this hotel primarily due to the closeness to the Old City which was our primary goal during our 3- day stay in Jerusalem. However, as it turned out it was a scoop because also the rooms, the people and the general standard of the hotel was a positive meeting. You have to walk through a very arab neighbourhood to get to the Old City but this only adds to the charme and is a safe and entertaining walk. The top terrace of the hotel was a nice place to enjoy the sunset and take a break from the busy and bustling Old City. We'd go back to Ritz Hotel anytime again.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

The Ritz is a short walk from Herod's Gate and the Old City, so is convenient for travellers wishing to explore one of the most fascinating places in the world.

The hotel is in need of a little updating but the facilities are as advertised. The lobby, corridors and communal areas were spotlessly clean, as were the rooms many of which have balconies, which is a bonus. The bathroom is basic, with a shower that takes some getting used to if you are not to soak the floor! The wifi was sometimes intermittent.

Breakfast is a buffet style with all you could need, including lots of fresh fruit. We had dinner twice during our stay and that was good also. The majority of the guests seem to be on organised tours, so the dining area is always buzzing and lively with visitors from all over the world, which I think is nice.

However, what makes the Ritz rank as Very Good, rather than Average, is the positive, helpful and cheery attitude of the staff. The guys in the dining room are an absolute credit to the establishment and should be congratulated for their first class customer care. Little things - like remembering what we drank after one day - make a big difference when you're on holiday and make a stay far more pleasant. We went onto a much more expensive hotel on the Dead Sea that could learn a few things from the Ritz.

The neighbourhood - classing East Jerusalem - was busy and we felt totally safe all the time we stayed. Keep up the good work, chaps!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights with a tour group. The staff were friendly & accomodating and the variety of food at breakfast & dinner was good. It is in walking distance of the Old City. The rooms are adequate, but the bathroom is very small & the towels were almost threadbare. There is a safe & hairdryer in the room, but no tea or coffee making facilities. There is only tea & coffee served at breakfast, but not after dinner. You have to then purchase from the bar & it is rather pricey. To summarise, adequate accomodation.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Good hotel. Not far from city center. Very nice and accomodating staff. breakfasts and dinners present nice variety of food, also nicely presented. Not too far from the Old City, perhpas 15 minute walk to Damascus Gate. Hotel had looby bar, although prices are rather high. Overall - good experience, especially if you are on a group trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the inside if you want it to be really quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The very hospitable, helpful, and all around delightful people at The Ritz are always there to help you. They speak English, too! Many of the rooms have small balconies. :) Close to lots of restaurants and shops with equally delightful people -- including a nice cleaner across the street and a great little falafel shop. The price is right, too.

Room Tip: Walking distance to the Old City of Jerusalem, easy to call and get a cab, the Nesher bus service wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

i stayed here three nights with a tour group. The rooms were small, and well worn. The bathroom had the craziest sliding corner door shower that required proper alignment to avoid getting water all over the place.

The area is just a couple of blocks from the old city walls. Lots of local shops and cafes to visit nearby.

We ate at the hotel everyday, and could not have been happier with both the food and service. That is what makes this place. Great staff and excellent owners. I know they are trying to upgrade the hotel rooms, so maybe the next time around they will be better.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ritz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ritz Hotel

Address: 8 Ibn Khaldoun Street, Jerusalem, Israel
Phone Number:
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > American Colony
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ritz Hotel located in downtown East Jerusalem is one of the first hotels built in the sixties. It is nestled in the heart of the commercial district, an enjoyable stroll to the Old City of Jerusalem with magnificent holy and historical sites ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Ritz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ritz Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.