We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rivoli Hotel - great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rivoli Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rivoli Hotel to your Saves list
Rivoli Hotel
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   3 Salah Eddin Street | P.O Box 19599, Jerusalem 91194, Israel (Down Town East Jerusalem)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 55 Jerusalem B&B and Inns
Redhill, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rivoli Hotel - great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed at the Rivoli Hotel in August and while it was basic it really gave a feel of how life actually is in the Arabic part of Jerusalem. All the staff there from the manager down to the cleaners were very open, always helpful and polite (better than at some UK places) and always tried to make sure the guests were happy, could not fault them. While the food was basic, there was nothing wrong with it, plenty of food available and always hot and always on time.
Yes there are things that could be better, but if you are just looking for a place to crash after a tiring day in Jerusalem and the surrounding area it could not be better - so close to the old city. It was great to be that close to where it was all happening and to see, feel, smell and hear the hustle and bustle of this vibrant city which has over 2000 years of history.
Cannot comment about it in November as I was there in August with temperatures of 30 degrees in the day, yes air-con would have been nice, but the rooms all had fans and the staff even had additional ones available if they were needed.
I have stayed in hotels costing a lot more and had much worse service, so some of the comments are not that accurate.
One last comment. You do sometimes have to put things into perspective and think of the location culture and local politics. This hotel is not in the UK or the most affluent part of Jerusalem and one should remember that the Arab peoples in Israel have not had things easy for a long time, so it can be difficult getting the financial resources to do all the things I know the management would like to do, so in closing – no complaints.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    21
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
20
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

It is the worst experience ever... Never stay here unless you like unheated rooms, cold water and a TV sat which is just a piece of old furniture... Do mind this and other comments (which I unfortunately did not do) and stay away from this s**hole!

Room Tip: Chose another place to stay,
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at the Rivoi in East Jerusalmem in Mid November for a couple of nights.

First of all the good points...

Its location is great!! Right by Herods Gate by the old city you can walk out of the hotel straight in to the Old City. Its a stunning place to stay for walking around Jerusalem.

Its cheap. We got a room for £45 but due to the hotels odd exchange rate it manifested itself into £52 a night once we came to pay in sheckels. But still a good deal for a city hotel.

The guy on reception was great, and really helpful. Couldn't do enough for us but due to the amount of problems guests seem to be having he was run off his feet trying to fix things!!
Not his fault he wasnt the owner or the manager and he had just been lumbered.

The beakfast wasnt too bad for the price of the hotel and the lounge was OK with decent free wi-fi that I could also pick up in my room.

Now the bad points..

Its 2011 and I dont expect to stay in a hotel these days in a major city where the hot water only comes on between 6PM and 9PM! It was pouring down with rain, I got drenched went back to my room to have a shower around 5PM and had to sit in my room until around 630PM when eventually some luke warm water was avialable. And you have to be quick before all the other guests empty the water tank!
Also there is NO HEATING in the room. And I mean NONE. Jerusalem is freezing at night in the winter and it was probably warmer out on the street!
It is so cold (the windows are ancient) that it is impossible to sleep.
Im guessing in the summer its probably too hot as there is no air conditioning either..

If I were you I'd give this place a miss if you can get another hotel for the same price. There are loads of hotels in the same street all that look roughly the same. I'm sure one of them does have hot water and heating so i'd plump for that.

I dont really care how rubbish a hotel is if its cheap but surely in this day and age a little hot water and heating wouldn't go amiss..

Room Tip: Get a room at the back. Great view of an old cemetary
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

I stayed here two nights in November. The man on receptipn was very helpful and friendly. He offered lots of useful advice about Jerusalem.

The hotel is a stones throw from the Muslim quarter of the Old City walls and is in an excellent location for exploring.

The rooms themselves were a good size but need modernising. The room had an old style CRT tv but the picture quality was fine. BBC world service was on one of the channels.

The shower / bath is very small and has a sloped shelf which makes standing in it quite tricky unless you are a contortionist. Annoyingly the shower curtain always seems to move inwards which leaves you with even less space. We were also told hot water would be available from 6 to 9 in the morning and evening but it didn't always seem to be the case.
This was very frustrating as one day we got drenched and had to wait around over an hour to have warm water. This is unacceptable in a city in this day and age.

It was quite cold at night and there was no heating even though the rooms had radiators.

Breakfast was ok; Ham, cheeses, pita breads, boiled eggs, salad, coffee, tea and orange juice etc.

There is a computer in the lounge area and wifi is available for free. Just ask for the wireless key.

If you are after a room for about 60 dollars which is clean and central and do not require warm water during the day this could be the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We generally go for budget hotels and hope to find "value". I just didn't see it here.
If you were going to give stars, I really think 3 would be too much for this place - it should be 2 1/2. Yes, there were en-suite bathrooms. However, we were told there would be hot water from 6-9 a.m. and 6-9 p.m. The reality was there was no hot water, only warm water, and I really don't like to be restricted on my bathing.
It is true that the furnishings were dated, but they were quite serviceable and that was not a problem. I wouldn't say the rooms were exceptionally clean as I found a pistachio shell when I dropped my sock by the bed, and it wasn't from us.
The shower is actually a shower&bathtub, but the tub doesn't take up the whole wall. It ends and then there is the toilet. So while the shower curtain hangs from a rod that extends the length of the wall, there is nothing to keep water in the back end of the shower, and it ends up on the toilet and floor.
There are external shutters, but a screen prevents you from accessing them, so when the wind blows they just creak back and forth.
We didn't have wi-fi in the room, but there was in the common room. The problem I found was that sometimes we didn't want to use a mobile browser. However, the one pc that they have set up was continuously monopolized by the evening reception, who seemed more interested in smoking/watching movies on the common room t.v./using the pc for YouTube, than in retrieving guests' keys or making sure THEY didn't need to get on the pc.
The reception we encountered during the day, on the other hand, was very warm and welcoming and helpful.
The breakfast was pretty standard, filling enough but rather boring.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We just came from Jerusalem. Rivoli was a very good choice for what we did. Walked to most of our destinations even to the Mehane Yehuda Market which was quite a long one. Rooms clean but beds are worn out. There are no other restaurants nearby but there are 2 coffee shops down the street. Garden Tomb and a cemetery are just behind the hotel.Good breakfast but because we were there 7 days, I was hoping they would offer something new or different every now and then.

Room Tip: No airconditioning. Rooms along the street are noisy, the rooms away from the st. quieter but none o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

We decided to stay at the Rivoli because the price was so much more reasonable than most other hotels we could find in Jerusalem, or Israel more generally.
Although the room looked like it hadn't been refurbished since the 1960s it was clean and the staff were very helpful. There was no air conditioning, just a fan, but the internet connection (wifi) was excellent.
The breakfast was okay if you're happy to have have pita bread and salad for breakfast.
The location is okay but there's not many dining options in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivoli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivoli Hotel

Address: 3 Salah Eddin Street | P.O Box 19599, Jerusalem 91194, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Down Town East Jerusalem
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rivoli Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Despegar.com so you can book your Rivoli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivoli Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.