We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best staff and view in Jerusalem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Panorama Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Jerusalem Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P. O. Box 19768, Jerusalem 97400, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“The best staff and view in Jerusalem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The rooms are basic but while in Jerusalem you do not spend much time in your hotel room anyway.
I have never been to a hotel with nicer staff. They were helpful before our arrival and especially during our stay. It did not matter what our favor, question, problem or request was - they made it happen.
The hotel is within a walking distance from the Old city and has the best view in the whole Jerusalem. Dining (literally) over the Jerusalem is experience I will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    47
    36
    9
    18
See reviews for
17
43
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

horrible room - thin windows and right beside a Mosque, so no sleep. AC unit spilt water all over the floor. Dingy furnishings. Bath had black streaks on it, and bathroom not the cleanest. Breakfast was very lame, even by Middle East standards (cucumber and tomato was all dried up, etc), tho there was some nice toast.

Location is useless - too far from everywhere. a Good 20 min walk to the edge of the old city, and uphill all the way home. Taxis are expensive in Jerusalem. Nothing near the hotel - no food stalls, cafes, etc.

staff were useless - when they could be found. On our last morning, the hotel front door was locked and we wanted to leave (it was 6 AM so not THAT early]. only staff was a man asleep on a matress in the middle of the lobby and it was REALLY hard to wake him up - eventually he woke and unlocked the door, but he was soo grumpy!
this place was expensive compared to other, nicer places in Jerusalem. yes there is a nice view from some rooms, but you could just walk up to the Annunciation Church or somewhere similar for more or less the same view.

I would never stay here again, it was the worst place on a 3 week trip around 5 countries, yet one of the dearest.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

I stayed here for two nights during late May and I can’t really say that I share the enthusiasm of the other reviewers for the Panorama. Yes, it’s got a very nice view of the Temple Mount and Al Aqsa Mosque, and yes, it’s fairly cheap if you book on the net, but really, it’s pretty rubbish.

Let’s start with the obvious – the location. Being on the Mount of Olives means it’s got nice surroundings but it’s far away from everything. OK, it’s a 20-minute downhill-then-uphill walk to Lions Gate in the Old City, but after once or twice, you yearn for a better location. I was pretty ignorant of the geography (or should that be topography?) of Jerusalem so went with the price rather than the location with the Panorama. Never again. For sure, I can take the bus or taxi to get to Damascus Gate or the Western Wall or wherever, but they are not that cheap considering it’s only a 5/10-minute ride or so. Some of us can’t really afford to be ripped off by the notorious Israeli taxi drivers.

The room was spartan which is ok, but the bathroom was dirty – pubic hair on the floor, and urine stains everywhere. But the most infuriating thing was the 6am-9am & 6pm-9am hot water period. I don’t understand the evening block when nobody’s around, so why not switch it to 9pm-midnight? More importantly, why not have it on all day when plenty of guests were staying, as the management had told me.

Also, the windows were a bit dodgy, and there’re no amenities around after midnight, so there’s nowhere opened even to buy a bottle of water.

Otherwise, breakfast was very good, and multichannel TV handy, and the free wi-fi in the lobby was pretty good, too.

But on the whole, nice staff but no thanks. Having a nice view is one thing, but you don’t really spend all night staring out the window, do you?!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

What a great place this is. I'd happily come back and recommend to all.

1. It has a million dollar view over the old city of Jerusalem. Money cannot buy this type of view and experience. Waking up to the view each morning was one of the most incredible experiences of my life. I was mesmerised by it.

2. The staff are wonderful, helpful and obliging. They will do anything to make your stay memorable and comfortable. Nothing is too much trouble for these people.

3. It's a budget hotel, dirt cheap and great value for money. They even throw in a free traditional breakfast each morning and the 360 degree view from the top floor dining room is out of this world.

Remember, this is a budget hotel, in a slightly dodgy but safe neighbourhood. There is not much money to go round and it's family run so don't be expecting the Ritz. The father and son team will look after you and take great pleasure in doing so. They'll arrange taxi's cheaper than anyone else. They'll let you use the internet behind the front desk for free whenever you want. A great stay is guarentee'd.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Forks, North Dakota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2010

The Hotel is in East Jerusalem, upon arrival to Ben-Gurion Airport, the taxi driver discouraged us from staying at the hotel, they said it may not be safe. However our 5-night experience did not support that. We found the hotel and its sorroundings to be safe.. The hotel location is good for those wanting to be within a walking distance of relevant Christian sites such as: a) Church of all Nations (Roman Catholic); b) Church of Dormition (Greek-Russian Orthodox); c) Gethsemane; d) St Stephen Church (Greek Orthodox); e) Church of Mary Magdalene (Russian Orthodox) d) Dominus Flevit (Roman Catholic). The breakfast is reasonable, the staff are very helpful, and the hotel has a very nice view from the top floor where meals are served. On the other hand, keep in mind that there is a nearby mosque and if you are light sleeper it will wake you up because they use speakers so other can hear. In all fairness, the staff was accomodating and when we expressed our concern about the 5AM noise, they did moved us to the other side of the bldg which help (some) our sleep. Keep in mind that hot water is available from 6-9AM and 6-9PM. When we consider the prices and locations for hotels in Jerusalem, we feel that paying under $80/day is reasonable deal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Yorkshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

For the price you can't go wrong with this hotel in Jerusalem. Its run by a lovely arab family and the service is great. Yes, the rooms aren't great quality but to keep the costs down in this expensive country then this is a safe and welcoming place to stay. The top floor restaurant has a breath taking view of the old city.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We were guests at the hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is a bit removed from the city center but it was easily walkable or a cheap taxi ride which alleviated any concerns and was efficient. The rooms were good and the restaurant was excellent. Always a buffet format and always good and good value. The staff were continually available and always assisting as necessary or just to be helpful. They went beyond expectations on several occasions and genuinely helpful. The location on the Mt. of Olives provided a beautiful view of the old city. The rooms on that side were maybe a bit noisy but not overly so when compared with the view.

The

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jerusalem Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Panorama Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 19768, Jerusalem 97400, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 92 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jerusalem Panorama Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Jerusalem Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jerusalem Panorama Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.