We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jerusalem Panorama Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Jerusalem Panorama Hotel to your Saves list
Jerusalem Panorama Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   P. O. Box 19768, Jerusalem 97400, Israel   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 95 Hotels in Jerusalem
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

True, It's not a 5 stars hotel but there is nothing like beeing welcomed and treated like you are a member of the family. Everyone is SO friendly, from the owners to the staff members. They all go overboard to help you. I always got coffee after breakfast serving hours, no charge. Mohammed helped me find a hotel in Tel Aviv and made me use his cell phone to call long distance at no cost. Jameel (Abou Sameer) the head waiter, surprised me every morning with cappuccino (they is no cappuccino machine). Haj Moossa insisted that I have breakfast before I leave for my early excursion, 5am. That morning, Jameel had my coffee ready and a bag full off food so I don't get hungry on the road. It's close to a lot of major attractions: Mount of Olives, Getsemani, Tomb of Virgin Mary, 15mn walk to Old city. Needless to say, the panoramic view is breathless. Fruit store on the corner street, convenient store and falafel stand across. Thank you so much to all of you at Panorama hotel: Haj Moossa, Mohammad, Jameel, Ikram, Moontaser, Mouwafaa, Akram, Ramzi, you will allways be in my heart. Shukran Jazeelan. Annie B.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the best but you get a panoramic view anyway from any room, major street side. All...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank emb274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Florence, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Pro's
The staff are SO friendly, it is evident they hope to make your stay pleasant and comfortable
The room was decent and clean
The free breakfast was amazing
the view was truly panoramic, particularly from the breakfast dining hall
the free wifi was a nice feature
the water was hot
con's
a little old and run down
a little far from the sites, but walk-able if your a walker
I think they need to replace the kettles provided in the room, the bottoms are old and chipping causing there to be particles floating in the water
the area was a little noisy but quieted around 10pm or so
room was a little cold at night, couldn't get the heat on

Overall, it was a positive experience, especially due to the kindness and servant heart of the staff on site!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bob m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel is not for everyone and do not confuse this with the 5 star Dan Panorama Hotel (make sure you are specific with you taxi driver.) However, if you want a different perspective on your visit to Jerusalem by staying near the Mount of Olives, this is a great choice with real value, particularly if you are a walker and can enjoy the 15 minute walk to the Damascus Gate. The hotel is dated but the rooms are spotless. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. The breakfast is superb with some fantastic views. There was ample hot water and the wi-fi worked fine. We had a corner room on the 5th floor, the view was breathtaking, and it was quiet at night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bruce a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Hotel in need of "refreshing", but welcome good. room was clean, bathroom clean, budget hotel better than many of the hostels in jerusalem itself. staff helpful. bus stops on roundabout or get shared taxi to lions gate . we would stay again.

Room Tip: view toward the old city. view from dining room great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BernardBaeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This Hotel is the smelliest Hotel I have ever visited in all my travelling around the World, you have got to walk for miles through the rubbish on the streets, food is absolutely disgusting, the place itself was filthy and you should not be sending people there, up in the old City the Rats are bigger than the Cats. Restraunts are very few and far between, there is not a Bar where you an have a relaxing drink in the Evenings, all you have got is filthy Kebab houses everywhere . I would not advise anyone to go to this filthy "GHETO"

Room Tip: rooms are clean if you can call it that, hotel is smelling of damp throughout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bob221248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jerusalem hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in September 2012, this is really close to the mount of olives, if you need to get a taxi, mention it is the hotel up the hill past Mary Magdalane's church as there are 2 panarama hotels. The location of the hotel is a bit off the beaten track and felt a bit odd when we arrived, it is above the tombs, but it is well worth if for the views. You are within walking distance of many historic sites, including the mount of olives and mary's tomb as well as Mary Magdalan's church and the garden where christ was arrested. The only drawback we found was the taxi touts at the base of the mount of olives, we found them very rude and insulting because we did not want to use them, and had an argument with them as they were sooooo rude. However do not let these small minded individuals put you off, once you walk into the old city you are surrounded by amazing history. Do your homework or take an internet device with you, so that you can look up different sites as you see them as there are a lot.

Ladies, make sure you dress appropriatly, remember this is a historic religious site, I carried a scarf that I could bring out as and when required we spent a few hours enjoying the atmosphere at the western wall, which is well worth a visit, and then lots of time wandering around the narrow streets of the bazar.

There were only 6 rooms occupied when we were at the hotel, so no food was on offer apart from breakfast, and if you are there on a Friday, the old city is open so do not listen to the awful tourist touts as they are lying.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MNJDIABATE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is amazing. First of all, the staff is just the best. Their english is perfect, they're helpful, professional, friendly and they always welcome you with a cheerful grin. Second, the location is ideal. It seems to be far from the Old City, but it's really not. It takes you about 10 - 15 minutes to get to the Lion gate, but the hotel is located just between two other fantastic sites - The Mount of Olives and Kidron Valley. There is nothing more delightful than to be sitting at dusk in "The valley where God will judge", right in Benei Hezir's tomb, watching the sun go down behind the city walls and listening to muezzins. And this place, magnificent and overlooked by tourists, is right beneath the hotel. And after an exhausting day in the labyrinth of Jerusalem's Old City, one does really appreciate the deeply meditative atmoshere of this place.
As for the hotel itself - The rooms are spacious, clean, with a tv, fast wi-fi, a bathtub and extra blankets in the closet (it was getting a bit chilly the last few nights we spent there - early november). Sure the room equipment is not fancy and new, but it's all clean and working.
Breakfasts - Even better than I expected. Super tasty olives, cripsy warm toasts, eggs, ham, cheese, tahini and hommos and cakes, fruit salads or yoghurt and about six different kinds of cereals....
I would go back there without a second of hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NoorEssadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jerusalem hotels
Down Town East Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
New Victoria Hotel Jerusalem
#72 of 95 in Jerusalem
3.5 of 5 stars 74 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
National Hotel Jerusalem
#29 of 95 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Down Town East Jerusalem
Capitol Hotel
Capitol Hotel
#76 of 95 in Jerusalem
3.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center Jerusalem
#14 of 95 in Jerusalem
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
A Little House in Bakah
#19 of 95 in Jerusalem
4.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jerusalem Panorama Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jerusalem Panorama Hotel

Address: P. O. Box 19768, Jerusalem 97400, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 95 Hotels in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jerusalem Panorama Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Jerusalem Panorama Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing