We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TRIUMPH OF STYLE OVER PRACTICALITY” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mamilla Hotel to your Saves list
Mamilla Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shlomo Hamelekh 11, Jerusalem 94182, Israel (Mammilla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 90 Hotels in Jerusalem
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A TRIUMPH OF STYLE OVER PRACTICALITY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

Taking into account that parts of the hotel are not fully open yet (although they don't tell you this) this hotel is a disappointment and certainly not yet 5 star.

The hotel is very stylish and is in a magnificent position - but we were very disappointed. Some staff need further training but the most disappointing thing was that the studio rooms are exceptionally small for a 5-star hotel and badly designed.

There is very little sitting area, no dressing table for my wife to make up at and a hairdryer situated in a wardrobe that has to be stretched round a door to be able to look in a mirror - which happens to be the bar. If you want to sit down at the same time then be prepared to have to start moving furniture around.

There was noweher to store cases away - they are presumably meant to be left on a wooden bench that rubs along the wall and takes up quite a bit of the limited amount of available space

Overall a comfortable hotel but certainly not 5 star - We would not stay here again primarily becasue if we stay in a 5 star hotel we expect a decent sized bedroom

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    180
    78
    42
    32
See reviews for
191
323
50
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

I have just returned from a six-night stay at the Mamilla and absolutely loved it! Having only recently opened (June 2009), the hotel has got almost everything down to a T. The decor is minimalistic with clean lines and no fuss - just how i like it. Rooms are spacious and have a glass-fronted bathroom which can switch between transparent and opaque - very cool. The food is fantastic - we had breakfast there every day as well as Friday night dinner and Saturday lunch and all were incredible. We also visited the Rooftop Restaurant which offers breathtaking views and fabulous food - the chef should be commended. The hotel also has a Mirror bar, espresso bar and winery. Staff are attentive without getting on top of you. The only thing I would say is that when we visited all the facilities were not yet open, but we were given access to the nearby David Citadel swimming pool which was lovely. The location of the hotel could not be more perfect - mere moments away from the great Mamilla shops and cafes, the Old City and many other places of interest. I would 100% stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We stayed in the Mamilla for 4 nights at the beginning of August - my husband and I along with our 20 year old son. I'd booked an exec triple room but when we arrived they told us we'd been upgraded to a suite which was nice to hear! The room itself was lovely. Ultra modern with a sliding partition seperating the bedroom from the sitting room. No pictures at all on any of the walls which can feel slightly cold but obviously minimalistic is the idea here. Both excellent sized rooms each with own plasma TV built into the walls. Ample space. Sofa bed made into a very comfortable double bed. Beds very comfortable and Italian Frette luxury bed linen all added to a nice feeling of luxury. Bathroom was again ultra modern with nice option facility of see through or opaque glass. Only disappointment here was the bath which although looked very nice was very uncomfortable and practically impossible to lie back in not having a slope but being vertical. No handlebars either inside so could be a bit slippery for an older person to get in and out of. Glass screening wasn't totally around the shower cubicle so water tendered to splash around the floor somewhat. Nice L'Occitaine toiletries and plenty of towels, bath robes, slippers etc. Plenty of wardrobe and cupboard space.
There wasn't really much of a view from our window apart from the roof which was a bit disappointing.
Aircon very efficient and quiet.
We didn't eat in the restaurant apart from breakfast which was very nice and adequate. Waiter service was top class.
A pity in some ways that the hotel opened before it was properly finished as it would have been nice for the pool and spa to have been open. We didn't use the David Citadel's facilities although these were available to all Mamilla guests.
The hotel is located in a very central area - within minutes of the Old City, Wailing Wall etc and popular areas like Ben Yehuda Street and the Emek Refayim area with it's numerous restaurants.
The hotel lobby felt slightly cold compared to other hotels but again this could be because the hotel wasn't full at the time we were there.
On the whole the Mamilla is a very modern luxurious hotel more suited to business people - definitely not a family hotel. A few teething problems which no doubt will be sorted out. A nice experience but for the same money I would probably stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

This will quickly and with flying colors become rated a 5 Star Hotel!

Every detail has been thought of... there is little waste, build with sustainability in mind;

The design is a symphony of Old Jerusalem and Modern Times ... Just a few favorite items... location, pillows, shower, dressing area, long bench in room, BREAKFAST!, and outstanding Staff!

While pool & gym were not yet open during our stay; the David Citadel across the street is fantastic!

Well done Alrov - we will hopefully return sooner than later!
Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Brand new hotel, but lots of teething problems unfortunately. No surprises in terms of lobby and other common parts, typical new look trendy affair. Rooms are small and boxy but clean and fresh, some nice touches including bathroom walls made of glass which can be switched between clear and opaque. Great rain shower and decent l'occitane products. Bath looked nice but murky looking water came out of it. Chambermaids did a good job and were very unobtrusive. Decent plasma TV, but some of the channels were glitchy.

Breakfast and other food offering was good, and the waiting staff were excellent.

Whilst we were there the hotel had a function on the roof, which was an after wedding party. Loud music started at approx 10pm, and didn't stop until after 3am. I could hear local residents shouting 'quiet!' and I myself could not sleep because of the noise, it was ridiculous. The police were eventually called, after which the noise was reduced. Eventually at 5.15am I went up to the roof to tell the revellers to be quiet. I don't know quite what the hotel management think they're doing, but you just cannot have a situation where a party is disturbing guests the entire night. After an exchange of views with the head of guest relations, we had that night struck off the bill.

As others have pointed out, the hotel is not finished and this had a negative impact in a number of ways. First, there was nowhere to sit outside or by a pool. We were given tickets to use in the hotel next door, but they barely had enough space to cover their own guests' needs. Second, and this is truly unbelievable, there was loud drilling and banging that could be heard at various times, including at 8.30 am on our final morning - a nice wake up call. This is totally unprofessional. I felt sorry for the management who obviously had to deal with a lot of complaints, it really is the owners fault for opening before time.

This hotel will probably improve, but for now I would avoid unless you are unaffected by noise.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

I enjoyed my stay and the service was excellent
The Bar is amazing

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Many of the hotels facilities are not yet open. This was not on thier website and the travel agent did not tell us.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Address: Shlomo Hamelekh 11, Jerusalem 94182, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury Accommodations Mamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamilla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.