We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A complete disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mamilla Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mamilla Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mamilla Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shlomo Hamelekh 11, Jerusalem 94182, Israel (Mammilla)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Jerusalem
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A complete disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at an Executive Suite, which is basically a normal sized bedroom (about 25 sq meters) and a huge bathroom. Just imagine a rectangle split in 2: bedroom on one side, bathroom on the other, both separated by a glass wall with a "liquid crystal screen" that you switch on and off to block the transparency of the glass. Now, instead of investing this amount of money on such "technology", they should have invested more on the quality of the bed, which are completely stiff, low quality, and if you ordered a king size bed, you will be able to feel the joint of the 2 single beds right in the middle.

The bathroom is just a maze, with unnecessary walls dividing the shower, bath and sink... Yet the toilet doesn't have a door!

The bedroom doors are very heavy and you can hear every single room opening and closing all the time. Walls aren't thick enough and you can expect children making a noise if you are unlucky to have them as your neighbors.

Personnel are just ok in terms of service. We asked for advice of what to do nearby and they kept on pointing at the Mamilla Mall, which is not the most interesting site, just a nice street with shops.

We were continuously approached by a gentleman called Carlos, all the time wanting to arrange excursions and get taxis for us, saying that the ones offered at the hotel's front desk were too expensive. Come on! Isn't this a 5 star hotel? At one point we chose to use the back entrance of the hotel to avoid being approached by this gentleman.

Breakfast is just a lot of nothing. Expect a few kind of cheeses, bread... And one or 2 fruits.
It's a big place, very impotent atmosphere, yet the foot is not up to a 5 star property.

The swimming pool was a nightmare when we used it. There were children screaming and eating at the pool's premises and the lifeguard was doing nothing about it. The pool and the bathrooms feel very claustrophobic... A confusing maze of dark tiles and complete lack of light.

Overall, this hotel was a complete disappointment. It has no warmth to it, it felt very disorganized, hotel staff just harnesses you unnecessarily to make a commission on transfers and excursions, and no real service is offered.

To me, the most important things in a room are: good bed, great showers (I forgot to mention that the shower overflows). And extra space if you are paying for a superior category. Neither of these were fulfilled, so why would I recommend a place that can't offer a good quality of sleep?

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear PauliTravels,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. Our guests' feedback is very important to us because it helps us in continuously improving our product.

We apologize that we were not able to provide the experience that you expected during your visit to Jerusalem. Rest assured we will review each point that you brought up and will address them accordingly.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    168
    73
    40
    28
See reviews for
174
298
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

On arrival I was astounded to discover how tiny and poky the room appeared. Eventually we wer upgraded at an additional charge which was extremely expensive on top of the originally highly priced rate. Breakfast were excellent, staff pleasant. The fitness centre is possibly one of the best equipped hotel gyms I have had the pleasure of working out in. The location is great. The view from the room was very poor. The passage ways and was outside the elevators are not air conditioned and is extremely stuffy. The so called club lounge is poorly equipped for food ( barely some nuts etc..) although the coffee was great. I am not convinced this hotel offer enough value for the high priced we paid. Nonetheless it is a great facility overall.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kieran P,
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.
We apologize about the inconvenience that you experience in our corridors. They are air-conditioned and I am certain that any technical problems have since been fixed.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast, the fitness center, and our location.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel. Beautifully furnished. Service wonderful. Views not great. Food well presented, huge variety over pesach . The regular rooms are tiny and unpleasant so if possible get an executive room or a suite. Gym is fantastic. New equipment .quiet. Spa sensational. Position couldn't be better f A real treat to stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear liamgriegg,
It was pleasure having you as our guest and more so to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write about it.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a brand new very modern property situated an easy walk from the Jaffa gate to old Jerusalem. The rooms are modern, the bathroom is actually all glass which turns opaque for privacy with a flip of a switch. The breakfast buffet was the best we had in all of Israel and if you have ever been to Israel you known breakfasts are legendary. The shower was perhaps the best feature. It was truly amazing. The shower head comes directly out of the ceiling and literally pours hot water like a rain shower on you and directly on the floor where there is a drain. The exercise facility was well equipped and well staffed. The hotel staff was courteous and at all times helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear LarryS1751,

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us thanks to the location, design and of course our staff. We consider it an honor that you took the time to write about it on Tripadvisor.

We look forward to your next visit to Jerusalem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

This was our first time at The Mamilla (after 3 trips to Jerusalem). It was perfect. The staff was so helpful with directions, restaurants, booking an extra night after our flight to Barcelona was cancelled. I would stay here again and again. We chose to stay in a suite ( we were here a total of 5 nights) and it was very spacious. Lights took a little while to figure out but I don't consider it a fault.

Room Tip: High floor although you really don't here the noise from the street anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Cathy D,
It is indeed a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at Mamilla hotel because of the service our colleagues provided.
We look forward to your next stay so we can provide an equally fantastic stay if not better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at the Mamilla with group.

The position is amazing and so close to Jaffa gate of the Old City. Free wifi was great and worked well.

We stayed in the standard room on the 5th floor which was small in size, especially for the price of the accommodation. The room finishes are state of the art but once one has gotten beyond the ooh aah of clear glass which turns opaque at the flick of a switch, there were a number of improvements which I believe would benefit these rooms.

The lack of fridge space is a negative as is the very poor lighting. At night I struggled to find things in my suitcase. It was easier in the day when I could open the curtains. The lighting also wasn't conducive to reading in bed. The 2 different bed lights look trendy but not functional. Ambient lighting is nice but one needs is functionality in a bedroom. Perhaps brighter lighting with a dimmer would be better.

I am not partial to timber soap holders as they don't look like they can be cleaned properly between guests as the timber has gone white with use. They look good with the overall room fit out but one needs to go for functionality as well. So I went for the bottled liquid soap which is L'Occitane and beautiful. Having said that I struggled with the shampoo which would not clean my hair properly and after 3 washes resorted to using my own.

The glass toilet and bathroom doors look great but aren't a great sound barrier. I prefer a toilet door that closes with a proper seal so that if one needs to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night, one isn't concerned about waking one's partner.

The basin area of the bathroom was particularly small and not very user friendly but then we used the pigeon holes alongside the mirror to store our toiletries.

I found the bed to be low and harder than other beds we've stayed in recently but having said that I had a good night's sleep.

For a 5 star hotel of this calibre, I think the most disappointing was the breakfast which seemed to be the same every day with not an overabundance of selection, especially compared with other hotels we stayed in on our trip (9 in all!) and most of which were a lower rating than the Mamilla. The hot chocolate which we bought in Cafe Mamilla was also very poor and I left it unfinished.

The hotel staff were incredibly helpful and the level of service was great.

The hotel fit out in the foyer is trendy and whilst I really liked the low easy chairs, I think this may be a bit of a challenge for those older than us.

The rooftop bar is great with an amazing view over the old city.

Would I return here again? For a hotel that costs on average $580.00 per night for a standard room I would expect top drawer for everything and I believe it has disappointments.

Position is amazing, service is amazing but it falls sort on room size, room fitout, lighting, aspect and very disappointing is the breakfast, aside from the shakshuka which was delicious. I asked for sourdough bread but no one understood what this was.Perhaps this is an Israeli thing rather than particular to the Mamilla. Amongst other improvements, freshly squeezed fruit juices would be welcomed.

We ate one dinner in the main dining room and one in the Mamilla cafe which were very nice. I understand that the dining table configurations are designed for spacious eating but seating 6 at tables that would comforatbly take 10, makes communicating a little difficult.

Hope this assists with your hotel selection. I have tried to give a fair and balanced overview of my impressions of this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear aarjay,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Mamilla hotel.

Your feedback is of great importance to us because it assists us in improving our product.
We are very pleased to read that you thought highly of the service provided by our colleagues. Even though the design and architecture are very important, it is the service which completes the product.

Your comments regarding your dining experience have been forwarded to our food and beverage management in order to address issues you have come upon during your stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay at Mamilla hotel. We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

While the hotel location is perfect, and the lobby layout and design is artistic and attractive, the reality of life in the rooms is a different matter altogether. Design faults abound: the bath takes up too much space, the sink is visually appealing but completely impractical (nowhere to put your things safely and within easy reach), the hairdryer is located in a hallway cupboard, the opaque switch in the bathroom does not offer complete privacy, should you require it, and the fancy shower, squirts water all over the bathroom, leaving towels and floor area soaked. Views from the rooms are of the back of old buildings. There is a sense of a lack of generosity of spirit - the fridge is full of food that should you tamper with pulling it out, you must pay for; there is no kettle/tea/coffee-making facility - once again you are forced to pay, and nothing comes for free with this highbrow hotel. The city of Jerusalem has a sensual essence of spirituality and soulfulness. The Mamilla has an essence of affluence, where aesthetic rules over practicality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George L, Guest Relations Manager at Mamilla Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Rebecca M,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay.

Your feedback assists us in improving our product. We will look into the issue with the shower as to why it squirts water all over the place and resolve it.

Your comment regarding the design of our guestrooms is also very important to us.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mamilla Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamilla Hotel

Address: Shlomo Hamelekh 11, Jerusalem 94182, Israel
Location: Israel > Jerusalem District > Jerusalem > Mammilla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jerusalem
#5 Luxury Hotel in Jerusalem
#6 Family Hotel in Jerusalem
#7 Business Hotel in Jerusalem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mamilla Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jerusalem's Finest Luxury AccommodationsMamilla Hotel, Jerusalem's newest and most fashionable hotel, will usher in a new experience of exceptional hospitality in Israel.This elegant luxury, lifestyle hotel featuring 194 rooms and suites will be the center of Jerusalem's rich cultural heritage and bustling daily life.Designed in collaboration with Alrov Luxury Hotels' vision and commitment to excellence and execution, and in partnership with world-renowned architects Moshe Safdie and Hall of Fame Piero Lissoni. The design combines sophistication and simplicity with exciting lighting, textures and colors inspiring the imagination and delivering a truly unforgettable experience.Mamilla Hotel brings world-class lifestyle hospitality to Jerusalem and Israel. Guests and visitors will enjoy superior design and accommodations together with exclusive dining and bar venues, a Holistic Well-being Spa & Gym, as well as events and banqueting spaces operating with leading technology, that blend sophistication and modern international style with ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Mamilla Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamilla Hotel Jerusalem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamilla Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.